We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and truly friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and truly friendly”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

When we booked Friendship Beach Resort we thought of being out of the overly busy Patong area, but still within Phuket, and right at the beach, which we got it all. The hotel is located in a very relaxing area of the island and right at the beach, so we could enjoy our delicious breakfast staring at the sea.

The pity is that the sea level goes down very quickly during the afternoon so there will only be the swimming pool left for a swim and gladly the pool was very nice!

Part of the resort is a wellness centre, where they offer detox packages and plenty of yoga and massage options.

The hotel restaurant is focused on healthy options but also with a wide variety of cuisines and to all tastes, simply delicious food and very very nice fresh juices, all prepared with love.

The staff was the highlight of our stay and made us feel very welcome besides being always very very helpful.

The hotel rooms (ours were the deluxe, if I'm not mistaken) were designed very nicely with a separate toilet room and the shower placed outdoors (my favorite!). A natural citronella mosquito repellent spray was part of the already very nice room amenities, which we thought was such a sweet gesture from the hotel to anticipate the needs of the guests.

Please bear in mind since the hotel is in the very south of Phuket, it will take about 1 hour drive to the main pier for the boat trips towards the touristic islands. We went one night to Patong to check the area and could also buy the tours for much cheaper price than whats offered in the hotel, basically because there are more options. All agencies will include pick up and drop off at the hotel, which is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brumieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs A, Manager at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Mirabru,
Thank you so much for your review and we are pleased to hear that you had a great time at Friendship Beach!
Sincerely, Urs - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    134
    46
    12
    11
See reviews for
85
161
108
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a great detox and relaxation trip. Eating delicious healthy salads and smoothies. It was our 3rd time to detox at Atmanjai. The Atmanjai staff are very helpful and friendly catering to all your needs. This time round, they had more variety of different levels of detox. Some are a milder version where you can eat salads and smoothies everyday and some are only smoothies and others are total cleanse. It's great to have yoga and massages everyday to help with the detox and relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpayne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs A, Manager at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review about Atmanjai!
Its nice to see that our team was able once again, to help you improve your health and well-being and we do look forward to welcoming you back again!
Sincerely, Urs - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

First time for detox. Hesitant at first about a few of the tasks but Michael and his team appeased me and everything went as planned. What a relief. The people at the centre are absolutely superb. They just want to help in a nice friendly way. Would do it again and recommend the detox at Atmanjai to anyone who's thinking of doing it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italiacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs A, Manager at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review!
We are certainly happy to hear that our team at Atmanai was able to improve your health and well-being!
All the best, Urs - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is located in a quieter area but not far away from the other resorts. .You will need a bike/transportThe hotel is pretty & the staff help with everything, from bike hire to advice on where to go etc.. The restaurants are much cheaper than where we stayed the previous week in Karon & the quality is just as good/better. It was also cheaper to book direct with the hotel which you can't do with some. They agreed to keep our baggage while we went to Phi Phi for no extra charge & despite us not returning to that hotel. The rooms are light & airy. Choose a top floor seaview room. Lovely atmos.

Room Tip: Seaview upstairs. Also take a copy of your passport/driving licence as the tourist police are corrup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenya25_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs A, Manager at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review and we are happy to hear that you had a great time at Friendship Beach and in Phuket!
Sincerely, Urs - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cimpulung arges
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is nice , I liked the pool scene near ocean. The ocean was very tricky :)) , it was disappearing daily . We did not swim in the ocean , is not possible. We took superior room , nice and clean and we eat few times in the restaurant.They have a great chef but big prices .The breakfast was a la carte, good quality but not enough.
What I did not like is the location...in the middle of nowhere, all trips needed taxi . I would not go back because of bad location.
We went to Rawai beach few times to eat there , where the fishermen come.You buy fish and across street there are restaurants , they cook for you at great price.You can even come with your wine. Great dinner ! Deserve a visit !!!

Room Tip: Apartment near pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs A, Manager at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Enia,
Thank you very much for your review.
As you point out correctly, swimming in the sea in front of the resort is not always possible as the tide goes out twice every 24 hours. This is the case for all resorts located on the East coast of Phuket island where swimming during low tide is not possible.
We agree with you that there are some great local seafood restaurants down in Rawai, which are well worth a visit if guests do not want to take all the meals at the hotel.
With kind regards, Urs - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Panwa, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I called in here for lunch a few days ago.It is a nice beach front resort but out of Rawai. Staying here you would require taxi's to go anywhere.Restaurant is beach front and very nice when the tide is in.Food we had garlic bread which was very greasy but loaded with garlic. I had fish and chips the chips were frozen and the batter on my fish was soggy.I would not rush to come back as much better options in Rawai.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs A, Manager at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Jenson,
Thank you very much for your review.
Apologies that the food was not up to your expectations and i will certainly discuss this with our Chef in order to make the necessary adjustments and improvements.
Sincerely, Urs - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Had a long and relaxed lunch here, watching the tide go out. Thai food excellent, but if you have gone a little bit 'local', there are international choices too, including bangers and mash (from a pub in the Lake District!). Great value cocktails and very friendly service, along with a lovely pool for residents and restaurant guests. Well worth a visit.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ranmoreboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs A, Manager at Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review and we do hope that you will visit us again soon!
With best regards, Urs - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
2.5 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.5 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
2.8 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
12.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
24.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre

Property: Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre
Address: 27/1 Soi Mittrapap | Friendship Beach, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Friendship Beach Resort & Spa by iCheck Inn)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#6 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#8 Family Hotel in Rawai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre is your very own private hideaway located on the south east coast of Phuket Island. Situated right on the beach, our comfortable 30 rooms and suites offer exceptional value in a stunning location and are just a stones throw from the resort's pool and secluded beach.The hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Chalong Bay and is the perfect location in which to explore the Andaman's famous archipelago of islands.Located on beautiful Chalong Bay.Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre has a spa and private beach and offers free Wi-Fi throughout. The 30 air-conditioned rooms feature a minibar, satellite TV and private hot shower and are just a short walk from the beach and boast a high ceiling, tile floor and Bali-style decor. All rooms at Friendship Beach Resort & Spa come with a fridge and a personal safe.Central Shopping Mall, Tesco Lotus Mall and the Home Pro Village Mall are a 10-minute drive from the hotel. It is a 25-minute drive from Patong Beach and a 45-minute drive from Phuket Airport. On-site parking is free. Atmanjai Wellness Centre offers spa treatments and detox programs, as well as oceanside yoga classes. Guests can lounge by the outdoor pool, enjoy the garden or unwind with a massage.The hotel's restaurant offers al fresco dining, serving up Thai and Western favourites. It is open daily from 07:00-22:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendship Beach Waterfront Hotel Rawai
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing