We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and good pool”
Review of Phuket Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phuket Sea Resort
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Rawai
Christchurch
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good value and good pool”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this place and loved the fact it was across the road from the beach (working beach rather than a swimming beach) and the pool was right outside our room door. We used the pool a lot as it was very hot at the time and we had 2 loungers and chairs outside our room as well. The rooms are basic but clean. The bed was clean but a little hard for us. The TV worked well. There was no coffee making facilties or hairdryer but it was excellent value for money at 1000b a night walk in rate or 1200B if you had breakfast. It was a pretty popular place even though it was the low season and about half full with a wide variety of nationalities staying there.The photos on the website are about right but we found the grounds a little more untidy than the pics but the pool was very clean and warm.The only issue we had was with breakfast which on day 2 was not covered up and was therefore covered in bugs etc. We ate out after that. The price in the minibar was very good at 40B or 50b for a can of beer, only a few baht more than buying it at the 7/11 (which was just next door along with an atm). There was free internet in reception which was really good. On Friday and Saturday night the bar next door played some loud music into the early hours which was a bit annoying but we were tired so slept reasonably well anyway. We needed some help on the phone with our Airline and the guy at reception helped us with this.
We ate at Nikitas and Salaloy - both excellent and just across the road. A Thai meal for 2 was around 400B with drinks and a tip.The Chocolate Bar just down the road was good for breakfast and you could get 2 eggs on toast for 60b.
We had 2 fabulous nights out (Friday and Saturday) at the Sunshine Bar 200m down the road. If you are in Rawai do visit this place, it was the most fun we had in ages. Be there at 8pm and expect to dance and sing the night away and be made to feel very welcome. The expats go there and we enjoyed meeting a wide range of people.
Rawai has a very different feel to Patong and we really enjoyed our 4 days there, it is very quiet and laid back but really nice for 2 to 3 nights.
Thanks to Cathy and Gary (destination experts) for recommending this place

We are a couple in our late 40s.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HughesChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    24
    16
    9
    8
See reviews for
15
36
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
417 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 582 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Maalai Resort and for us it was all about the location. We had a big function to go to so the hotel was walking distance so no need for transport for us. The walk in rate was 1000baht with breakfast and we were in a pool access room.

The rooms are a good size and spotlessly clean, the fridge is big, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom is a good size with great water pressure!

This resort is in 2 sections each with a pool running the length of the buildings and both sections are identical.
There is a lovely pool bar and all the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Outside the hotel you are surrounded by good restaurants, there is a pharmacy, minimart, atms etc all within 30 seconds walk. The hotel also has a large onsite parking area.
We will definitely stay here again for a few days next year.

The only little complaint I would have is if you stay here when it is busy, there is no privacy in the rooms opposite the pools as you can see straight into the rooms on the other side, also if there are a lot of people in the pool they can see into your room. The sliding doors/windows are not tinted so if you don’t want everyone seeing you in your room the curtains need to be closed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Absolutely perfect for short getaways, staff very friendly. Can think of only 1 con: proximity to beach activities.

One more plus being it is located away from crazy Patong beach!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomader07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I really liked this place. Their out of season deal - 1000 baht including a really good breakfast - is great value for Phuket. Beautifully designed, high quality spec. It feels like somewhere to have a splurge but without actually spending much. The service is great - the receptionist (Han) was especially helpful. Rawai is a lovely place to hang out for a while, well away from the hordes. The restaurant opposite (Nikitas) does great food. . The beach isn't for swimming in, as it's a living and working fishing village. But the hotel has two great pools. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodolfoconejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rawai hotels
0.1 mi away
Thai Palace Resort
Thai Palace Resort
#13 of 42 in Rawai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Title Condo by TropicLook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Miracle House
Miracle House
#18 of 42 in Rawai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rawai Grand House
Rawai Grand House
#25 of 42 in Rawai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palm Oasis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Sea Resort

Property: Phuket Sea Resort
Address: 54/14 Moo 6 Rawai Beach, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Maalai Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuket Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the hectic city life and discover an ultimate privacy at Phuket Sea Resort. The recently opened Phuket Sea Resort offers stylish accommodations on the tranquil Rawai Beach, an earliest beach resort for the Phuket locals. The resort is just 10 minutes drive to Phromthep Cape, a famous landmark of Phuket for viewing a spectacular sunset. Situated on the beach front, Phuket Sea Resort commands the vista of the sunrise. You can also stroll along the pine-trees lining beach where fishing boats are berthed and observe the locals' daily life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phuket Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maalai Hotel Rawai
Phuket Sea Resort Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing