We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff and great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kalima Resort & Spa
Ranked #58 of 382 Hotels in Kathu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here one night before our next hotel. The hotel has lovely views and a spectacular infinity pool overlooking the sea. We took advantage of a wotif 'mystery' room that was a honeymoon suite. The average honeymoon suite wasn't what we would consider a honeymoon suite but it was very nice and had lovely views. Bat
He room was clean and spacious but if you look closely the finishing isn't too good -whoever did our bathroom wouldn't win The Block.

The restaurant is pleasant for late night dining and the breakfast was extraordinarily good with so many options from normal breakfast fare to lovely cooked savory dishes.

Only the fit and able bodied should stay here - there are heaps of stairs. Elderly or people who have mobility issues would have real issues staying here.

That said, it's a great location and lovely stay.

Room Tip: Most, if not all rooms would have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tini-treen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have just arrived home from our stay at Kalima Resort. From the moment we arrived the service was beyond expectation. From the ladies at reception to Tee, our waiter, at the restaurant. We arrived early and our rooms weren't ready but we were offered rooms that were already prepared. We declined as we wanted 2 rooms on the same floor so we went for lunch in the restaurant while our rooms were being attended to. Tee was our waiter. He was fantastic. We requested a private viewing of the wine cellar and he arranged this immediately. The food was well prepared and perfectly presented. Our compliments to the chef. In fact, during our stay the food was excellent. Every time we attended the restaurant we were immediately welcomed. During our stay Thailand celebrated Thai New Year. The hotel presented a special show and dinner to celebrate which we attended.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone from families to honeymooners as they catered for all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarylN294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Kalima Resort in Patong and felt the need to right a review after reading some of the other comments by travellers. The hotel is around 3 miles from the centre of Patong, but if you have read up on it before booking then this won't be a surprise. We walked into town on a few occasions, but there are always taxis outside who will take you there for 300 Bhat (around 6GBP). We decided on this hotel as it is far enough away from the hustle of Bangla Road, but close enough to make it easy to join the fun!
The hotel itself cannot really be faulted. We booked for a Grand Deluxe Sea View Room and we had uninterrupted views of the sea and the sunset. The room was lovely, very large and well equipped with kettle, fridge, air con and everything you would expect from such a resort. For our last 2 nights we upgraded to the Presidential Honeymoon Suite with swim up pool and Jacuzzi on the deck - amazing and well worth the money!
While we were there, the elections in Thailand were taking place, so there was a ban on alcohol sales over one of our weekends. Unfortunately we weren't aware of this until we ventured into Patong for the evening. It may have been helpful if the hotel had advised the guests in some way - a general notice even.
There have been some negative reviews about the staff in the hotel, but as I always say you get what you give. If you are polite and smile at the staff, they will do all they can to assist. We heard a few guests being less than polite at times, and if I were a member of staff, then I wouldn't go out of my way to assist them!
Just one point of clarity that I was unsure of before we left - the sockets in the rooms. Very technically advanced power points that will take all 3 standard plug types - US, European and UK styles, so no need for any adapters at all!
We were on bed and breakfast basis and the selection available will satisfy any and all tastes. We also ate lunch at the pool bar most days which was most enjoyable. A bit pricey, but overall we decided it was worth the money.
One thing we picked up before we went was the infrequency of the free shuttle bus into Patong. We have to agreed on this one - we didn't use it once as it just wasn't available in the early evening when most people will be venturing out.
All in all a great holiday and we would highly recommend this hotel to people wishing to stay in this area.

Room Tip: Sea View All the Way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

A warning b4 I start. Like many places in thailand, this resort was still under construction in some parts when we stayed however it didnt affect us. We stayed on the level below the malika resturant. It was a well sized room, very clean and modern. Bed was enormous! Discovered it was literally 2 queen size beds pushed together so we usually only used up half. Big tub overlooking the pool and ocean. Location was great because although from australia my partner and I arent raging drunks like the majority of 20 yr old aussies. The resort is about a 3 min drive or 15 min walk to patong beach and bangla road so for us a great being close but not too close to the backpacker area. The in room food is as good as the resturant as I assume its prepared by the same chef. The roof top Malika resturant is, after my 3rd thailand trip, still the best thai food iv had anywhere in the world. they also do fantastic western food. I tried a number of local places rated highly on trip advisor but in the end found myself regretting the meals eaten outside the resort. The spa is very expensive and for that reason we didnt go. Its approx 5x standard pricing. the staff for us were amazing. Very warm and friendly, helpful and showed genuine interest in our trip. Pat, a rather tall fellow who we mainly saw at malika of a morning and afternoon, very helpful even offering to take us on a tour outside his work hours. That is above and beyond. Loved it. If I were to return to patong I would stay at kalima.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank jdbsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

During our stay in this resort last couple week, I was very impress many many thing as firstly, location of this property as my expect ( stay claim and relax far away from crowned but convenience to drive 10 minutes to patong entertain area).
Secondly, value of money I search from hotel website and compare with other resort that similar condition. Kalima offered a good deal and very interested for us to make decision comfirm to stay here.
Thirdly, hospitality service in overall Thai people are friendly and all smile even do thing right or wrong. For example from first check in staff welcome and serve a drink ( for welcome drink glass here was cool and teste good). For breakfast in morning at restaurant outlet,view and atmosphere was fantastic ( get fresh air during breakfast and food was good)
One thing to comment, I ask for extra towel and shampoo in room, it a over time to dilivery ( a bit angry) an hour later i walked down to a lobby for complain for this think, all front office staff do apology and keep smile and said to improve a service , so it make me cool down to except their apologies.
Finally, property as stylish, new property, panoramic patong city view and seaview, atmosphere some services and teste of food in overall I surly coming back for next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed here for three days with my husband in a seaview room. The view was phenomenal. The infinity pool was great and we even indulged in renting out the karaoke room they have for a night (limited English selection). The food was okay, but the location and staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank blenaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

For some reason we felt cautious when considering the Kalima, but we were more than happy enough with our week there.

Checkin was easy enough and we were given a choice of a couple of rooms with different views within our booked category.

Our room itself was nice though we quickly had to learn by ourselves that the air conditioning needs time to react to any changes and if the balcony sliding door is not 'fully closed' the system will switch off after 5 minutes or so. As soon as the door is closed properly it will start again by itself.

The infinity pool had the best view but get there early for the best sun lounges.
The pool bar was ok but even though I was buying drinks at premium prices I was failing to 'feel' any alcohol in them, I also felt the staff at the bar were not that customer focused at times & witnessed a little impatience to guests who like us did not quite understand the happy hour 'rules' which were not that clear on the notice board at the bar.

The breakfasts were great in a quite pleasant open area with the menu changing daily. Staff here were very attentive & friendly with guests.

We had been planning to try the restaurant one evening but in the end the prices were just too expensive.. and be careful the prices of the meals are plus 2 different taxes & charges.
There are awesome meals to be had in town at very reasonable prices.

The tuk tuks were charging 300baht each way to Patong. We had a few that tried to charge us 400baht for the return trip to Kalima but quickly dropped the price when challenged.
The resort does run a bus service to town and back but at inconvenient times and in any case the last bus to/from town is around 5pm daily.

We did walk to town on a number of days including a pleasant walk for nearly half the length of the beach, this was especially nice around sunset.

Room service left a lot to be desired. We had tried to get different pillows on 2 different days but though promised someone was on their way, no one ever turned up, there was one other promise to bring something but again, nothing.
The sheets were never changed on the days we requested and it was 3 days after our arrival before the first change.
Our biggest complaint came on our second last day, after our room was made up we had room towels of differing sizes missing along with a personal towel, a white robe (chargeable if taken) was missing, 2 cans of beer were missing from the minibar, one of these was mine I had purchased outside the hotel, the room floor was still wet from being cleaned when we returned but the room smelt like vomit until it dried (with the doors opened of course)

Such a shame that room service all by itself took the shine of an otherwise pleasant stay

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SeanBAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathu
16.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
16.7 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,041 reviews
0.5 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 35 in Kamala
627 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalima Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalima Resort & Spa

Address: 338/1 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Kathu
#45 Luxury Hotel in Kathu
Price Range: £75 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kalima Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star luxurious contemporary resort nestled on a lush jungle-clad hillside. Home to some of the most beautiful beaches, Phuket island is a tropical haven blessed with perfect sea, sun, sand and liveliness. At Kalima Resort & Spa, located on the picturesque western coastline of Phuket with just minutes from the famous Patong beach, 190 exquisite contemporary architectural style rooms and villas welcome you along with 220-degree panoramic view of Patong bay and endless horizon of Andaman sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kalima Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalima Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing