We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a top spot to stay”
Review of Merrison Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merrison Inn
Ranked #198 of 527 Kathu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This is now our second visit to the Merrison and it was as good as the first however they have obviously replaced their Internet provider or they have limited the bandwidth on their existing system as it was considerably slower than our previous visit.
Staff are still very friendly and the level of cleanliness is very high.

Room Tip: Again we suggest you ask for an odd numbered room overlooking the Boomerang Inn. You actually get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brentwood_Resort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

I can not fault this hotel. The location is great central to town (Bangla road) and only 5 mins from the beach. Rooms are spotless. Breakfast is included and it was really good. If you do not fancy something from the menu they will cook espcially for you. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannahAndRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stumbled across the hotel as I was walking down a charming street looking for a hotel in my guidebook. The entrance and appearance of the hotel intrigued me and so I stayed for two nights. Great little private balcony looking out over the street. There are restaurants along it but it's quiet and has a chilled out atmosphere. Patong food court is just around the corner and serves great Thai sea food. Easy walking distance to beach, central bars and Jung Ceylon shopping centre. Motorcycle taxi maybe required to get to the bus station right in the south of the bay.

Rooms are very clean and rather charming. Beds are typically quite hard but more comfortable than other similar hotels. I went towards the end of the low season so got a great value deal of 1,100 baht per night. One of my favourite stop offs on my trip so far.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We were 3 couples staying at Merrison Inn for 19 days in February 2012. We arrived about 12 a.m.and even then we got breakfast before we could go to our rooms. Nice rooms, clean, new beddings and towells every day. Friendly staff doing their best for us. Beach towells every day and free wifi. Very clean and quiet street. About 5 minutes walk from the beach - we recommend to rent sunchairs from Pen on number 47(turn right when you reach the beach road and walk about 300 metres - past Phuket Graceland - very good service!).
We also recommend the taylor next door to Merrison Inn- friendly and doing nice work.
Many good restaurants in the area - here we recommend Patong Palace on the main street-.
Massage, manicure and pedicure is a "must" while in Thailand- the Summer Dream massage right across the street from Patong Palace(The girls with green shirts) is among the best.
And - if you want to attend the" party street", Bangla Road is only 10-15 minutes walk from Merrison. Again - best place to stay and we will for sure go there again!

Room Tip: We had a Merry Sweet room - 2 rooms - nice to have a room exstra where our friends could visit us. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed several days in Merrison Inn and it was great. The rooms are spacious, clean and with free wifi. The personnel is friendly but don't speak very good English. Merrison Inn is situated near restaurants and bars but not to close to Bangla Road, but that is an advantage. With the tuktuk you are within 5 minutes on Bangla and otherwise 10 minutes by foot. The hotel is very close to the beach! I will come to Merrison again if I ever go to Phuket again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We arrived about 7:30pm and were shown to our room on the 5th floor which included a huge bed 7' x 7' with 2 swans made from towels on the bed and orchid petals covering the bed. (nice touch). The bed itself was extremely comfortable which surprised me as Phuket beds are usually very hard. The room was a good size and included a small fridge, a 32" Plazma TV (with cable) a small safe and a good size bathroom. Internet connection was brilliant and free. There is a wi-fi access point on EVERY floor resulting in very fast and reliable surfing.There are also computers in the foyer for guests to use which are also free of charge.
Breakfast was also included which was acceptable however not outstanding. You need to look at the menu and order exactly what you want otherwise they will bring you the "standard" breakfast. You can get a beach towel at reception if you intend to visit the beach which is only 5 minutes walk away. Restaurants were only 1 minute away (Try Linda's Restaurant) and JungCeylon and shopping generally only a short walk away. Rooms are serviced daily and have a high standard of cleanliness.
The view from all rooms was not as we expected as we overlooked other building who overlooked us. This was not a real problem but suggest that you get an add numbered room as this is the better view.
A couple of negatives - The TV in our room was faulty which was replaced with another faulty TV which I had to pug and unplug about 5 times before it actually worked. Management couldnt/wouldnt do anything about as to be fair it probably had more to do with the Phuket electrical system than the TV itself.
The plumbing in our room leaked resulting in a pool of water on the floor most of the time. To fix the problem they disconnected the hot water connection to the basin which meant to get hot water you needed to boil the kettle or get hot water from the shower.
These may sound like major problems but we worked around them.

Staff were exceptionally friendly and I have no hesitation is recommending the Merrison Inn and the next time we visit Phuket we will definitely stay at the Merrison

Room Tip: If you book an odd numbered room you get a better view. Reception can provide you with a kettle or H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brentwood_Resort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank robs 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathu hotels
3.8 mi away
Andara Resort and Villas
1.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 337 in Patong
6,562 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#68 of 394 in Kathu
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Little Moon Residence
The Little Moon Residence
#53 of 337 in Patong
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
BYD Lofts Boutique Hotel & Serviced Apartments
4.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrison Inn

Address: 5/35 Hat Patong Road, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 527 B&Bs / Inns in Kathu
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrison Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Merrison Inn Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing