We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but it worth for it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Freedom Beach

Freedom Beach
Ranked #4 of 57 things to do in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive but it worth for it.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Sea is amazing with a lot fishes around, sand is different than on others beaches. Stuff are friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbora Ž
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,265
    630
    224
    70
    66
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seongnam, South Korea
1 review
“Very nice beach”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I like Freedom beach. we had to take longtail from Patong beach. our family of 4 fit nicely in the longtail for the 30 minute ride to the private beach. Very nice chairs in a shaded area back from the beach. Probably the ONLY drawback was the distance from the chairs to swim. But not a big issue at all. I recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hanoik l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
173 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“peace & calm”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

if you are looking for quiet place with beauty of area it is crowdless area we took a long tail boat from Patong Beach to Freedom beach after is was recommended to us by family. It was a slice of heaven, white soft sand and clear pristine water.It was absolutely beautiful and quiet. Would definately recommend to anyone visiting Phuket.There are umbrellas and chairs but a fee attached.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank paramjitsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

maybe not the best beach in phuket but very nice and easy to reach. clean water, nice atmosphere, not packed when i was there. well, few people have to say. maybe becasue of low season

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank carlotorre70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Freedom beach far from free, but "mafia" controlled”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

2 ways to get to Freedom Beach, by boat (expensive) or by mini-trekking. We rented our own bike and went for Freedom Beach climbing some steep hill as instructed on internet. Quite hard.
As we got to the beach the cleimed "owners" of the beach had builded a barbed wire fence demanding 500 TBH from each to gain access on top of rent for beach chair which we refused as beached in Thailand should be public. They posted 2 guards there to make sure we did not force the fence and go snorkling at the beach although. Very hot, but had to climb up again, almost fainted, had no more water. Awful feeling being ripped off and men standing guard to prevent us from go to the beach.
After we went to Banana Beach, small beautiful and FREE.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freedom Beach also viewed

 

Been to Freedom Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing