We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rawai Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks.
The only reasons why I do not provide a 5 star review is because the Wi-Fi service was many times unstable due to many people connecting at once and because the beverages were being a over the market price, especially since they have a sign in the rooms specifying that they charge prices similar to those of the supermarkets, which they do not.
The rest of the experience was excellent. The staff is wonderful and the ambience is very relaxing.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

I will start with the bad. DO NOT UPGRADE to a room with pool view access. It's a complete waste of money because come 11.30 am your sun loungers are in complete shade and you will have to go to the pool to sunbathe! Whoever was the architect needs shooting!! Also check in meant to be 2pm but we weren't allowed to our room until 3.30pm which is a joke.
Now the good. The room itself was fantastic. Really spacious, good layout and cheap mini-bar which is always nice:-) breakfast is also very good with lots of choice and the staff are lovely. So to sum up, definitely stay here but don't waste your money upgrading rooms and try to arrive after 2 so you are or waiting around to get yo your room!

Room Tip: DONT UPGRADE to pool access room as you will end up by the main pool to sunbathe anyway by 11.30am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and had a lovely stay. This was a return trip to Phuket after 7 years and found it so much busier and developed, so staying at Rawai was perfect for some peace and quiet. As said, Rawai beach is not one to sit and relax on, but the hotel runs a shuttle to both Nai Harm and Yu Nui beaches a few time each day for the white sand and rows of sun-loungers. However we didn't really like either beach as they were too crowded. But Rawai and the street all the way down to the pier had lots of places to eat and drink. Make sure you go for the entertainment at the Sunshine bar - it goes off and we had an awesome night.
The hotel was lovely with gorgeous pools and layout. Some reviews talk of hundreds of stairs, and yes, there are a few especially if you're in the furthermost building, so maybe not the best if you have mobility issues. But really, its not an issue. The staff were all lovely and helpful. Breakfast was good with lots of western and Asian choices. One morning there was a large tour group which made it a bit hectic, but otherwise it was very good.
The room was huge! Sure, walking in to see the bath was a little weird at first, but the layout makes sense. The bed was also huge and rock hard but OK. The shower was great but they could do with new towels.
We totally enjoyed our stay and would certainly return if we return to Phuket again.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception have less stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Rawai Palm Beach Resort as part of our Honeymoon to Thailand. We had a wonderful time. We stayed in a Deluxe Room on the top floor, which had a view of the sea and was very private and quiet - and very big. We were made to feel welcome by all the staff, who were all helpful and friendly.

Rooms - The rooms were cleaned daily - and the sheets changed every other day - which was fine. One thing I must add to the previous review by Moccy60 is that the lights by the bed in our room turned off just fine without taking the key card out - so our power and air con ran all night. So that issue would not be the norm. The shower and bath were fab too! Overall the rooms are in great condition and feel fresh, new and clean.

Pool - The highlight of the hotel is the wonderful pool area, which was never over crowded; at times we had the pool to ourselves. There was also no issue getting a lounger. The swim up bar is great too.

Beach - As many reviewers have pointed out it is not right on the beach and Rawai Beach is a fishing beach but still lovely to walk along - a trip to the pier at sunset is definitely worth it. The hotel runs a shuttle service to nearby beaches - this literally takes a few moments, the nearest being Nai Harn and Ya nui. Both are lovely beaches - Nai Harn is bigger with more eateries etc, but our favourite was Ya nui. It is small and quiet with crystal clear waters. At both beaches you can hire chairs and an umbrella for 200baht. At Ya nui you MUST hire a snorkel (100baht an hour) - there are some beautiful fish by the rocks.

Food - We enjoyed having breakfast and some lunches in the hotel - we tended to eat out at night as we like to sample local eateries. We would totally recommend Nikitas in the town for dinner and drinks. The food was fantastic. They do great Thai food and the Italian food was equally as good, with a wood fire oven resulting in amazing pizzas!

Trips - The staff at the hotel were very helpful with booking taxis and advice etc. We hired a cab for few hours one day and went to various locations around the island and the price was very reasonable and the driver was great - taking us to other locations he suggested (all included in the price). We booked a trip to James Bond island, which was worth it for the canoe trip alone, but the rest of the time we did our own thing - which is def easy enough to do.

Spa/Massage - can totally recommend a pool side Thai massage - but wait til the area is more shady - it was around 4pm in late Feb/March!

We really enjoyed our stay and the local area. We visited Kata Beach and Patong and were pleased to be staying in such a peaceful area!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victorianomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed in a swim-up room, which was definetly worth the little bit extra. Very quiet and relaxing stay, with the little township a short walk away. Rooms are lovely, although the cleaning throughout our stay was a bit hit and miss! some days excellent, others a bit haphazard!! Breakfast each morning was excellent, with many and varied choices. The girls on the front desk barely speak English, which made it very hard when trying to either book activities, or find local knowledge. The taxi drivers, however, were really cheerful and very knowledgable. We had one evening meal at the hotel, and I must say, it was VERY average! I would suggest, not eating here!Overall, we had a nice stay, but we did hire a scooter and went touring around the island, and to the swimming beaches ( Rawai is a fishing village ) which was far better than staying at the hotel.Would I recommend this hotel? Would depend on who you were, and what you were looking for! The other thing I must mention, is that to turn the lights off above the bed, you had to remove the key-card, which then switched everything, including the air-conditioner, off! Some nights were very hot, and the room became stuffy. It also did not allow you to charge your mobile overnight, and that in itself is another problem, as the wattage is very low.

Room Tip: Make sure to book the swim-up rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moccy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I'll start with the good.....

The rooms themselves are very nice, spacious, reasonably clean and modern with basic amenities. The hotel grounds themselves are lovely, great split level pool, lots of sun lounges and pool access points. There is also a great kids pool with a sandy beach area, shallow water and shaded pavilion for parents to watch the little ones.

And now for the bad…..

Unfortunately it's the front of house staff that ruin this place. Out of all the places I've been in Thailand, the staff here are the most unfriendly and unhelpful I've come across. Most spend all day playing with their mobile phones, and when you ask for something, you are made to feel like you are interrupting whatever they are so busily doing. This is especially the case at the pool bar and pool deck cafe. For an internationally advertised hotel, the level of English of the front of house staff was utterly ridiculous, communicating about anything from asking for a taxi to ordering a beer is multitudes more difficult than it needs to be. All this being said, the back of house staff - cleaners, drivers etc were very friendly, helpful and attentive.

The breakfast buffet is just on average, with a moderate selection of low quality foods on offer. The dinner served at the restaurant is an example of how bad food can be made even worse. We ordered a Thai Curry and crumbed chicken. The meat in both dishes was tough and stringy and the accompaniments were the kind of low quality food stuffs you would expect to find in the cheap section of a supermarket.

Rawai itself is not bad - the standard mix of expat / thai bars and seafood BBQ's. The beach itself is not one that you would want to spend time on - very dirty and covered with trash. The hotel does offer a free shuttle bus to and from some other nicer beaches which is a good touch and a reccomended activity.

If you have kids and my gripes seem like the kinds of things that don't bother you then this resort has the potential to be a winner for you. That said there are lots of other, better places to stay on Phuket IMHO.

Room Tip: Go for a pool access room at the begining of the second block. Quieter pool, better sun outside your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asianexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Rawai for 11 nights. Rawai is very quiet and we knew this before we booked. We had a family room (room 1508). Room was very big and we had no issues with it. Wifi signal was good if we used internet on the balcony of the room. Breakfast was excellent and had a good variety. Also they would change the dishes everyday. There are many good restaurants and massage places near the hotel along Rawai beach. The restaurants are much cheaper than patong. We would use a taxi and go patong most evenings. It costs around 500-700 baht one way but since there was 4 of us, the cost wasn't an issue.
Overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel if you want a quiet holiday. Also we booked excursions from patong as it was cheaper however the excursions booked from the hotel are of better quality. I never had the chance to compare the 2 but excursions to similan island and phi phi island is a must. Also elephant trekking and rafting is great fun

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hasan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
0.2 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
1.7 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
1.4 mi away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunsuri Phuket
Sunsuri Phuket
#2 of 6 in Nai Harn
911 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,204 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Windmill Phuket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawai Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawai Palm Beach Resort

Address: 66/2 Viset Road, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#8 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range: £49 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rawai Palm Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is situated in a tranquil south west coast of Phuket- Rawai Beach. A four star resort featuring exquisite contemporary Thai decor and luxurious accommodation. Resort harmoniously surrounded by a selected enviropment & tranquil tropical garden. A short walking distance 200 meters from Rawai Beach, 5 minutes drives from Promthep Cape and 50 minutes from Phuket International Airport. Resort features a full service spa, 2 restaurant and 3 tier large free form swimming pool with pool up bar, a well-equipped fitness centre and beatiful landscape. Resort consists of 196 guest rooms. each spacious guestroom is elegantly decorated and furnished with high standard amenities, private balconies, ample seating area and luxurious bathrooms, designed for a relaxing and luxurious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Rawai Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawai Palm Beach Hotel Rawai
Rawai Palm Beach Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing