We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Rawai”
Review of Phuket Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phuket Sea Resort
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We spend 6 nights in the resort and had a very good time. The room is clean and with a lot of space. Breakfast is good and for additional service the restaurant provide excellent food as well. You are close to the working beach as most of the day tours to the nearby Islands start here. This is a big plus as you just 5 min walk away from the water taxis. For other beaches you can use the Hotel shuttle service. The area is full of local restaurants and you can get the best and fresh seafood you could wish for under 500 Baht. For transport I recommend you rent a scooter or a car form the Airport. This is around 1200 Baht a day for a car and 250 for a scooter. Airport transfer cost maximum of a 1000 Baht. The staff is friendly and very helpful. I can really recommend this place for short or long stay. The only comment is that the free wifi cannot be received in all the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jetstreamdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Phuket Sea Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

We found this place by accident and were so pleased with the welcome we received from the staff and manager. They went out of their way to make our stay most pleasant.
We had to change rooms at one point, because the a/c stopped working. The first room was comfortable, not as clean as I prefer, but bedding, towels etc were clean. The 2nd room was immaculate. The pools are beautiful and we spent a lot of time there. Breakfast was delicious and in a spot. The staff were so helpful. The manager went out of his way to make us feel welcome and offer suggestions about the area. He personally picked us up and took us to a beach and gave us a later check out so we could enjoy the beach a bit longer. We had lots of questions about the area and doing the things we wanted to do and they were great. We had drinks at the pool bar and the bartenders were friendly and efficient and the prices were reasonable. We really liked it here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelle111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I went there last year with my partner, we stay at Maalai as we were recommended by a friend. The staff were very friendly, customer service was excellent, the food in the restaurant was also very nice and very fresh. With the price that I pay, it was valued for money. I will definitely go back there again when I go to Phuket next time.

Gayle

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at Maalai Resort as Rawai Beach is a favorite getaway for us from Patong. The hotel is such good value only 1200baht with breakfast during low season and we love the location so this time we stayed for 3 nights.

Maalai Resort is straight over the road from the beach and surrounded by a lot of good restaurants. The rooms are a good size with a big fridge and the bathroom is spacious with great water pressure. But what makes this place so good is all the rooms are only a couple of meters from the huge swimming pools. There are also plenty of sun loungers, the way the rooms are set up each room has 2 sun loungers and 2 outside chairs plus a small table. The pool bar is excellent & very cheap for drinks and cocktails.

Breakfast can be a bit hit and miss, nothing to rave about but once again there are restaurants a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. Staff are lovely & very helpful. Will be back for a few days again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

good atmosphere , good place , good service , greatest swimmingpool , The locate is very near the signature such as Pormpthep Cape , Naiharn Beach(one of the most beautiful beach in Phuket) only 5min by scooter from hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jnyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this place and loved the fact it was across the road from the beach (working beach rather than a swimming beach) and the pool was right outside our room door. We used the pool a lot as it was very hot at the time and we had 2 loungers and chairs outside our room as well. The rooms are basic but clean. The bed was clean but a little hard for us. The TV worked well. There was no coffee making facilties or hairdryer but it was excellent value for money at 1000b a night walk in rate or 1200B if you had breakfast. It was a pretty popular place even though it was the low season and about half full with a wide variety of nationalities staying there.The photos on the website are about right but we found the grounds a little more untidy than the pics but the pool was very clean and warm.The only issue we had was with breakfast which on day 2 was not covered up and was therefore covered in bugs etc. We ate out after that. The price in the minibar was very good at 40B or 50b for a can of beer, only a few baht more than buying it at the 7/11 (which was just next door along with an atm). There was free internet in reception which was really good. On Friday and Saturday night the bar next door played some loud music into the early hours which was a bit annoying but we were tired so slept reasonably well anyway. We needed some help on the phone with our Airline and the guy at reception helped us with this.
We ate at Nikitas and Salaloy - both excellent and just across the road. A Thai meal for 2 was around 400B with drinks and a tip.The Chocolate Bar just down the road was good for breakfast and you could get 2 eggs on toast for 60b.
We had 2 fabulous nights out (Friday and Saturday) at the Sunshine Bar 200m down the road. If you are in Rawai do visit this place, it was the most fun we had in ages. Be there at 8pm and expect to dance and sing the night away and be made to feel very welcome. The expats go there and we enjoyed meeting a wide range of people.
Rawai has a very different feel to Patong and we really enjoyed our 4 days there, it is very quiet and laid back but really nice for 2 to 3 nights.
Thanks to Cathy and Gary (destination experts) for recommending this place

We are a couple in our late 40s.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HughesChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Maalai Resort and for us it was all about the location. We had a big function to go to so the hotel was walking distance so no need for transport for us. The walk in rate was 1000baht with breakfast and we were in a pool access room.

The rooms are a good size and spotlessly clean, the fridge is big, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom is a good size with great water pressure!

This resort is in 2 sections each with a pool running the length of the buildings and both sections are identical.
There is a lovely pool bar and all the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Outside the hotel you are surrounded by good restaurants, there is a pharmacy, minimart, atms etc all within 30 seconds walk. The hotel also has a large onsite parking area.
We will definitely stay here again for a few days next year.

The only little complaint I would have is if you stay here when it is busy, there is no privacy in the rooms opposite the pools as you can see straight into the rooms on the other side, also if there are a lot of people in the pool they can see into your room. The sliding doors/windows are not tinted so if you don’t want everyone seeing you in your room the curtains need to be closed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rawai hotels
1.0 mi away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Title Condo by TropicLook
0.5 mi away
Rawai Palm Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rawai Grand House
Rawai Grand House
#27 of 43 in Rawai
35 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palm Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Monaburi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Sea Resort

Address: 54/14 Moo 6 Rawai Beach, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand (Formerly Maalai Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
Price Range: £20 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuket Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the hectic city life and discover an ultimate privacy at Phuket Sea Resort. The recently opened Phuket Sea Resort offers stylish accommodations on the tranquil Rawai Beach, an earliest beach resort for the Phuket locals. The resort is just 10 minutes drive to Phromthep Cape, a famous landmark of Phuket for viewing a spectacular sunset. Situated on the beach front, Phuket Sea Resort commands the vista of the sunrise. You can also stroll along the pine-trees lining beach where fishing boats are berthed and observe the locals' daily life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phuket Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maalai Hotel Rawai
Phuket Sea Resort Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing