We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Golf course”

Loch Palm Golf Club
Ranked #30 of 66 Outdoor Activities in Kathu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known as the most relaxing golf course in Phuket. Located in the centre of the island next to Red Mountain in Kathu District just 10 minutes from Phuket Town or Patong Beach the course nestles below a panoramic range of peaks, and is sandwiched between the Kathu Waterfalls and Kathu Village. The layout surrounds the largest lake on any golf course in Phuket, Crystal Lake, a massive 48 acres in size. This is an 18 hole, par 72, 6,555 yard, palm tree-lined beauty that has recently completed major re-designs and renovation upgrades.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
567 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very nice Golf course”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Among all the courses in Phuket, I would rank this one as number three, after the sister course "Red Mountain" and the famous course "Blue Canyon".
Well organized, good proshop, good caddies and well maintained greens and fairways. A bit mountainous, keep in mind, if you want to walk the whole course without electro-cart in hot days.
It is the course I played most times in Phuket, and I like it really.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ralf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    61
    17
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“beautifull setting”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Hitting golfballs over the loch. But there is no shelter so you have to here early or lat in the day

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lbonsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great course, but greens could be better!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A stunning course layout, without being overly testing (unless of course one's shots are offline, in which case you're sure to find one or more of the dozens of lakes). No two holes look the same.

One unfortunate aspect is that barely two greens feel, nor putt the same! If only the greens were consistent, and true, and reasonably fast (certian holes are: e.g. the 11th, the 14th, th 15th) then it wold make for a much better round (and possibly better score!).

The only other thing to be aware of - in high season, or on any busy day, play can be VERY slow. In keeping with most Asian golf I've ever experienced, "keeping up with play" is not a rule that many Asians care to follow. During a recent round, it took my 2-ball two hours and 20 minutes to complete only 9 holes. And there's little effort from course "Marshalls" to really do much about it.

Generally, the staff in both the office and the pro-shop do their best and are customer centric. If only the powers that be would grasp some more traditional "club" aspects of golf and present it less as simply a money-making business venture .... how much more attractive a place might it be to play??

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
214 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great course”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Nice golf course in Phuket, right next to Red Mountain, so close to Patong where we stayed. The layout is magnificent with some challenging holes and plenty water. The fairways were in good condition, but the greens were very slow. Good for landing on it, but not so great for putting. There are plenty watering/ice places, which was good since it was a sweltering heat. The price however was a bit steep for some water, 40 or 60 baht where most courses charge you 10-20 baht. The caddies are friendly, but not great. For a course like this you would expect good caddies. As with most things Phuket is quite a bit more expensive than mainland Thailand and that is definitely the case here. But if you are already staying on Phuket, it is a great place to play golf

Helpful?
2 Thank Pimmetje_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
169 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good value in rising prices”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I visit the island annually with the family for R&R and have always included 1-2 golf games in my trip. After trying all the courses on the island, Loch palm is my favourite. Its not as tight as the next door red mountain and has a great mix of water, Forrest and mountain holes. The driving range is conveniently located with the club house and the caddies are of acceptable standards. I just hate it when they assign trainee caddies and you end up being their trainer on course equitette. Booking is done thru a golf broker who is about 10-20% lower than the walk in rate. My only dissapointment is the ever rising cost of golf games on the island. I havevseen the prices for a game rise steadily in the past 5 years and its now about us$150 to 170 per game , inclusive of buggy fees and compulsory caddy tips. That is even higher to prices in Singapore and Bali and to me is too much to pay for in a game in Phuket. It's unlikely due to rising labour cost so I take it that it's just simple old human greed that is bringing the prices up.
I will be leaving my clubs at home my next rip to Phuket.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VBJ_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loch Palm Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Loch Palm Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing