We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket
Nearby Hotels
The Vijitt Resort Phuket(Rawai)(Great Value!)
US$381
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rawai Palm Beach Resort(Rawai)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
THE NAI HARN(Nai Harn)(Great Value!)
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Oasis Boutique Hotel(Nai Harn)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Navatara Phuket Resort(Rawai)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunsuri Phuket(Nai Harn)(Great Value!)
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel(Rawai)(Great Value!)
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ya Nui Resort(Rawai)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Windmill Phuket Hotel(Nai Harn)(Great Value!)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,149)
Filter reviews
1,149 results
Traveller rating
689
324
77
31
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
689
324
77
31
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspenthouse suitesea viewtaxi standpool residenceour honeymoonliving roomchalong bayprivate poolhigh tidepatong beachfree upgradef bamazing hotelthe hotel offersdvd playertaxi servicesun loungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 1,149 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It's the worst place in whole thailand and very very dirty rooms with cockroach of 5 cm and big insects and very bad beach with no water, water is only at about 180 meters with very mudy beach and clay. Also I will update with picture from my room with cockroach and insect from my room.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dana198410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs A, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Dana,
Thank you for your review. It is always disturbing to learn from a guest that our resort has not lived up to someones expectations and we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at Serenity.

We do spray for insects and mosquitoes twice per week around the resort to avoid bugs entering guests rooms. Thailand is in a tropical climate however, and there is not absolute guarantee that an insect can still end up in a guest room on a very rare occasion despite all the measures taken.
We would have been more than pleased to change your accommodation during your stay if you would have taken the opportunity to talk to our team about it.
I am not able to find out in which room no. you stayed as you do not give your room no. in the review and your TA profile does not show your identity clearly.
Kindly contact me personally at gm@serenityphuket.com so that i can find out in which room you stayed and check the condition of said room by myself.

As for the beach, you are absolutely correct that its not possible to swim in the sea during low tide in front of our resort and this is mentioned twice on our website and on many TA reviews in this forum.
The entire East coast of Phuket island is faced with this natural occurance as the beach is very shallow and this is not something specific to our resort only.

We do, however, offer a free shuttle bus daily every morning to Nai Harn Beach for guests who wish to swim in the sea all day long. Nai Harn Beach is only 10 minutes away from the resort.

Once again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at Serenity and look forward to hearing from you via email.

Sincerely, Urs - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We booked 5 nights at the Serenity. We thought it was going to be a typical hotel. We were shown to our room and were a bit taken aback because compared to other hotels we had stayed at during our vacation, the room was not up to the standards we had become accustomed to. Mosquitos were flying around the room. There was no vent in the bathroom, so it was hot in there. The walls needed to be painted. Just looked like it needed some general routine maintenance. I went to the front desk to tell them about the mosquitos and was advised to use bug spray in the room and to plug in the mosquito zapper. I did that and also manually killed mosquitos. By the time we went to bed that night, it was better. The next morning, I was not happy and sent the general manager an e-mail and he responded immediately. He offered us an upgrade to a suite. I met him and he showed it to me. It was lovely and no mosquitos! We moved to the suite and from then on, everything was great. We thoroughly enjoyed our suite and truly appreciate the manager going above and beyond to make us happy. If you are expecting a typical hotel like a Sheraton or Hilton, be aware that this resort is not like that. The rooms do not open into an enclosed hallway. The resort is close to the jungle, hence the mosquitos! The best way to enjoy this resort is to book a suite. Be aware that some rooms/suites are privately owned and rented out. We really enjoyed the poolside covered patio with the ocean view. The breakfast buffet was great. The thai food was wonderful. The servers were very kind.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brown5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs A, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review and we apologize once again that the first standard room assigned to you was not according to your expectations.
We do spray regularly for mosquitoes but it can happen that some of them end up in a room. We therefore provide mosquito spray in all rooms just in case.
This is a tropical environment after all here in Phuket and Thailand.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated the solution offered to your problems with the accommodation and enjoyed your time with us.

Serenity is an upmarket boutique style resort and we do not aim to provide guests with the same commercial hotel environment as Hilton or Sheraton do for example.

Sincerely, Urs - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I went with two friends for two nights and we stayed in a beautiful two-bedroom suite. It was a wonderful change from our hostels and budget motels. Great views by the pool, great breakfast, good service (they gladly gave me a bowl of rice for my poor phone after it got wet), a huge bathtub (we don't have those in Korea), ridiculously comfortable bed in the master bedroom and comfy robes and slippers. Worth every penny. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs A, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Natalie,
Thanks so much for your nice review!
We are certainly happy to hear that you and your friends had a great time at Serenity!
With kind regards, Urs - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had booked a 2 bed/2 bath condo associated with this resort. Upon arriving for our 5 night/6 day stay (at 1am no less!) the night receptionist tried to get us to sign forms for 2 different reservations, although we only had one. We refused to sign both. After that, he wanted a credit card so that they can do an additional 2000 Baht charge PER night, 2100 Baht charge for some kind of "Welcome Kit" that we "supposedly" requested, AND they wanted 20,000 Baht deposit in CASH. Who carries around 20,000 Baht in cash? Certainty not us, nor were we willing to pay that since who knew if we would ever get that back. We were told that the 2100 Baht charge and the 2000 Baht daily charge was mandatory for some reason. The night receptionist and another lady that was there (supposedly to get the 20,000 Baht cash from us) were not helpful and put us in contact with a manager via phone - who wasn't really helpful either. Not being comfortable with continuing our reservation with the condo, we booked a separate room at this hotel - not relating to the condo. When I requested a room and asked how much it would be for 3 people in one room, the night receptionist starting laughing at me and then switched to his language and talked about us to the other lady with him. Not only that, it took him 30 min to get us the information. After telling him yes, we want the room and agreed on a price (1 room 3 people, plus an extra cot), he tried to charge us an additional 4000 Baht for who knows the reason. Upon getting to the room, he was like "oh, you don't need the extra bed do you?" Really dude? Yes, we asked for one and we paid for it too. Why would we not need it all of a sudden? We are 3 grown adults and do not plan on fitting on a king sized bed together. So he went begrudgingly to retrieve the cot. By the time this was all settled, it was about 3/330am. Needless to say, we stayed that one night and booked a hotel on Kata Beach which was 100% better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs A, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Christine,
Thank you for your review and we sincerely apologize for the inability of our night receptionist to deal with this unusual situation appropriately when it occured upon your check-in at 01.30h at night.

What you omit to mention in your review is, however, the following facts:

1. Serenity Resort & Residences was NOT involved in your booking at our resort and you rented the condominium directly from the apartment owner via a property agent in Phuket. All deposit agreements made where therefore between you and the condo owner/agent and NOT our hotel's deposit policy.
To imply that Serenity Resort & Residences is ripping-off customers with deposits is therefore false, not true and incorrect.
We do NOT ask for cash deposits on check-in. We merely ask for a credit card swipe on check-in for our hotel guests, which is in line with other hotel's around the world.

2. A senior member of our management team was available to talk to you the following morning and re-explained you once again in details that your reservation at Serenity was not between yourself and the hotel but between yourself and the condo owner/agent and we therefore had not influence on deposits that were asked from you prior to check-in.
The same member of our management team also assisted you with trying to contact the condo owner and the property agent to no avail as none of them answered the phone to sort this out for you.

3. My personal contact details were given to another member of your party and your friend wrote me a long email the following day, raising the same concerns. I then personally took the time to re-explain our own deposit policy once again via email to your friend. Regrettably, I never received an answer to my email sent to your friend, so until this date, I am still not sure if you fully understand the nature of the problem with the deposit.

Once again, we sincerely apologize that our night receptionist was not able to deal with the situation appropriately and might have come across as unhelpful and i will address this issue with our front office manager.

We do, however, strongly reject any accusations that we are trying to rip-off guests with deposits.

Sincerely, Urs Aebi - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Loved Serenity Resort in Phuket so much we planned to return next week. The pool and surrounding area is gorgeous, poolside service is fantastic, drinks are to die for. The room we had was huge with double sinks, bath and shower plus outdoor sitting area. The breakfast by the pool was lovely, fresh sea breeze to start the day with a beautiful view. And a treat to have freshly made lattes at your request. Food in the restaurant was great and the room service we had was equally as tasty and beautifully presented. The beach is not for swimming but they have a shuttle to take you to a lovely swimming beach if you wish. Everyone has a smile for you at Serenity, very nice place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JATOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs A, General Manager at Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you so much for your nice review and i will certainly pass on your compliments to our team!
Looking forward to welcoming you back again, we remain,
With best regards, Urs - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews