We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful and lovely beach”
Review of Freedom Beach

Freedom Beach
Ranked #4 of 57 things to do in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“peaceful and lovely beach”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I and my friends had a chilling afternoon walking alongside the beach and lying there. Clean water and white sand creates a picturesque scene. Not so crowded so we had enjoyable time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,304
    649
    229
    72
    70
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N Wales UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely beach clear water soft sand good food.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Spent lovely day at Freedom. Time to upgrade sun beds though,not built for comfort matress too thin also!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MagsNWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Do yourself a favour... Hop on a long boat and head to Freedom Beach. We got a tip from an expat living and working in Patong to go here and boy was it worth it!

The boat ride serene, the beach majestic and calming and quiet unlike crazy Patong Beach.

Stay for a short time or a long time and you're guaranteed a good time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelDelCic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Freedom really!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

If you are on Patong Beach and lovely the peace and serenity then you must head to Freedom Beach. The white sandy beach and the crystal waters was picture perfect. I did like the unique relaxing and hidden away beach. It's the perfect place to people that doesn't like crowded beaches. My friends Christina and Tony visited Freedom Beach for their honeymoon so they were so excited coming back here with me and introducing me more about services and food.
Well, it was really a lovely beach - white sand and no rocks in under the water so walking and wading was fantastic. We did get bitten by sea lice but just washed off with bottled water when we got out of the ocean and had no lasting itches. Lots of colorful fish swimming around us and a friend who swam near the longboats saw a stingray! So amazing! We played beach volleyball and flew a kite and had a magical time.
Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise beach”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Went here today , took a 4x4 taxi as the took tooks can't climb the road there , and taxi cost 400bht where the boats were asking 1200baht ,
Takes about 10-15 min travel from patong beach front and costs 100bht for entry, this includes lounger and parasol too, drinks around 100bht and food about the same , large portion sizes tho ,
Nice clean beach with not alot of people there much better than patong main beach and no hassle from traders either, would go again ;)

Helpful?
2 Thank CortyTurbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freedom Beach also viewed

 

Been to Freedom Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing