We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no longer a quiet retreat from the bussle of Patong beach”
Review of The Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hill Resort
Ranked #165 of 386 Hotels in Kathu
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was our sixth time (and last time) that we have stayed at this hotel. It is good value for money, has friendly staff, lovely gardens and a beautiful pool. It used to be very peaceful and quiet and in previous visits did not have full occupancy. I am writing this review at 2.45am in the morning and we have around 20 young Russians drinking (alcohol purchased from the local 7/11) and disturbing everyone. This is not an isolated incident and was the same for each of the nights that we stayed. The day time is similar. The hotel staff do nothing about it. However, the hotel is completely full this visit with young noisy, rude Russians occupying all but 2 rooms. I suggest you give this hotel a miss as we will be doing from now on. What a pity!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patonggrandville1, Owner at The Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Good Morning I was just reading your review on " Absolute patong grand ville " I found it interesting and would like to let you know that I am the new owner of this Resort. The problems you mentioned are just part of what I am changing. The rooms are being improved, the linens all being replaced, pool bar and café by the pool being improved among many others. Please be advised that NO longer will guests be allowed to do as they please and disrupt others, my self or a member of my family will always be on site and any problems will be dealt with fairly and swiftly. I hope you come back and enjoy the changes to this beautiful Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here on July 2010. Liked the room. Not that spacious but it was clean. Quiet surrounding so u can have a good sleep. Breakfast & service was just okay, nothing special.
But its located a bit far from the happening places. You have to take the shuttle service or a tuk tuk to go to the beach or walk for about 30mins or so.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smmusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed for 4 days in march,2011
Patong grand ville is natural environment , small but clean & beautiful pool with bar.

Good value for money, staff friendly & will go out of their way to help you although their English is limited.
Near ''SIMON CABARET'' (an entertainment) and 20' walk to the sea.
We really liked this ville and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: pool viewrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mohsen1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Phuket is a brilliant place to visit but, the Absolute Patong Ville & Spa might not be the best place to stay at. At best, I would recommend it to budget-travellers who are looking for something bare minimum with not too many add-ons. We booked a Phuket package from Antilog Vacations , a well known Phuket wholesaler in India & they gave us many hotel packages to choose from & we chose it coz of low rates.

The place is actually quite small and located a good 5-10 minutes (drive) from the actual Patong beach. If you’re considering staying here, hiring a bike is a good option because finding a tuk tuk or taxi around here is a bit of a challenge. Although Absolute does provide a shuttle service to the beach, it is not very timely and drops you off at the far end of the beach, which means you still have a 10 minute walk till you get anywhere close to the action.

The pictures on the website seem to have been taken by a good photographer, because the place is not actually that good. For starters, we had to wait for a good half hour to confirm our booking due to the staffs’ inability to converse properly in English. Once we got past the language barrier with the help of print outs (which were extremely hard to get) & a lot of hand gestures that I never knew before (lol), we were led to our pool-side room.

The pool kinda made up for the delay. It’s clean and the water’s always at a reasonably good temperature. It’s a good place to just kick back for some time. They do have a bar close by, but then again, the staff are rarely there at the bar. Even if they are, basic courtesies like asking for a refill are not something you can expect from them. The rooms are slightly small but the bathrooms are even smaller and a little dirty, if I might add.

Food again is not the greatest, I would suggest you take a 5 minute ride down the road and head over to Coffee Mania or Secret Cliff. Both places have reasonably good food but, it’s any day better than you get at Absolute.

But the hotel is not Bad afterall , you can stay here but don’t expect too much

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RannVijay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

went to Phuket in December 11' with a bunch of my friends. We stayed at the Absolute Patong Ville & Spa for 4 days, and it did not turned-up to my highest expectations.However it was just an average experience

Location – it came as a surprise to me that nobody had knowledge about location of the hotel. You need a taxi or tuk-tuk, motorbike taxi or free shuttle to go anywhere. The free shuttle is okay, but it drops you off at the far south end of Patong Beach, meaning you still need to walk for 10 minutes. But the tuk-tuk drivers demand more for driving up the hill.

Rooms – we chose a poolside room instead of the hillside. While the hillside rooms had a very narrow and steep staircase to climb (I thought it would be difficult to carry luggage), at least they had some nice views from up there. The poolside rooms had a view of the pool. And that’s it. Bathrooms were tiny and the shower was absolutely filthy and in urgent need of a refit.

Food-Breakfast included in price was limited with little choice. Food that was served was cold. After few days the staff did not even bother to serve the breakfast also.

Tariffs- although the tariffs were moderate.The only good point was the cheap rates offered by our Indian travel agent , Antilog Vacations.They were cheaper than other folks so we selected them.No complains about their services nd price

All in all, I wouldn’t stay at this hotel again or recommend to anyone. Only If u r a budget traveller, select this

Room Tip: Take the highest category room which is near the bay area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gurwinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The place to stay is very good. However, the staff is not trained well. Also not much options in food. Moreover English is definitely not very fluently spoken so the staff takes time to respond to the orders placed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midsummeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

When we booked this we had no idea of how much we would come to love it.

This is a hotel to which you come back to, we will and it might not be in the middle of the hustle and bustle but you just take the free coach going to down town phuket.

Nice rooms, clean and with free AC and do get one on the same level as the pool, we jumped from the balcony into the cool blue water. ( no but but we could if we wanted =)

This hotel is not so child friendly with alot of steps.
Takes 10 min to town by car or 20 min to other beaches.

This is a 3 star but in Thailand a 3 star is more like a 4 star.
Very good service and a nice breakfast and great drinks by the pool.

The restaurant is ok, but it was empty, so we did like everybody else, we ate in the city.

Free wifi and a massage if you want one.

Stay here and you will love it, we did and it is a great memory.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royalclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathu
0.4 mi away
Sai Rougn Residence
Sai Rougn Residence
#116 of 331 in Patong
156 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Del M, Patong Beach
Casa Del M, Patong Beach
#74 of 331 in Patong
404 reviews
1.8 mi away
Naina Resort & Spa
Naina Resort & Spa
#140 of 331 in Patong
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jiraporn Hill Resort
Jiraporn Hill Resort
#168 of 331 in Patong
145 reviews
7.3 mi away
Phuket Sea Resort
Phuket Sea Resort
#30 of 43 in Rawai
73 reviews
6.7 mi away
Baanpanwa Resort and Spa
Baanpanwa Resort and Spa
#13 of 13 in Cape Panwa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill Resort

Address: 19 Sirirat Rd. | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Absolute Patong Ville & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Kathu
#69 Spa Hotel in Kathu
Price Range: £22 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
38 decent sized rooms each with balcony, en-suite shower, cable TV, safe, air-conditioning, serviced daily. Good sized swimming pool with jacuzzi, shallow kids pool, swim up bar. Tropical gardens with many species of birds, butterflies and small lizards. Breakfast from 7:30 am to 10:30 am, lunch and dinner available at the adjoining restaurant. Parking for cars and motorbikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Patong Ville Hotel Kathu
Absolute Patong Ville And Spa
The Hill Resort Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing