We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Freedom Beach

Freedom Beach
Ranked #4 of 57 things to do in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

maybe not the best beach in phuket but very nice and easy to reach. clean water, nice atmosphere, not packed when i was there. well, few people have to say. maybe becasue of low season

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank carlotorre70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,267
    631
    226
    70
    66
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Freedom beach far from free, but "mafia" controlled”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

2 ways to get to Freedom Beach, by boat (expensive) or by mini-trekking. We rented our own bike and went for Freedom Beach climbing some steep hill as instructed on internet. Quite hard.
As we got to the beach the cleimed "owners" of the beach had builded a barbed wire fence demanding 500 TBH from each to gain access on top of rent for beach chair which we refused as beached in Thailand should be public. They posted 2 guards there to make sure we did not force the fence and go snorkling at the beach although. Very hot, but had to climb up again, almost fainted, had no more water. Awful feeling being ripped off and men standing guard to prevent us from go to the beach.
After we went to Banana Beach, small beautiful and FREE.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We had an idyllic afternoon at this beach. Nobody seems to know about it! It isn't too difficult to find if you follow instructions given by some people on TripAdvisor. When we arrived there was a man asking 100THB to park our moped, although I think he was more an opportunist than an actual land owner. Once we had made the 200m or so drop down to the beach, and crossed some rocks the view was immense. We had the whole beach to ourselves with only a few other footprints on it from previous visitors. The sea was clean and sandy rather than rocky, and the beach was clean other than unfortunately a few bits and bobs that had clearly washed in off the tide. We were told of a bar there but it'd either closed down or was shut for the day! Overall an incredible experience, one of the only 'secret' beaches left in Phuket.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Big Buddha Phuket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Big Buddha Site is an ongoing construction of a massive statue of Buddha the statue is Hollow and clad in marble. If you want you can buy a piece and write message or similar on the back. This and other donations are helping to build it. A must see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice seculded beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

you have to pay to get in but it's very nice and quite. It's near patong beach not far from the hotel, easy to get to by motorcycle

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank elizebe1223g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freedom Beach also viewed

 

Been to Freedom Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing