We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good, the bad and the ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rawai Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Rawai
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the ugly”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

There are positives and negatives to staying at this resort. Let's start with the negatives:
1. Cleanliness is average. My room could have done with a proper clean, there were stains on the walls and the floors don't appear to get vacuumed, just swept. The furniture has wear and tear and some things just didn't work as they should have, eg. the small shower head didn't stay on, the clothes rack was broken, the handles came off the cupboard doors.
2. Common areas such as the stairwells were equally dirty with hair, litter and crap in most crevices.
3. Toiletries aren't great and it's a bit hit or miss if they get replenished.
4. Linen and towels are fairly worn but seem reasonably laundered.
5. Staff do not smile or speak fluent English. You have to smile at them first to get a smile back, strange as I don't remember Thailand being this way, so perhaps it is just the resort.
6. Front office staff attempted to talk me out of booking the free shuttle to Ya Nui beach one day, stating that Nai Harn was better. It's a matter of they do two daily shuttle trips to Nai Harn and various to Ya Nui so they couldn't be bothered. When I insisted, they did take me and as it turned out Ya Nui is far better than Nai Harn. Good news is that it's a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel so I opted to walk the other times I went there because having an argument about the shuttle was just not worth my time.
7. Room service food is fairly ordinary and it can be a challenge at times to communicate with the room service staff as their English is minimal.
8. Breakfast is repetitive and the section where you order eggs and hot food is like a takeaway/ cafeteria. Very no frills for a 4 star hotel. I was here 11 nights and could not look at the breakfast food half way through the stay as it was the same old, same old.
9. WiFi in the rooms is painfully slow. Try using it near the pool restaurant and on your balcony. It's virtually impossible to do much on the internet at times in your room.
10. Sun beds are a bit limited and the mattresses on the sun beds don't look very clean.
11. If you attempt to book an airport transfer through the hotel you will be asked to send them a copy of your credit card and your signature as they use a third party for the transfers. I used phuketshuttle.com as you can pay them in cash and there is no upfront payment. Cost is 850 Baht.
12. I was not given a late check out when I asked for one. The excuse I got was that they were fully booked. When I looked at various accommodation booking websites there was plenty of rooms available at the hotel for the extra night, so front office staff are apparently happy to lie to guests and not facilitate much if it doesn't suit them. Whilst I can appreciate that the housekeeping staff finish cleaning the rooms at a certain hour I don't appreciate being lied to. They did give me a fresh towel so I could shower before my late night flight but if you take that option you have to shower in the public toilets and there is no air conditioning in those toilets, meaning as soon as you step out of the shower you start sweating like a pig which makes getting dressed and ready rather uncomfortable. This left a sour taste in my mouth at check out especially as I stayed at the resort for 11 nights.

The good:
1. The resort is reasonably quiet and comfortable
2. Beds in the deluxe room are big
3. Deluxe rooms are big
4.Block out curtains are good
5.Pools and grounds are nice
6.They have lifts if you don't want to take the stairs
7.Close to shops, restaurants and laundry
8. Two free bottles of water per day in room
9. There is a great little bar/ restaurant called the Coconut bar about 100 meters up the road
10. Kims massage is about a 5 minute walk away and they do cheap massages/ reflexology
11. It's a 15 minute walk away from Ya Nui beach
12. They offer two free return shuttle trips during the week to Kata beach, these run on Tuesday and Friday nights

Would I stay here again? No I wouldn't. But for the money this resort isn't bad. It is in Rawai, which is very sleepy and does not have a swimming beach, so please consider that before you stay. If you have transportation or don't mind staying somewhere very quiet than it's good. If you want more restaurant/ bar/ shopping choices stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you want ocean glimpses stay on level 5 in a Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    240
    102
    34
    21
See reviews for
137
304
28
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

From arrival the staff were friendly and helpful. The resort was clean and well kept with staff always cleaning. The pool access rooms were spacious, comfortable and well furnished and so were the deluxe pool view rooms. Food was delicious and well priced. Service was prompt and helpful. Resort located near the main street of restaraunts and general store with beach and long boats opposite.

Room Tip: Deluxe Pool access room was great for a late night cool down in your own little secluded pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed 11 nights at this hotel, and from the point of view of the hotel, was exactly what they say it is. Rooms are large, clean, the bathroom is also very important to me and I can say I'm not disappointed. Towels and bathroom supplies were changed daily. The air conditioning works fine. At check-in, I received 3 user id with passwords for internet for 7 days.(because we were 3 people in the room). After that you have to ask again if you stay more than a week. The internet connection and the staff understanding of English would be the only thing that I would say that needs improvement. Another problem was the transfer airport-hotel-airport (I did book through Hotels.com) and was the first hotel to answer that for that I must talk with the company that I booked with. Especially cause it's a paid service. Not cool, all this bureaucracy. As in it's location, do not recommend the resort. There is absolutely nothing to do there. Yes, the hotel provides transportation to 3 beaches, one of which is only two days/week and it's in the evening for shopping and walking. Rather recommend their hotel in Kata Beach. Many other stuff to do there. Overall, the hotel is very nice, friendly staff and good food. So, if you plan to rent a car, this location is perfect, otherwise, I would choose their Kata Beach for sure.

Room Tip: If you wish to have direct access to the pool ask for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana-MariaS_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here with boyfriend and a group of friends and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were upgraded to one of the ground floor rooms which had a beautiful little pool connecting onto the main pool - really impressive. Rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. The restaurant was really impressive, excellent value with a great selection of mains - we ate there an awful lot!! We also took a cooking class with one of their chefs which was really enjoyable. Only downside was its a bit away from the beach and there aren't that many shuttles available

Room Tip: Definitely get the ground floor rooms that connect to the pool - unless you have young kids as would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grainne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The location is just perfect to calm down, everything you need is near but if you want privacy and relaxation that will work out too. Rooms are HUGE and nicely furnished, poolarea is quiet and beautiful.

Room Tip: Block B, floors 4 and 5 have seawiew and are close to restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rrramses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The Resort was beautiful. It was a fair distance from all the tourist stuff so be prepared to pay lots of taxi fare everywhere. It was quiet when we went do the resort pool was all ours for a lot if the time which was awesome. The pool is amazing and great for kids. I think this resort suits families who are not looking for night life. There's nothing around the area. Although we did find a great restaurant called Mandos on the main strip near the beach, great food and excellent selection. The only downside was I had to pay 1000 baht because my child dirtied the sheet. If I'd known I'd have cleaned it myself before the cleaners came. So beware of the extra charges for housekeeping. Other than that it was great.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Adelaide2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. Room was clean, but the room was a little damp. We booked the pool access room, which was nice to step in to after a busy day walking around. The bed was a little hard, but I find most beds in Thai hotels are.
Staff was friendly, breakfast was average, pool a little dirty, just scummy on the edge but it is a beautiful pool. Pool has a swim up bar, but lacked atmosphere. The bar lady looked like she was going to fall asleep.
Only average, but I would stay again, as it is a new hotel and it is clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
0.2 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.6 mi away
Thai Palace Resort
Thai Palace Resort
#13 of 42 in Rawai
114 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunsuri Phuket
Sunsuri Phuket
#2 of 6 in Nai Harn
837 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#23 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,141 reviews
1.4 mi away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawai Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawai Palm Beach Resort

Property: Rawai Palm Beach Resort
Address: 66/2 Viset Road, Rawai, Phuket 83130 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#6 Family Hotel in Rawai
#7 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rawai Palm Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is situated in a tranquil south west coast of Phuket- Rawai Beach. A four star resort featuring exquisite contemporary Thai decor and luxurious accommodation. Resort harmoniously surrounded by a selected enviropment & tranquil tropical garden. A short walking distance 200 meters from Rawai Beach, 5 minutes drives from Promthep Cape and 50 minutes from Phuket International Airport. Resort features a full service spa, 2 restaurant and 3 tier large free form swimming pool with pool up bar, a well-equipped fitness centre and beatiful landscape. Resort consists of 196 guest rooms. each spacious guestroom is elegantly decorated and furnished with high standard amenities, private balconies, ample seating area and luxurious bathrooms, designed for a relaxing and luxurious retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rawai Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawai Palm Beach Hotel Rawai
Rawai Palm Beach Resort Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing