We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kalima Resort & Spa
Ranked #60 of 378 Hotels in Kathu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome View”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Kalima Resort & Spa is a place to unwind, relax and simply the enjoy the awesome view of the Andaman Sea directly ( unblock view) from your room. Nothing beats the claiming sea view from your very own room balcony. The view is just simply breath-taking and that includes the infinity pool which also overlook the sea.

With spacious room, comfy beds and spectacular view I will definitely go back to Kalima Resort & Spa any time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    255
    86
    41
    47
See reviews for
113
400
29
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We simply loved it. From the warm personal greeting, cool towels and cold welcome drink at the front desk, to the spacious modern room with the large spa bath (for two) in one corner ...the Kalima delivered even more than we were promised. I am often disappointed when reviews are written only by the critical to critique everything. This is Thailand!!! For the surprisingly affordable room rate and the 5 star promise...maybe travelers should take things a little more in stride. Our room didn't have a view and we didn't expect one but the large windows and the landscape around the room and its balcony created a lovely oasis and a real sense of tropical privacy. We loved the creative room lighting, the walk in shower and the huge comfy bed!!! The breakfast buffet was excellent. (The service is random but as it is a buffet...just roll with it.) They actually reset our table when we went back for 2nds and we ended up at a different table. It was rather funny. All other service was fantastic and above expectation. They even booked a dentist for us and the price and service were more than satisfactory.

Relax a little, lighten up and enjoy!!! The Kalima is well worth the money.

Room Tip: We preferred the room with the built in spa...even though there was no real view. (We didn't exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank courtney s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

hotel was good, but the issue with hotel contract with outside vendors
hotel booked a bike for me with "Sutin bike for rent" who is is big cheat
he charge me big amount for showing me damage which was never done by me.
he was very rude and not listening luckily i took photograph when i took bike which showed dent on glass but that also didn't help because that guy holding my passport and threaten to tear that.

hotel staff didn't help not even called police, even hotel staff told me that these guys(Sutin) has setting with police and you will be in big trouble.

so be careful when you are rent any care of bike from Sutin and dont give your passport

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 59bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapure
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, with amazing view, suitable room, friendly stuff....
Also, nice Suvenier shop, with good price for gift! If you need select a present for yours friends, shoud come in!!!
This my first trip to Phuket! It was very wonderful place in world!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyleebesttrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in the standard room, which was wonderful, it was very spacious and clean. We had the sea view and it was worth it, we could see across to the beach, there was often fireworks on the beach regularly which we could see from our room. The meals that we had there were lovely and breakfast had a great selection. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We purchased the groupon 5D4N stay and was satisfied with our stay there. The view was scenic and perfect for relaxation, so is the main pool that comes with the sunken bar.
What we are happy with:
1) view - fantastic sea view from the room we stayed and at the café where we have our daily breakfast
2) staff - friendly, helpful, smiley and courteous staff except with 1 or 2 at the café who don't seem enjoying their work there
What we are not so happy with:
1) location - is not within walking distance to Patong beach and shopping area, unlike the one I stayed previously - Novotel, which is situated at the foot of the hill. Due to the distance, one will have to pay extra for transportation (200-300 baht) if you intend to go back to hotel after 5pm as that's the last shuttle service provided by the hotel.
2) power supply - was weak during our last 2 days of stay, we experienced constant power tripped and it took them hours to resume the electricity. That was rather unpleasant as it was very hot without the aircon for hours. When we called the front desk, they will stay that the entire patong area was without power supply which is not true.
3) free wifi - unstable and slow network that always locked one out from the wifi and it's hard to get log in
4) breakfast - not that fantastic for a 5 star standard, however, one can still expect a basic normal breakfast

Overall the stay was good and I enjoyed it during the 1st 2 days. The entire climate dives when we experienced constant power failure. So will I still go back to Kalima? I will if I miss the scenic view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanetSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a Honeymoon Seaview Room at Kalima Resort & Spa in June 2014.

LOCATION
Kalima Resort & Spa is located at Kathu, Phuket. It is about 45 mins from Phuket airport and 12 mins from Patong Beach.

SHUTTLE BUS
Kalima has shuttle bus service to Patong Beach which is about 12 mins ride. You are to reserve 1 hour in advance in case you do not get a seat. (Though we didn't bother.) There are only 3 timings each day to go to Patong Beach: 11am, 2pm and 5pm. Return shuttle bus from Patong Beach are: 11.15am, 2.15pm and 5.15pm. This means that if you take the 5pm shuttle bus from hotel to Patong Beach, you will have to pay your own transport back. It costs 300 baht by Tuk Tuk. (200 baht if you bargain hard.) It's too long a way to walk back from Patong Beach.

AMENITIES
Here's a list of amenities in the hotel room:
32" Samsung LED TV which has media player support. (So you can plug in your USB hard disk to playback MP4 movies.)
1 DVD player.
2 complimentary bottles of mineral water every morning.
1 mini 0.5L water kettle.
1 bedside telephone with pencil and paper. (If you need to dial another room, dial 8 then followed by room number.)
1 mini fridge.
1 King size bed.
4 pillows (1 spare in closet).
1 work table with chair and table lamp and internet access point on wall.
1 small couch for 2 with a couple of couch pillows.
2 complimentary mangos.
1 non-digital weighing machine.
2 indoor cloth slippers.
2 outdoor rubber slippers.
1 balcony with small table and 2 chairs.
Complimentary standard instant coffee and Twinnings tea bags.
2 glass cups.
2 coffee cups with metal spoons.
2 Champaign glasses, 2 wine glasses and 2 beer glasses.
1 ice box. You can call front desk to request for ice.
1 bottle opener.
1 tissue box.
2 long umbrellas. (There are no sheltered walkways to my block when it rains.)
2 bath robes.
2 pool towels.
1 in-room digital safe for your valuables.
15 hangers of various types.
1 electric torchlight beside the bed.
1 liquid mosquito repellent which you plug into electricity socket. (We didn't have any bug problems during our stay though.)
Free 512kbps Wifi which was slow. You can pay 150 baht per day for faster 3Mbps connection.
Power plugs in Thailand are 2 round pins or 2 straight pins. But the hotel's power sockets are able to take a variety of plugs. If you really need a power adapter, you can request it from front desk.

Here are the things in the toilet:
1 bath tub.
2 bath towels.
2 facial towels.
2 hand towels.
1 bath salt and small loofah scrub.
1 bath gel.
1 shampoo.
1 conditioner.
1 Philips 1600W hair dryer.
1 pack of sewing kit.
1 pack of sanitary bag.
1 pack of cotton pad.
1 body lotion.
1 pack of razor set.
2 toothbrushes.
1 comb.
1 nail file.
1 tissue box.
Above head rain-type shower head with Hot and Cold water available.
2 glass cups for morning wash.

ENVIRONMENT
Kalima is relatively new as it only opened in late 2012. Facilities are still new and clean.

They have a (small but) exclusive sand beach, complete with beach chairs and a volleyball court. There is a pool nearby as well.

Gym facilities are quite good and available from 7am - 8pm.

Breakfast was average. Food wasn't piping warm, which is expected due to strong winds from the sea. If you choose to sit outside, hang on to your paper towels as the wind can get quite strong. The balcony in front of the restaurant offers an excellent panoramic view of Patong Beach.

The hotel has an "Infinity pool" where you can chill at the edge of the pool and take in the view of the beach. There is a poolside bar if you need a drink.

There is a mini golf course near the exclusive sand beach. I didn't try it but it looks pretty tough to me.

CUSTOMER SERVICE
The receptionist were polite and speaks basic English (though with Thai accents of course). Stick to basic English and you should be fine.

MISC
We arranged the hotel van to pick us from and to the airport. It costed 3000 baht total (1500 baht each way).

I feel that there is not enough place to hang clothes in the bathroom. The towel rack has only enough space for the bath towels. So bring your own laundry line if needed.

There is no glass door to close for the shower area. There is only a wooden sliding door to the whole toilet. I prefer to have a shower door to keep the heat in.

We encountered 2 power outage during our stay. It gets stuffy in the room because air conditioning is off and the toilet is dark. That's bad in my opinion. Apparently power outages are common in Patong and affects not just this hotel. This is no excuse though when the power outage takes longer than 3 hours to fix! (Now I know why they put a torchlight in every room!)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank XYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kathu
2.6 mi away
Avista Hideaway Phuket Patong, MGallery by Sofitel
16.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
4.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,932 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalima Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalima Resort & Spa

Property: Kalima Resort & Spa
Address: 338/1 Prabaramee Road | Patong Beach, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Kathu
#45 Luxury Hotel in Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kalima Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star luxurious contemporary resort nestled on a lush jungle-clad hillside. Home to some of the most beautiful beaches, Phuket island is a tropical haven blessed with perfect sea, sun, sand and liveliness. At Kalima Resort & Spa, located on the picturesque western coastline of Phuket with just minutes from the famous Patong beach, 190 exquisite contemporary architectural style rooms and villas welcome you along with 220-degree panoramic view of Patong bay and endless horizon of Andaman sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kalima Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalima Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing