We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel at a Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kalima Resort & Spa
Ranked #63 of 377 Hotels in Kathu
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel at a Great location”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed at Kalima for 2 nights. Hotel was great and the staff were friendly.
Unfortunately as much as the front desk staff told us that the Artificial Sand beach area was open, other staff at Malika Terrace told us that the steps up were under going renovations. We tired our luck and were unable to reach up there.
Pool was great.
Overall an enjoyable experience at Kalima

Room Tip: Just take note that some rooms face grey walls and the back of other rooms sitting on the next level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pherrasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor P, Manager at Kalima Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Pherrasis,
Thank you for choosing Kalima Resort & Spa, Phuket for your recent stay.
We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.
Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Kalima Resort & Spa the next time.
Best Regard,
Management
Kalima Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    245
    85
    40
    47
See reviews for
110
388
29
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

People complains it is not 5-star because they chose a wrong type of room. They have to choose the Grand Seaview Room or Shared-pool rooms to enjoy the 150-degree seaview from the Cliff - it is the BEST seaview I have ever enjoyed!!

Given its price of around 100 USD per night, it is very attractive. I will go there again if I visit Phuket again.

There are some drawbacks you may see from others though:
Location is not good; shuttle bus is not frequent enough; There is many stairs to walk

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiu Tat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor P, Manager at Kalima Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Kiu Tat H,
Thank you for choosing Kalima Resort & Spa, Phuket for your recent stay.
We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.
Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Kalima Resort & Spa the next time.
Best Regard,
Management
Kalima Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Booked this resort with a voucher. Was very excited after looking at the website, very disappointed upon arrival. Did not receive welcome drink or cool towel, which I didn't think much of. Except then noticed all other tourists checking in received this. No fruit basket, however sparking wine was in room upon arrival.

Initial view of room was very impressive, lovely bed, view etc. Bathroom floor flooded every time I had a shower. Had to turn off shower & wait for water to subside before continuing shower.

Room was often not cleaned when I returned after being out all day. This was disappointing especially when you indicate for your room to be cleaned. Pool towels never replaced, advised reception staff at 10am & nothing happened. Eventually I left a note for the cleaners who replaced the towels, at 6pm the following night. Very poor!!! Walls between rooms are very thin, I was often woken up by visitors in the next room going to toilet or having a shower at all hours of the night.

Food was average & expensive even for resort standards. Enjoyed pool bar, staff very friendly & spoke ok English. However were pushy at times, wanting customers to order drinks & pay only with cash.

Reception staff at front desk, never looked very happy or pleased to see people arriving. Always seemed to be on mobile phones & ignoring arriving customers. Only helpful to a certain degree. Was advised multiple times checkout was at 12pm, yet voucher indicated late check out at 2pm. In the end I gave up & checked out at 12pm.

I found the most helpful, English speaking, genuine & happy employees to be the bell boys &
security guards. Always had a smile on their face & happy to help out anyway they could.

Distance of resort to Patong Beach will be a issue for some. Resort only provides shuttle bus 3 times a day. I quite enjoyed the walk to & from the resort to Patong Beach. If your not a walker be prepared to pay 600 baht return trip to Patong Beach.

Overall a nice experience, my room view was 5 star but sadly the rest of the resort isn't it. Not sure I would return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winnie2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ok4763, General Manager at Kalima Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Sirs/Madam,

Thank you for your choose our resort, your comments concerning to warm welcome and friendly service was noticed and instructed to operation team to improve soonest. In addtional, the complimentary shuttle service was conducted according to contract agreement with travel agents. Taxi fee charge was set from local transportation agreement which beyond our control.

Once again thanks for your valued comments and looking forward to welcome you back to Phuket and Kalima resort.

Sincerely yours,
Somchai Suwannagate (Mr)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent 3 days at the Kalima resort which was pleasant. The view from the hotel terrace and pool is out of this world And simply fabulous. The locations is pretty central and easy access to Patong city and the jungceylon mall which is about a 10 min drive. you can earthier hire the daily taxis or tuktuks. Rooms are pretty spacious and clean and most of the staff were very friendly. fantastic infinity pool. Quick room service.

NEGATIVE points that need to be considered;

- Pretty lomg walk to the rooms , to the 5th floor.
- The room that we received is covered by a tall grey wall which is a COMPLETE put off.
- Bathroom slippers that were initially kept were used rubber slipper which was disgusting
- adequate shampoo and soap was not available at the time of check in and we had to request
-breakfast was just decent. One day the honey container was filled with bees and even after we Icomplained it was lying there for a good 30 to 40 minutes.
- No English TV channels except for bbc
- the in house Thai restaurant was unnecessarily pricey
- Spa was very basic but the massages were pretty good . again I think they were a bit pricey unless you took the discounted package.
- Most of the staff lacked spoken English and hence was a difficult task to get something achieved.
- NO towels at the pool area !!!!
- had to pay extra to access the jaccuzi although we signed up for a couple massage , which I have never come accross any part of the world.

Room Tip: Please check if rooms face a grey wall !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnayson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ok4763, General Manager at Kalima Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Sirs/Madam,

Firstly, thank you for your kindly stayed with us and feedback your experience which it is valued comment to improve our property in both facility and services.

/ We're providing in resort car to transfer guest from lobby to high level building so that you can directly request to front desk at all time.
/ the fabric slipper will be provide in all guestroom, we have been ordered to the supplier in order to fulfill standard amenities set up.
/ Shampoo & soap does not available, we apology on this occured, your comment is noted and handle for future standard arragement.
/The buffet breakfast disappoint condition and slow responding to guest feedback is now ongoing improve by Food & Beverage manager. The more often supervise on item providing and refill was ordered to Food & Beverage services team to ensure that guest expecting is arranging all time.
/English TV is additional more channel, the front desk is provide movies DVD to lend if guest require to enjoy movie. (Free of charge)
/For convenience the swimming pool or beach towel provides in all guestroom. In case of guest does not bring along with them, temporary lend available at Spa from 10.00 am to 7.00 pm.
/ In swimming pool jaccuzi is available.
/ 5th building is simple deluxe which is lowest price for budget required.

Once again thanks for your valued review, we will take your topic to improve our services and hope to welcome you back to Kalima resort & spa soon.

Best regards,
Somchai Suwannagate (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Ours was a honeymoon trip. Made the booking through booking.com... apparently booking.com does not charge at the time of booking. So the hotel concierge asked for my credit card. No problem.
The room view was amazing.... full points... WOW was the word when we entered the room.
Lights went on and off in our room... after 2 to 3 reminders this was fixed... there was some minor problem in the room key socket. Breakfast was good.... could add some variety over a period of days though...
Patong beach is around 3-4 kms from kalima...
Tuktuk charges 300 for one side....
We rented a 2 wheeler for our entire stay.. which was 200 bahts per day... they keep ur passport..so turned out be quite economical....
Staff members were very friendly.... particularly this guy who used to greet us every morning at the breakfast and did a little smalltalk.
Overall.... money well spent....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor P, Manager at Kalima Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear imworldtraveller,
Thank you for choosing Kalima Resort & Spa, Phuket for your recent stay.
We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.
Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Kalima Resort & Spa the next time.
Best Regard,
Management
Kalima Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Amazing resort,friendly stuff,clean,The location is almost near to everything just 300 Thailand money to any place , nothing bad ,my Wife and me loved it and have no negative comment..Just Ignore the people who gave bad comments nothing true at all from there comments

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shady511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tor P, ผู้จัดการ at Kalima Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for choosing Kalima Resort & Spa, Phuket for your recent stay.

We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Kalima Resort & Spa the next time.

Best Regard,
Kalima Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The resort itself is gorgeous - great pool, great rooms, very clean. In terms of appearance, Kalima had it all.

The downfall:

1) Poor service.

- we were sitting on lounge chairs right beside the pool and an umbrella was missing. We asked the staff to bring over an umbrella and they said we should move and sit somewhere else. We had to actually say 'well, we are paying to stay here so we would like to sit right by the pool, not a few rows back" so then they finally brought us an umbrella. When we left for lunch for an hour (but all of our belongings were still on our lounge chairs), we got back and the umbrella was gone again.

- They had signage up with discount promotions for food and drink that the staff had said was no longer valid after we had ordered our meal and the bill came

- Overall friendless of staff around resort was subpar

2) Bad food

- The breakfast buffet looked great on first appearance but the food wasn't good. They had a chef cooking fresh eggs anyway you like so we ordered eggs Benedict and they were watery and under cooked. Ended up stuffing up on banana muffins.

- We ate at Thai Fusion (overpriced) for dinner and had the masaman curry. My fiance and I both couldn't finish our meal because we didn't like it.

If you stay here, just eat else where and don't expect much from the staff.

Room Tip: If you book on agoda they will give you the room with the worst view, even if they have many others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveandrich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ok4763, General Manager at Kalima Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Sirs/Madam,

Firstly, thank you for stayed and feedback us staff's service that does not meet your expectation. We keep an eyes to supervise in this point and improve its standard service. An expire promotion signage will be strictly monitor and up to date. The Breakfast and others meal has had discussed to Executive Chef concerning to your comment which it was additional trained for guest satisfaction.

In term of guest communication both verbal and signage will be improved according to your value comments.

Best regards,
Somchai Suwannagate
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathu
2.6 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
16.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
2.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
2.5 mi away
Crest Resort & Pool Villas
Crest Resort & Pool Villas
#116 of 321 in Patong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalima Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalima Resort & Spa

Property: Kalima Resort & Spa
Address: 338/1 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Kathu
#46 Luxury Hotel in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kalima Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star luxurious contemporary resort nestled on a lush jungle-clad hillside. Home to some of the most beautiful beaches, Phuket island is a tropical haven blessed with perfect sea, sun, sand and liveliness. At Kalima Resort & Spa, located on the picturesque western coastline of Phuket with just minutes from the famous Patong beach, 190 exquisite contemporary architectural style rooms and villas welcome you along with 220-degree panoramic view of Patong bay and endless horizon of Andaman sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kalima Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalima Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing