We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beach side dinning nearly”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Rimhad Seafood

Rimhad Seafood
Ranked #179 of 229 Restaurants in Rawai
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beach side dinning nearly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Rawai beach has about 10 of these Thai seafood restaurants on the other side of the road on the beach. We walked past these places and especialy Rim had, the one day we did decide to try because it was recomended on trip advisor we where shocked at the days old sea food sitting on the bbq. we just ate Thai fried rice and had some beers and soft drinks. Not a great experiance and not recomended unless you have a cast oron stomach.
please do not look at the kitchen as you are in for a shock.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Lovely location, poor communication”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Another lovely (almost waterside) restaurant in Rawai with outdoor seating under the Casurina trees - unfortunately spoilt by the very poor communication skills of the staff. After making it clear (we thought) that we wanted a mild curry neither my husband nor I could eat our food it was SO UNBELIEVABLY HOT. We don't expect local staff to speak every tourist's language fluently but surely a system of indicating 'spiciness' using pictures - one, two , three or four chillies wouldn't be too hard to incorporate into menus. Other tourists appeared to be enjoying their meals but the service we received (apart from the language issue) was below par - and we didn't return. To be fair, this could be a good restaurant but make sure you get your message across if you don't like it HOT !

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank EricaDimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Food: 7 out of 10, Service - undercooked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

You could forgive it being a bit of a dump - sorry, a 'simple, authentic place', if the food was great and the service good. When you only have four guests for lunch, how hard can it be to remember to bring everything they wanted? I hate having to ask where the missing dish we ordered has got to. 'Oh sorry, we forgot it' is just lame if you ask me. These were the comments: Foreign person: The first Thai dish was excellent, the second bland. Two Thai people: Food average at average price. My fish was OK but I have had better in the area. All-in-all: worth a try, at least it is not a tourist rip-off. If I suggest in three weeks time that we all go there again, what will be the reaction? I suspect it will be, 'Could do, but let's try somewhere else.'

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1000000Rosscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Execllent authentic Thai food with local specialities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

My girlfriend and I checked the previous reviews and decided to give it a try. The first impression is exactly what other reviews depicted that its a small, simple, and down to the earth family run restaurant. If you wants anything fancy and swanky this is a place a millions miles away from your expectation. However if you are up for adventure for local food in a restaurant local people would go, this is 100% right place to go.

We chose to sit outside on mats and low stable to enjoy our orders. The feeling is very cool and very close to what we want to get in Phuket after sampling a string of luxury restaurants.

In terms of the cookig, it's wonderfully done so that we cannot resist to order more than what we can usually eat.

Dishes recommendations are grilled shrimps, streamed snappers, grilled chicken leg and lobsters. All the dishes are very affordable.

Definitely would return again during our trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xuke0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, far from the crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My partner and I very much enjoyed this authentic place in the tranquil south of Phuket. The restaurant is directly located at the seafront of Rawai. All our dishes were excellent (som tam salat, tom yam soup with seafood, grilled king prawns, and a grilled whole snapper) and the service was fine. It’s great for anyone who seeks a breakout from the busy tourist towns on the West coast.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drchristophb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rimhad Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Rimhad Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing