We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bungalow!”
Review of Thai Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thai Palace Resort
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My review is in regard to the bungalow and the grounds. I don't have any experience with the regular rooms.

Overall, I thought this was a great little place and somewhat unexpected. It was a great price and my Thai friend found it for me so I trusted it. I had one of the little bungalows of which there are about 6. They are arrayed in a gorgeous little jungle courtyard with a nice pool. The room was a bit spartan with a hard bed but had everything necessary.

The hotel is right off of the main street of Rawai beach and is extremely convenient to walk to many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kabrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a bungalow for 2 nights en route to Ko Lanta (after an amazing boat trip with Khao Lak Scuba Adventure). Very happy with Thai Palace! It's nice and small, and hasn't been too busy during our stay. The bungalows are along one side of the lush garden pool area. It's really beautiful and well tended. The pool is very clean and perfect to relax around. The bungalows are lovely, very comfortable bed, and all the basics we needed. Friendly staff, helpful in getting our ferry tickets booked. Didn't try breakfast but the restaurant does look good. Very good value for money and would recommend Thai Palace Resort. Rawai itself is not particularly incredible, nor a place we'd hang around in for too long, but there are some nice enough places to eat, long boats available for day trips to the nearby Islands, and a short taxi ride will get you to some very beautiful beaches nearby (to places where you would need to shell out more money for the same standard of accommodation).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AndyMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is the second time i have stayed here and both times i have been equally impressed.
The location is second to none in Rawai easily within walking distance to both bars and restaurants.
i stayed in one of the bungalows around the beautiful pool area and couldn't find fault at all.
All the staff were competent ,helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: the bungalows around the pool are worth the little extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaypat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This place was good location & lovely gardens/wildlife...we stayed in the villas which were old and smelly and in need of lots of TLC the bed were as hard as a rock..everything old and dingy..and our room had some really big cockroaches (I think i brought one home in my suitcase) i didnt realize until the next morning after sleeping in the bed the sheets were cover in black hair....yuck....not ours...the pool was smelly & green not really suitable for swimming but i was desperate to cool down so i just didnt put my head under....staff we ok but not really the best didnt seem like they enjoyed their jobs, breakfast was ok not a lot of choice it was food, i think if you book here I would advise you check the rooms first, and especially the bed..

Room Tip: check rooms before you check in!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deb f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Nice pool. Good location if you like bars. The near beach is unswimmable. The waitresses in the hotel's restaurant are great. Price is reasonable. The food nearby is okay to pretty good but the prices are very high compared to the real, non touristic Thailand. All in all, I'd say if you want to be with other Europeans and avoid much contact with Thais this is a fine place to stay, but that speaks pretty much to the entire island of Phuket.

Room Tip: Seems to be not much difference between the standard room and the delux room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurtinhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We just spent 7 nights here in May- a little hot but thank goodness for the fantastic pool outside our door. Originally given a room upstairs, noisy, bed too hard, air con too noisy - upgraded to a bungalow and WOW - wonderful and not expensive worth every cent.
Pool right outside the door, less than 3 metres and as the resort was not busy had it most of the time to ourselves. Breakfast was included in out package but limited although always offered more tea, toast and juice - 7/11 just around the corner and also a big supermarket type style of shop next door. Close top lots of little bars and of course the fishing village for fresh seafood every day - FANTASTIC !!!!!!!!! would definitely stay again - beats Patong hands down.

Room Tip: Take the bungalows - very cheap and worth every cent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamJ61302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The hotel is tucked off the main road in Rawai near the seafront, close to shops and restaurants. The hotel is in lovely gardens with a nice pool. We stayed in a one storey villa which was very spacious, immaculately clean, had good air con, sky TV, fridge and good shower in the bathroom. It also had a nice veranda at the front with table and chairs. The breakfast was served in the restaurant next to the hotel or could be taken back to the room to eat on the veranda which was nice. There was a wide choice of options for breakfast and was delicious. Staff on reception were helpful and assisted us in booking a ferry to Koh Lanta. The hotel was lovely but we were not impressed by Rawai.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lina09H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
0.8 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.9 mi away
Baan Oui
Baan Oui
#5 of 15 in Nai Harn
61 reviews
2.2 mi away
Modern Thai Villa
Modern Thai Villa
#23 of 43 in Rawai
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
813 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cozy House
The Cozy House
#3 of 15 in Nai Harn
36 reviews
4.7 mi away
Thavorn Palm Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thai Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thai Palace Resort

Address: 52 / 8 Moo 6 Viset Road, Muang, Phuket, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rawai
#9 Spa Hotel in Rawai
Price Range: £27 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thai Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thai Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thai Palace Resort Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing