We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We also took advantage of a Scoupon deal at an amazing price. We had read all the reviews and I must say we were just a little concerned that we might be hounded by the guys selling holidays from the Mangosteen. We were wrong. All of the guys seemed really nice and Richard, who looked after us, was friendly, thoroughly explained the plan to us and when we explained why it wasn't for us at the moment, he wasn't pushy at all. The staff at the hotel were all very efficient and friendly and if you're looking for a romantic getaway, this is the place to go. A little tuk tuk will take you to the beach each day and I would recommend you do this. We spent many days at the beach and it was just perfect. White sand, clear water, mmmmm. I would also suggest you take the trip to Phuket Town market. Perhaps share a taxi with a few others like we did. Fabulous food and not at all like the salespeople at Patong. Everything about our week was perfect but unfortunately just a little glitch when we were leaving. Unfortunately the slippers in our room were missing and I know we left with the hotel staff thinking we had taken them. We didn't even see the slippers, let alone use them. We wanted the staff to check our bags as we were leaving and they declined, which I can understand, but that would have been the only way of showing we didn't have the slippers. Guess that will be a black mark against our name and I felt awful leaving without the issue being resolved. My only advice would be to check the inventory each day; something we didn't do. That aside, a fabulous place to stay; good food, delightful staff, fabulous views and a magnificent pool. We'd love to go back again - if we're allowed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueB4442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    273
    78
    39
    43
See reviews for
80
630
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Thank you to each and every member of staff @ Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa for allowing us to experience Phuket hospitality and culture.
We purchased a Scoopon voucher, which provided us with superb accommodation at a heavily discounted price.
I had read several reviews about Mangosteen and could not wait to arrive..When we did..we were not disappointed.
The Reception staff were so welcoming and this really set the tone for our first Phuket journey.
Our accommodation in a Superior Garden Villa was just that..set in beautifully, lush tropical gardens. Our villa was clean and inviting..filled with everything we could need.
The pool, the Ayurveda Spa, the resort grounds, the staff and the hospitality - we really loved it all...not to mention the Happy Hrs at the pool bar, where we often socialised with other guests and made new friends.
After our chats with Lee & Mark, we were so excited & very much look forward to returning next year.
To each and every member of staff at Mangosteen, we thank you. We have long lasting, wonderful memories of our Phuket holiday. Cannot wait to meet you all again! We would would totally recommend Mangosteen to any couple looking for a relaxing, first class getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesnRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
270 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent a week here on a 'Scoupon' deal, along with everyone else it seemed. The mix was virtually New Zealand & Australian & all from late 20's, also part of the 'deal' I think. We had a room down towards the bottom of the garden, 112, from memory. This Hotel is up hill & down dale the whole way & the steps & ramps can get really slippery when it rains so possibly not the best place for some elderly or a little disabled. On arrival we were given welcome drinks but the rooms were not going to be ready until 2pm. Most people were gathering around the pool area as a few checked in on this day, so a chance to get to know a few of the other new guests. The pool area is absolutely exquisite, lovely & clean & warm, & due to not allowing children at this time, the pool was open 24 hours. We found this super as a group would always meet at the pool around 9-10pm most nights for an update on the days outings. The rooms were lovely & large, a sitting area & the bed was up a couple of steps, they were very nice rooms, well certainly in their day, however, they are getting a little tired & definitely in need of a 'pick me up'. A lovely Fruit bowl was bought to the room & there were plates etc available, along with tea, coffee etc & a very well overstocked mini bar.....with pretty good prices. The outdoor bathroom was really neat, but again, needing a good lift. The shower was great, having a super rain shower & a hand held with lovely warm water. When we arrived we had a small problem in the bathroom but after a call to reception it was remedied immediately. The bed was very comfy, the place lovely & quiet, but one thing I really must mention, although we only get a room service every three to four days as do not find it necessary any more often, our bed linen wasn't changed, even on the 4th day. I asked about this & housekeeping came straight down to do it, but still left the old pillow cases on until I asked for them to be changed. We were in the same Industry, have travelled extensively in the past 10 years & have never found this in any other establishment, even budget hotels. Maybe this was due to the 'voucher' specials but we all felt this was just a little bit long, especially in a 4 star hotel & in these hot climates so every three days would be more acceptable. The wifi in the room was hit & miss but like I said, we were down the bottom of the garden so we realised this may have had a lot to do with it. Breakfast was quite expensive so most of us had our own breakfast in the room & evenings were spent trying out the many restaurants a short walk down the road.
Due to the Voucher special, you will be asked to attend a very informal talk on the hotel membership etc. Don't worry too much about this as it is very casual & you are not obliged to buy or sign up to anything & there is no pressure from anyone to do so.
Happy hour at the pool bar is from 3pm till 6.30pm & the prices are 'reasonable' during this time....it seems to get quite busy then. We met some great people during our stay, , & a couple of new friends to add to facebook so we certainly enjoyed our week there. It is situated about 3kms from Chalong & probably about the same to Rawai so plenty of shopping a short motorbike ride or taxi away. Also a shuttle to Nai Harn Beach a few times a day which is a lovely beach.
Would we go back?? We certainly would with low season prices.

Room Tip: Maybe not so far down the hill would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just spent a lovely relaxing week at the Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, and cannot praise the resort and staff enough. From the moment we arrived (which was quite late) we were made most welcome. As I have a walking disability the resort provided us with a room which was close to the pool, thereby ensuring that I did not have far to walk to spa, restaurant and reception areas. We had a ground floor room with outdoor jaquzzi, and the most enormous bed ever. The bed was super-comfortable and on speaking to other guests, everyone was very pleased with the comfort of both beds and pillows. Our room (303) was well appointed and the mini-bar prices are cheapest I have ever seen. All meals and drinks are reasonably priced. The restaurant serves great breakfasts and meals that you can enjoy either by the pool or inside.
As we had paid for our Accommodation by Groupon, we were invited to attend a presentation on joining the Holiday Club. We enjoyed a nice lunch with Richard and then had a short tour of some of the other rooms available. Richard explained everything very clearly, and it sounded like an ideal thing for us. However, the circumstances of my mobility prevented us from being able to accept the offer. Mark and Richard were very understanding, and there was no problem whatsoever because of this. All the salespeople at the resort are great friendly people and I cannot understand why others have made remarks that the sales team are nasty. We also met the Owner who along with his Wife are genuinely sincere people. They have made a great job of creating this haven. He often joined the guests by the pool during the afternoons and engaged freely with all. Afternoons from 3pm-6.30pm were very popular because of "Happy Hour/s" 2 for 1 drinks by the pool. I also enjoyed the reasonably priced Ayurvedic Spa being on-site.
I would definitely recommend this Resort to anyone wanting a peaceful holiday in great surroundings.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed and have excellent air conditioning. Rooms nearer the resort buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Spent a week here and indulged in the spa treatments which were absolutely amazing. The accommodation is good but requires a little maintenance (eg. loose tap fittings) and touch ups to really make this place stand out. The food in the restaurant was rather disappointing. As lovers of spicy food, we found the food not as full of spices and flavours as we'd come to expect of Thai food. Overall a very good experience and the staff are always extremely courteous and willing to help.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Kerima F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Thankyou Mangosteen for the opportunity to experience your resort at such a reasonable cost. Initially I was dissappointed in our Villa as I felt the appearance did not match the photos on your website - I felt the Villa was very tired looking and definitely needs a re-furbish especially considering your normal charges. The pool was fantastic and the highlight of our stay. We struggled with the constant climb to the pool from our Villa but it was very humid and we are in our mid to late sixties. The sales team seem a really nice group of guys and we warmed immediately to Ian and Lee - no pressure at all during the sales pitch. We ended up really enjoying our stay but would not return as we feel the cost is far too high. Please Mr Mangosteen get rid of those horrible couches in the Villas!! Oh and your staff are fantastic!!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the lower villas due to the climb to the pool, reception and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sallygoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

If you want a place to relax, soak up the sun and swim this is the place. Staff friendly, service excellent, prices very reasonable. We'll be back. Plenty of activities to do in the local area, many good restaurants at very cheap prices close by.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
2.0 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
25.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket
4.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Property: Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Address: 99 / 4 Moo 7, Soi Mangosteen | Tambon Rawai, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#5 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, Phuket. Located near Nai Harn Beach in the South of Phuket, Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa sits on a private hillside. This adult only Boutique Resort offers high standards of personalized service in a secluded and serene environment. Only 41 villa style rooms ensure privacy and tranquility. The rooms are designed as a "home away from home" by Interior Designer John Underwood to ensure guests have a most enjoyable stay. Surrounded by tropical gardens, each Villa feels like a piece of private paradise. Private Villa gardens offer a Jacuzzi tub. Enjoy the breathtaking views of the Andaman Sea and Phuket Island. All units are generous in space. The center of the resort consists of the 680 sqm free form pool, the Restaurant, the Lounge Bar and the Ayurveda Destination Spa. A free shuttle service is offered to the guests to make the short trip to Nai Harn beach, one of the best beaches in Phuket and Asia. Your unique Ayurveda Destination Spa Resort near Phuket's best beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mangosteen Hotel Rawai
Mangosteen Hotel Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing