We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Scenic view that worths the stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalima Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kalima Resort & Spa
Ranked #72 of 373 Hotels in Kathu
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Scenic view that worths the stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We purchased the groupon 5D4N stay and was satisfied with our stay there. The view was scenic and perfect for relaxation, so is the main pool that comes with the sunken bar.
What we are happy with:
1) view - fantastic sea view from the room we stayed and at the café where we have our daily breakfast
2) staff - friendly, helpful, smiley and courteous staff except with 1 or 2 at the café who don't seem enjoying their work there
What we are not so happy with:
1) location - is not within walking distance to Patong beach and shopping area, unlike the one I stayed previously - Novotel, which is situated at the foot of the hill. Due to the distance, one will have to pay extra for transportation (200-300 baht) if you intend to go back to hotel after 5pm as that's the last shuttle service provided by the hotel.
2) power supply - was weak during our last 2 days of stay, we experienced constant power tripped and it took them hours to resume the electricity. That was rather unpleasant as it was very hot without the aircon for hours. When we called the front desk, they will stay that the entire patong area was without power supply which is not true.
3) free wifi - unstable and slow network that always locked one out from the wifi and it's hard to get log in
4) breakfast - not that fantastic for a 5 star standard, however, one can still expect a basic normal breakfast

Overall the stay was good and I enjoyed it during the 1st 2 days. The entire climate dives when we experienced constant power failure. So will I still go back to Kalima? I will if I miss the scenic view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanetSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    229
    81
    39
    43
See reviews for
100
366
29
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a Honeymoon Seaview Room at Kalima Resort & Spa in June 2014.

LOCATION
Kalima Resort & Spa is located at Kathu, Phuket. It is about 45 mins from Phuket airport and 12 mins from Patong Beach.

SHUTTLE BUS
Kalima has shuttle bus service to Patong Beach which is about 12 mins ride. You are to reserve 1 hour in advance in case you do not get a seat. (Though we didn't bother.) There are only 3 timings each day to go to Patong Beach: 11am, 2pm and 5pm. Return shuttle bus from Patong Beach are: 11.15am, 2.15pm and 5.15pm. This means that if you take the 5pm shuttle bus from hotel to Patong Beach, you will have to pay your own transport back. It costs 300 baht by Tuk Tuk. (200 baht if you bargain hard.) It's too long a way to walk back from Patong Beach.

AMENITIES
Here's a list of amenities in the hotel room:
32" Samsung LED TV which has media player support. (So you can plug in your USB hard disk to playback MP4 movies.)
1 DVD player.
2 complimentary bottles of mineral water every morning.
1 mini 0.5L water kettle.
1 bedside telephone with pencil and paper. (If you need to dial another room, dial 8 then followed by room number.)
1 mini fridge.
1 King size bed.
4 pillows (1 spare in closet).
1 work table with chair and table lamp and internet access point on wall.
1 small couch for 2 with a couple of couch pillows.
2 complimentary mangos.
1 non-digital weighing machine.
2 indoor cloth slippers.
2 outdoor rubber slippers.
1 balcony with small table and 2 chairs.
Complimentary standard instant coffee and Twinnings tea bags.
2 glass cups.
2 coffee cups with metal spoons.
2 Champaign glasses, 2 wine glasses and 2 beer glasses.
1 ice box. You can call front desk to request for ice.
1 bottle opener.
1 tissue box.
2 long umbrellas. (There are no sheltered walkways to my block when it rains.)
2 bath robes.
2 pool towels.
1 in-room digital safe for your valuables.
15 hangers of various types.
1 electric torchlight beside the bed.
1 liquid mosquito repellent which you plug into electricity socket. (We didn't have any bug problems during our stay though.)
Free 512kbps Wifi which was slow. You can pay 150 baht per day for faster 3Mbps connection.
Power plugs in Thailand are 2 round pins or 2 straight pins. But the hotel's power sockets are able to take a variety of plugs. If you really need a power adapter, you can request it from front desk.

Here are the things in the toilet:
1 bath tub.
2 bath towels.
2 facial towels.
2 hand towels.
1 bath salt and small loofah scrub.
1 bath gel.
1 shampoo.
1 conditioner.
1 Philips 1600W hair dryer.
1 pack of sewing kit.
1 pack of sanitary bag.
1 pack of cotton pad.
1 body lotion.
1 pack of razor set.
2 toothbrushes.
1 comb.
1 nail file.
1 tissue box.
Above head rain-type shower head with Hot and Cold water available.
2 glass cups for morning wash.

ENVIRONMENT
Kalima is relatively new as it only opened in late 2012. Facilities are still new and clean.

They have a (small but) exclusive sand beach, complete with beach chairs and a volleyball court. There is a pool nearby as well.

Gym facilities are quite good and available from 7am - 8pm.

Breakfast was average. Food wasn't piping warm, which is expected due to strong winds from the sea. If you choose to sit outside, hang on to your paper towels as the wind can get quite strong. The balcony in front of the restaurant offers an excellent panoramic view of Patong Beach.

The hotel has an "Infinity pool" where you can chill at the edge of the pool and take in the view of the beach. There is a poolside bar if you need a drink.

There is a mini golf course near the exclusive sand beach. I didn't try it but it looks pretty tough to me.

CUSTOMER SERVICE
The receptionist were polite and speaks basic English (though with Thai accents of course). Stick to basic English and you should be fine.

MISC
We arranged the hotel van to pick us from and to the airport. It costed 3000 baht total (1500 baht each way).

I feel that there is not enough place to hang clothes in the bathroom. The towel rack has only enough space for the bath towels. So bring your own laundry line if needed.

There is no glass door to close for the shower area. There is only a wooden sliding door to the whole toilet. I prefer to have a shower door to keep the heat in.

We encountered 2 power outage during our stay. It gets stuffy in the room because air conditioning is off and the toilet is dark. That's bad in my opinion. Apparently power outages are common in Patong and affects not just this hotel. This is no excuse though when the power outage takes longer than 3 hours to fix! (Now I know why they put a torchlight in every room!)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank XYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

First up the staff, the staff were really lovely, friendly and helpful.

The view from our room and the pool area were spectacular.

We stayed at kalima for ten nights and we don't regret one bit of it, but the structure of the building has been built very poor.

The food was ok, it wasn't the best I've had.

Overall my experience there was good and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

the honeymoon suite room is very extra ordinary. the view awesome. but to reach to the room use cady car from hotel. near beach. the price is expensive :) free manggo from hotel. internet access is free too. free shuttle to patong beach. with limited time

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrianus86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We rented a honeymoon suite for a relaxation weekend getaway with my friends.

Room is spacious and the private jacuzzi where the balcony usually provides a good view over Patong beach. The Jacuzzi also leads directly to the edge pool overlooking Patong. The pool is shared only by other honeymoon suites and not the rest of the hotel.

Pros: Excellent service and accommodating staff (We were about 2.5 hrs early for our check in and room was ready by then); Hotel tuk tuk provided to room for convenience when we had our luggage with us to avoid too much walking with the luggage - otherwise it would be a 5 min walk/ lift/ stairs to reception which was reasonable; We came back late one night and my friend requested for the tuk tuk to our room even though we had no luggage and the hotel happily obliged - again accommodating service. In the common edge pool, the sunken bar was very chill and there was also a nice view over Patong at the edge of the common pool; Hotel has two restaurants - Thai and International - We ate at the international restaurant on the second night as there was a sumptous seafood bbq buffet but they also accomodated us ordering food from the Thai restaurant downstairs and delivered to the buffet restaurant which allowed us to have a taste of both places... and the food was great. There is also a motorbike rental located just in front of the hotel for transport which does not insist you leave your passport subject to a reasonable deposit - in our case 1000 baht for two mopeds.

Cons: Hotel is not walking distance to the main Patong beach area so you will need a taxi (300 baht one way) or tuk tuk (200 -250 baht one way) each time you want to get there. Alternative is to rent a bike from the rental place mentioned above and ride there if you are game (about 10 min ride) - This is really the most convenient way of getting around.

In summary, the hotel is great for the spa/ relaxation type but shoppers really should find something nearer the main Patong area.

Room Tip: For the honeymoon suites rooms (room number 71XX), the lower the XX the more privacy you enjoy becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benron_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I haven't even spent a night and I'm already feeling the need to write a review.

Well we arrived earlier today, were greeted at reception with some wet cold towels and some ice tea. I thought it was going to be heaven!

So I have now presented my passports and credit card for the room, I was angered that they needed to take a $1000 AUD deposit for the room. This was the first line crossed, what if i did not have $1000 to spare??

So after this is all done, we have a ute drive us up to our room. It was like driving up mount Everest, so steep and dangerous, and like a maze. Were taken to our room shown where everything is and left to our own devises.

Later in the evening we left the hotel (trying to find our way down to the lobby was ridiculous, we had to take an elevator then walk down a million stairs, then another elevator, hotel was not thought out too well architecturally!!). So we have finally found the lobby and left to Patong to do some shopping.

A couple of hours later we return, finally find our way to the room. Walk in and the room absolutely stinks repulsively of cigarette smoke. I believe one of the rooms around us was smoking and its come through the a/c or something along those lines. As non smokers who used to smoke my partner and I felt repulsed by the smell. I phoned reception in regards to this disturbing scent and the lady said she would send someone up. 20 minutes later no one has arrived so i call again, again no one came. On my 3rd phone call to reception finally they sent up someone.

So these two males arrive to my door, the proceed to enter with a spray bottle. ( instantly I was furious, nothing worse that cigarette smoke covered up by some cheap smelling room deodoriser!) so yes they begin spraying what seems to smell like my grandmothers perfume, and as someone who is quite sensitive to smell, I'm sitting in my bed, dreading staying in this room all night.

I specifically told the man not to spray that disgusting stuff (but due to the language barrier which there is an abundance of within this establishment) he continued to spray. All I wanted was to move rooms but no one could understand me, it wasn't a big deal we had only been in the room for a couple of hours and it had not been messed up.

So this is a typical customer service scenario to me, you should do anything and everything to ensure the comfortability and happiness of your customers, but obviously this place has no clue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

It was amazing hitel. And we spend a great honeymoon... the 5 stars hotel is clean has a marvellous view to the patong beach .. breakfast was verygood ... and we wish to visit again in our 1st anniversary

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hend H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathu
2.5 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.5 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
1.2 mi away
The Naka Phuket
The Naka Phuket
#17 of 36 in Kamala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalima Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalima Resort & Spa

Property: Kalima Resort & Spa
Address: 338/1 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Kathu
#53 Luxury Hotel in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kalima Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star luxurious contemporary resort nestled on a lush jungle-clad hillside. Home to some of the most beautiful beaches, Phuket island is a tropical haven blessed with perfect sea, sun, sand and liveliness. At Kalima Resort & Spa, located on the picturesque western coastline of Phuket with just minutes from the famous Patong beach, 190 exquisite contemporary architectural style rooms and villas welcome you along with 220-degree panoramic view of Patong bay and endless horizon of Andaman sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kalima Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalima Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing