We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Budget Travellers only !Lots of Indians & Russians in here.Not Bad However”
Review of The Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hill Resort
Ranked #186 of 384 Hotels in Kathu
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Phuket is a brilliant place to visit but, the Absolute Patong Ville & Spa might not be the best place to stay at. At best, I would recommend it to budget-travellers who are looking for something bare minimum with not too many add-ons. We booked a Phuket package from Antilog Vacations , a well known Phuket wholesaler in India & they gave us many hotel packages to choose from & we chose it coz of low rates.

The place is actually quite small and located a good 5-10 minutes (drive) from the actual Patong beach. If you’re considering staying here, hiring a bike is a good option because finding a tuk tuk or taxi around here is a bit of a challenge. Although Absolute does provide a shuttle service to the beach, it is not very timely and drops you off at the far end of the beach, which means you still have a 10 minute walk till you get anywhere close to the action.

The pictures on the website seem to have been taken by a good photographer, because the place is not actually that good. For starters, we had to wait for a good half hour to confirm our booking due to the staffs’ inability to converse properly in English. Once we got past the language barrier with the help of print outs (which were extremely hard to get) & a lot of hand gestures that I never knew before (lol), we were led to our pool-side room.

The pool kinda made up for the delay. It’s clean and the water’s always at a reasonably good temperature. It’s a good place to just kick back for some time. They do have a bar close by, but then again, the staff are rarely there at the bar. Even if they are, basic courtesies like asking for a refill are not something you can expect from them. The rooms are slightly small but the bathrooms are even smaller and a little dirty, if I might add.

Food again is not the greatest, I would suggest you take a 5 minute ride down the road and head over to Coffee Mania or Secret Cliff. Both places have reasonably good food but, it’s any day better than you get at Absolute.

But the hotel is not Bad afterall , you can stay here but don’t expect too much

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RannVijay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for The Hill Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

went to Phuket in December 11' with a bunch of my friends. We stayed at the Absolute Patong Ville & Spa for 4 days, and it did not turned-up to my highest expectations.However it was just an average experience

Location – it came as a surprise to me that nobody had knowledge about location of the hotel. You need a taxi or tuk-tuk, motorbike taxi or free shuttle to go anywhere. The free shuttle is okay, but it drops you off at the far south end of Patong Beach, meaning you still need to walk for 10 minutes. But the tuk-tuk drivers demand more for driving up the hill.

Rooms – we chose a poolside room instead of the hillside. While the hillside rooms had a very narrow and steep staircase to climb (I thought it would be difficult to carry luggage), at least they had some nice views from up there. The poolside rooms had a view of the pool. And that’s it. Bathrooms were tiny and the shower was absolutely filthy and in urgent need of a refit.

Food-Breakfast included in price was limited with little choice. Food that was served was cold. After few days the staff did not even bother to serve the breakfast also.

Tariffs- although the tariffs were moderate.The only good point was the cheap rates offered by our Indian travel agent , Antilog Vacations.They were cheaper than other folks so we selected them.No complains about their services nd price

All in all, I wouldn’t stay at this hotel again or recommend to anyone. Only If u r a budget traveller, select this

Room Tip: Take the highest category room which is near the bay area
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gurwinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The place to stay is very good. However, the staff is not trained well. Also not much options in food. Moreover English is definitely not very fluently spoken so the staff takes time to respond to the orders placed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midsummeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

When we booked this we had no idea of how much we would come to love it.

This is a hotel to which you come back to, we will and it might not be in the middle of the hustle and bustle but you just take the free coach going to down town phuket.

Nice rooms, clean and with free AC and do get one on the same level as the pool, we jumped from the balcony into the cool blue water. ( no but but we could if we wanted =)

This hotel is not so child friendly with alot of steps.
Takes 10 min to town by car or 20 min to other beaches.

This is a 3 star but in Thailand a 3 star is more like a 4 star.
Very good service and a nice breakfast and great drinks by the pool.

The restaurant is ok, but it was empty, so we did like everybody else, we ate in the city.

Free wifi and a massage if you want one.

Stay here and you will love it, we did and it is a great memory.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royalclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed here with my partner for our 5 year anniversary. It was our first trip to Thailand, and we shall definitely be returning. The hotel is good value for money, and the staff will go out of their way to help you even if their English is limited (what do you expect, you are in their country - can I speak their language? no). We found the room to be perfect with no complaints at all. The minibar was satisfactory and continually stocked. The air conditioning performed as expected. The pool was relaxing and clean. Although the front of the reception area looks older than you'd expect, the rest of the hotel is almost exactly as per the pictures (you don't need to be anywhere near the reception area anyway). The hotel is not near the beach and it is a 20 minute walk (which we did every day without problems), although there is a free shuttle bus to/from the beach at reasonable times. If you are looking for somewhere nice to relax then this is the place to be. If you prefer to be right next to the beach then you should be looking for another hotel.

Room Tip: Insist on a poolside room for the best experience
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamcrayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I didn't initially book this hotel but due to a mix up with our Booking Agents, we were booked out here at the last minute.

Firstly, the hotel is on the fringes of Phuket, I think it would be more honest to say it is in Karon. It is up quite a big hill out of Phuket.

The staff tried hard, but seemed to be a bit vague most of the time, a lot of them spoke very little English.

There was also a mix up with my reservation from the Agents and upon returning on the second day the receptionist virtually demanded payment up front. I have no problem with this but it could have been handled better. I paid this, but found when I got home I had in effect paid twice as the Agent (who the hotel said otherwise) had charged me also. I did eventually get a refund from the Agent but I didn't really want or need such hassles on my holiday.

The breakfast was okay but nothing special. The pool was very nice and secluded with a whirlpool.

I think this small 'resort' is better suited to either small families or couples requiring a degree of intimacy. It is a bit too far out of Phuket for me and so is unlikely I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

the grand ville has a few things going for it, a small but nice pool with a swim up bar being one. it is important though to have a room by the pool i would imagine as the property is on a quite steep hillside. the rooms are spacious enough, have working air-conditioning, mini bar and shower. the tv has only thai channels. bar prices are ok as are the menu items. the food is ok but not good and the breakfast is poor to middling.
There is an area by reception that looks like it needs to be demolished so I wonder how long this place will survive. Having said all that the staff were nice, they have free WiFi and bus into town so i could stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alant1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathu
0.6 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#150 of 328 in Patong
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#104 of 328 in Patong
154 reviews
2.7 mi away
Manohra Cozy Resort
Manohra Cozy Resort
#56 of 135 in Karon
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Club Bamboo Boutique Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
PS Hill Resort
PS Hill Resort
#30 of 226 in Patong
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
C & N Resort & Spa
C & N Resort & Spa
#138 of 328 in Patong
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill Resort

Address: 19 Sirirat Rd. | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Absolute Patong Ville & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Kathu
#72 Spa Hotel in Kathu
Price Range: £14 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
38 decent sized rooms each with balcony, en-suite shower, cable TV, safe, air-conditioning, serviced daily. Good sized swimming pool with jacuzzi, shallow kids pool, swim up bar. Tropical gardens with many species of birds, butterflies and small lizards. Breakfast from 7:30 am to 10:30 am, lunch and dinner available at the adjoining restaurant. Parking for cars and motorbikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Patong Ville Hotel Kathu
Absolute Patong Ville And Spa
The Hill Resort Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing