We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, but various reasons not to return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

First thing I will mention is that the service is very good, staff is always very friendly and ready to help. Stayed this way for the duration of our 7 day stay, however they seemed understaffed at dinner service. Front desk is always ready to book trips for you and to give advice on where to go, and they helped us quite a lot.

Second and very important, if you like authentic Thai food, don't eat there. Really, don't. Our last day there, we had a late flight and had already checked out, so the only option was to grab dinner at the resort before the airport. I thought, "great, last opportunity for a good Thai dinner!" - but I can taste my disappointment til today. I regret ordering from the Thai menu, for the price of which, I could have had 3 seafood dinners at Number 6. :) I might have had a better meal if I picked a nice steak instead.

Gorgeous resort with trees and wildlife all around - birds, frogs, bugs, lizards! Lots of them!

The location itself, takes you quite close to Rawai Beach and Coral Island. BUT it is 1 hour or so away from the airport, 45 mins away from Patong and Town. This is absolutely fine though if you are the type to stay in and enjoy the resort facilities, otherwise, the taxi fares to anyway will drain your wallet slowly and steadily. I think I came for a different sort of trip and simply should have picked a location closer to what I wanted to do.

During our stay there, we met some strong winds that was enough to blow away parts of our ceiling. Garden Room ceiling, not bedroom, so it wasn't that big of a deal. We received free massage sessions when the staff discovered it.

One thing I do take as a full negative point against the resort - is that they started renovations of a neighboring villa during our stay. This was a villa right in front of our front porch. 7 or so workers there. They started drilling and banging on nails at 8 AM. No good at all.

Finally, wifi access was spotty. Works in the lobby, drops in the room. It is free though, so can't complain.

So - to summarize, the resort is just beautiful. The staff is lovely. But it just isn't right for me and the way I like to spend my time. I do not doubt that many others will love it though. (Just do not eat Thai food there. Don't do it.)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mikaela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 973 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Arriving at Mongosteen Resort after been around the beautiful happy people in Thailand was disappointing as the staff were cold and arrogant. We had one dinner at the resort which was very tasty. The pool was refreshing, we had to change our room because of plumbing.
The couple of snakes roaming the gardens made for a interesting stay.
We had a trip for a elephant ride donated by the resort, I wonder if they have been for a ride, the elephant took us up past a rubbish dump stopped there, the hander try sell us trinkets, the ride was 10 minutes.
There is a German Butcher down the lane from the resort who makes fabulous meats and Kook Restaurant was very cheap and tasty meals We enjoyed our drive back to the Airport with Mr Lee taxi also down the lane

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Max467-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have to agree with the previous review, we also had a voucher and had read earlier reviews with concern. However we couldnt fault any part of our stay at the resort. Everyone was friendly and extremely helpful and if we didnt have a child with chronic lung disease we would have signed up with Mangosteen. The resort was clean with beautiful views out to sea one week is not enough!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaceyChapman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

So we read the reviews before arriving and yes we also had a grab one voucher but I really dont understand what other people have complained about. We enjoyed our stay very much, the staff were very friendly, we totally loved the pool and gardens. At first when the taxi dropped us off we thought we would be stuck at the resort but is was so easy to hire a scooter that getting out and about was easy and there are shops 5 min walk away from resort. The food was great and staff really did well making things gluten free. As far as the sales meeting went, we found it very surprising and very tempting but at the end of the day not for us but could see the value in it for people wanting to do lots of travel. Big thank you to everyone who made this a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chickenleggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We recently stayed at this resort on a scoopon voucher as did friends of ours. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome at this resort. All the staff are friendly and courteous and knowledgeable about the resort and surrounding areas. The accommodation is wonderful, your own private piece of heaven. The villas are private and quiet so you feel like you're away from everything but you are just a short walk to the reception area, restaurant, pool, spa and gym. The pool is magnificent and the water quality in the pool is amazing. Fun times can be had by the pool during happy hour, which goes from 3 to 6.30. We have stayed at a lot of resorts over the years and this rates up there as one of the best. We booked a day trip through the resort to do white water rafting, elephant trekking and an all terrain vehicle adventure. It was a great day and would highly recommend it. We also did the Thai cooking class at the resort and it was a great experience and well worth it. We also dined at the restaurant a few times and the food was divine and the staff attentive. Would like to give special thanks to Edz who works in reception and Mon from the Pool Bar, you both certainly looked after us. Overall we had a wonderful holiday and would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We were in room 103 and would probably request this room on a return holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was perfect for us. Smaller than the big brand hotels with a high level of service and value for money. Lovely views over looking Rawai Bay and the local islands. Prices in the restaurant were fair as was the room rate and rooms well well decked out for the price. Local restaurants only a 5 minute drive(Naiharn area)with a good selection of beaches within 10 minutes drive. Would book another holiday in Phuket and stay here again.

Room Tip: Take a room on the East facing side for the best panaramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SutcliffDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We needed a relaxing holiday and the mangosteen provided.

The rooms are beautiful and large. The beds are comfortable and big. The pool is the best I've ever seen.

We booked our stay with a our offer coupon and our stay was really cheap for a very good quality resort. There is some marketing involved with the offer but it isn't over the top. It's just informative without pressure.

Thanks for having us and will recommend you to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
0.2 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
2 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
15.9 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,125 reviews
25 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
11.2 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Address: 99 / 4 Moo 7, Soi Mangosteen | Tambon Rawai, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#5 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range: £121 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family owned and managed resort is unique in its style and location. With the owners always around, there is real boutique resort and personal touch to it, a perfect place for honeymooners or simply for romantic people avoiding the crowds. The resort mainly caters for adults, making sure the peaceful atmosphere remains uninterrupted at all times. Mangosteen is the only Resort in Phuket with a permanent, onsite Ayurveda Doctor. He is the architect and mastermind of all treatments, consults and surveys progress of your cure and leads the team to make your spa visits a success. At the Mangosteen Resort, guests can spoil themselves with a luxury holiday, combining this wonderful experience with real health benefits under professional supervision! The restaurant specializes in authentic home-style cooked Thai Cuisine and Mediterranean delights. Everything is freshly prepared, which means it does sometimes take a bit longer. Special requests are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mangosteen Hotel Rawai
Mangosteen Hotel Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing