We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kalima Resort & Spa
Ranked #62 of 378 Hotels in Kathu
Certificate of Excellence
wot-napat
2 reviews
“Recommended resort”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at Kalima as it's seaview, not crowded, and only few minutes drive to Patong beach. Nice infinity pool and restaurant. Bedroom is big and seaview. i love to stay here because this property was match with my purpose. if anyone looking for stay claim and peaceful and not far to patong entertaiment area, i strongly recommend this is a right place to enjoy your holiday.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wot-napat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    250
    86
    41
    47
See reviews for
113
393
29
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel located near but not in Patong. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Front desk staff fairly helpful. If only the hotel could provide hourly shuttle to Patong from 6-10pm, it would have been excellent. Currently hotel provides 3 shuttle per day. Breakfast spread quite good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sonny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My experience starts from 11 AM we reached the hotel , the lady at reception told us ,they cannot check in before 2 PM "its their policy"
Even After repeated requests as we were very tired they did not take it.Finally we checked in at 2 PM as per their Policy
As we had taken an online reservation we did not know about the proximity to the patong beach,its quite far from Patong and they charge 500 THB one side for taking to the beach.
Extremely expensive food , and even after repeated reminders our room was not cleaned for 2 days.
While our check out at 4 AM , we wanted a cab , which the staff disagreed to provide saying we have to reserve in Advance , at the time of bill payment , the receptionist put an accusation that we stole their hair dryer , we got extremely annoyed, we asked them to check the rooms

"AND THEY FINALLY GOT THE HAIR DRYER"

tERRIBLE , EXTREMELY RUDE STAFF...PLEASE AVOID THIS PLACE

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shreyajain2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakorn N, Manager at Kalima Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Shreyajain2001

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are very sad that made you felt unpleasant with our services to reach your expectations.
Regarding to the hotel check-in problem yes our policy is 2pm. However, at your arrived date we may have a lot of traffic since we normally let the guest check-in if we have available room in make guest happy.

The hotel location 2 km. from the beach access (Patong) resort also provide 3 times shuttle bus to Patong 11.00am 2.00pm and 5.00pm besides that need to take cab approximately 200-300 THB.

For the check-out we do apologized let you down due to our misunderstand and communication.

Finally, I do of course feel sorry that you could not appreciate our services as we always strive to provide good service and make our guests happy

Yours Sincerely,

Pakorn Niyomadul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

1. The service. We were greeted at the hotel by about 10 staff members as we walked in and checked in. The staff were incredibly helpful as we had just arrived and had no money and were having issues with our cards. With very little fuss they showed us to our room and sorted out the finances later on in the day. It was amazing, every staff member would at the drop of a dime assist you with a massive greeting and smile. We were even offered by one of the staff a night out on the town at the conclusion of his shift. Even little things like asking about your preious day and taking your plate away from the insanely amazing buffet as soon as you're done, they're like deadly accurate hawk-like waiters.. Above and beyond.

2. The food. Easily the best thai I've had in thailand or abroad. It wasn't just the thai food though, we thought we'd test the menu out a little and to our amazement even the club sandwich was outstanding. To this day I still cringe every time I have a club sandwich because it's simply not as good.

3. The location wasn't in the heart of Patong, it's about a 10 minute walk, but for us that was ideal. Patong itself was not what we were expecting so having some distance away from the mass of Aussie and UK drunk plebs was amazing. The resort is built into the side of a hill so the view of the ocean was amazing and alot more quiet than the other resorts in town.

4. Sleep I found great being a nice firm bed however my partner doesn't agree.. but I'm writing the review so.. ha.

5. Tours. The staff organised everything for us and was a seamless experience from the pickups to the tours themselves to the drop offs. We experienced amazing things that we will never forget.

6. We booked through Agoda, it was incredibly cheap for what we got, a little over 100AU for our room which was another standout of the hotel.

All in all we spent the majority of the time in the hotel apart from tours because it was simply a far nicer experience than we had anticipated. Ok I have to go back to the food, it's ridiculously good. Better than anything we went to on the street, better than any of the famed Patong resturants. Every time we ate anywhere else we felt cheated out of a Malika (the rooftop resturant) experience.

Negatives - The room had some minor plastering issues which didn't affect the experience at all and I only notice minute details because I build houses. The bed had a ridge in the middle, however it was enormous, probably two queen matresses pushed together. The plumbing had an issue one of the nights when workers on the street burst a main but this was nothing the hotel could avoid and were very apologetic for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jordan_andBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I am not a blogger but when it came to my experience with Kalima I felt overwhelmingly compelled (especially given how high it is rated).

Summary:
This hotel, is not on the beach (as it claims); is perched on a hill that should be recommended for those training for an Everest summit (did I mention I'm a 26 year old in-shape male); and is run by an incompetent and extremely unfriendly staff (I travel very often, ten country's this year, and these were by far the worst (really saying something by Thai standards, staffs that are known for their friendliness)). Indeed, this is a place to be avoided.

Details:
I booked a five night stay at their "nicest room" (two bedroom private villa and pool about $650 USD a night) based on photos and price. I asked to have their driver meet me at the airport. When I arrived at the airport, no driver: No problem, I'll take a cab. During check-in, the clerk begins with "our driver is waiting for you at the airport, you should have called us, and you have to pay us now for the driver we sent." Never mind the hello and welcome to Thailand etc.

I informed her that I looked for the driver for about 10-15 minutes, didn't see him/her and took a cab...sorry, I'm not going to pay (It is a small airport, not many places to look). I said perhaps, the driver was late, needed to use the restroom, etc. She said that I have to pay because they subcontract. I said fine I'll pay cash, if they give me a credit at the bar for same amount. She was not budging from the position of pay now and seemingly was unwilling to check me in till I paid, and I not wanting to deal with her any longer said put it on my bill.

After checking in, I waited the presummed customary 15 minutes for a driver to take me up the hill (this hill is seriously miserable to walk).

Get to the villa. Entry pond is drained; doors can only be locked form the inside; pool is a foot deep (more of a puddle really); bathroom has no wall and is 96F with no A/C. Bugs are all over the room because...well...the bathroom has no wall! Outside sitting area looks like an unfinished hot tube converted into a subterranean seat with blue gym mats for cushions. Inside walls are dirty and in need of paint.

Decide that I need to cancel the reservation (I paid upfront). Women and manager will not allow me to cancel the reservation. I say fine charge me for tonight and cancel the remainder of the reservation. They say no. I say let me speak to the GM, they say he's on vacation.

I refuse to sign anything, grab my bags and head to another similarly priced hotel which offered the same amenities (private pool two bedroom) and was actually on the beach. The hotel was Moevenpick and was better by far.

Although, I can only frame my experience from someone paying $650 a night and expecting what I paid for, a person paying $100 for a room there may be satisfied...I can't speak to that.

But I will say this hotel is not on the beach, rather it is perched on a hill side across the street from a cliff that overlooks the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed in a Seaview room recently for 9 nights. This is the first time while visiting Thailand and especially Phuket that we found the staff of a hotel to be unfriendly and at times purposely looking away from us or looking through us as to avoid any contact or greeting. We were not greeted on arrival and certainly no goodbyes from any staff when we departed. Our room was not ready when we arrived so we waited over an hour when, I then inquired at reception and it was ready for us. We were shown to our room when the receptionist found a light fitting hanging loosely, she quickly got a maintenance man to fix it. As we opened the curtains to look at the most amazing view the curtain track broke and jammed and then fell on to the floor. The room we had has the best view but certainly not a 5 star hotel. Laminex on the furniture was torn and worn, the walls were badly scuffed and the bathroom tiles were smudged badly and the grout was black with mildrew or staining. One of the white bath towels (which are very worn) was covered in black/reddish spots which I discovered only after my shower. The infinity pool is beautiful but far from relaxing as the "House" music starts about 10.30am and thumps all day. The pool area is not big so there is no where to escape the music and the staff were the unfriendliest in the whole hotel. The staff do not approach you for a drink or snack, if you want a drink you have to go to them and the drinks are very expensive. The breakfast is just adequate especially for a Westener. No coffee served, you have to get the coffee pot yourself which we have never experienced anywhere, eggs are cooked and left on the counter and most times quite cold. The breakfast staff stand around in groups chatting while tables are covered in dirty dishes, and their guests ignored. But the worst experience for breakfast was early one morning, 6.30am, before a day out to Phi Phi, we left our room and could hear loud music and got to Malika restaurant for breakfast and the music was so loud, my husband ask if the music could be turned down, it was. The noise continued all day and night, we were in rm 3206, amazing view but right outside the door was the houskeeping closets and the staff would be there quite early talking, laughing and making quite alot of noise filling trolleys with their cleaning products and cartons of water dropped on to the trolleys. This doesn't sound like much but this noise was from 6am to 11pm, house keeping slammed doors continuously, also combined with the carpark at the back of the room, car doors closing, fire alarms being set off during the night, a large conference(conference room above the car park at the back of the room) it was extremely noisy. Overall the noisiest hotel we have ever stayed in. The location of the hotel is fine though the shuttle bus into and from Phuket could be more often then 11am, 2pm and 5pm, if you wish to travel into or out of town out of those times it costs about 300 Baht. Certainly not a 5 star hotel, no alarm clock, poor lighting, worn linen, very noisy and unfriendly staff, we would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have an amazing view but very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have spent a few nights in Double Pool Honeymoon Suite in Feb 2014. The room is new, spacious, well decorated and has a view over Patong beach. The price (as booked in a last minute from Agoda website) is quite reasonable. The location is good for a short vacation trip. It takes appx 1 hour from Phuket International Airport.

Complimentary breakfast meets our expectation. Dinner menu is, still, quite limited. The staffs are quite helpful and professional.

Ultimately, we are quite happy and have a great time there. We would recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues who would like to visit Phuket.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathu
2.6 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
16.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#3 of 36 in Kamala
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
2.5 mi away
Crest Resort & Pool Villas
Crest Resort & Pool Villas
#116 of 322 in Patong
79 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalima Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalima Resort & Spa

Property: Kalima Resort & Spa
Address: 338/1 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Kathu
#46 Luxury Hotel in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kalima Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star luxurious contemporary resort nestled on a lush jungle-clad hillside. Home to some of the most beautiful beaches, Phuket island is a tropical haven blessed with perfect sea, sun, sand and liveliness. At Kalima Resort & Spa, located on the picturesque western coastline of Phuket with just minutes from the famous Patong beach, 190 exquisite contemporary architectural style rooms and villas welcome you along with 220-degree panoramic view of Patong bay and endless horizon of Andaman sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kalima Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalima Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing