We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip off worst experience ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rip off worst experience ever had”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We brought a voucher through Scoopon. Once we arrived and declined to do the timeshare talk they sent us a letter stating we had breached the conditions of the voucher because we knew one other couple. They would let us stay if we paid an extra $300 a night. then when we met with them they brought the price down to an extra $100 a night but were abusive and rude. We decided to leave and found a wonderful resort for only $50 a night.
Scoopon were great and refunded the voucher but we lost the extra upgrades we paid for the room and the breakfasts we paid in advance as Managosteen refused to refund our money. .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank deb18363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    273
    78
    39
    43
See reviews for
80
630
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

OMG what a great place to stay, we loved the resort great facilities, great villa with a lot of space & loved the private outdoor shower & spa. The swimming pool was great very big & looked great & OMG to the breakfast. We went to the restaurant on a number of occasions for lunch & dinner & loved it great food & not to expensive. Only a 5mins walk away from resort you will find shops & a bar at great prices. I read reviews from others about the resort was not gay & lesbian friendly, will I can tell you that it is not true the resort is gay & lesbian friendly there was a number of other gay or lesbian couples at the resort when we were there & the staff were all ok with that it was not a drama for the staff & we loved the 2 for 1 beer & cocktails at the pool bar in the afternoon

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank desmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked a year ago to stay at the Mangosteen. We were due to stay late July 2014. We had a grab one Voucher. In the voucher it said couples only but nothing about groups staying. We booked as two couples. At the time they told us there was not enough rooms so we upgraded at a cost of $569 NZD or 16100 BAHT.

2 months before we were due to stay our friends relationship broke up. She was quite upset. All flights etc were booked and unable to be cancelled. As reasonable people we advised the Mangosteen that she will now still be coming with us but her partner will not be.

Well the response we got was so rude and discriminating. Firstly telling us as she was no longer a couple she had to stay somewhere else... really is this how you treat people? And secondly announcing that we were travelling as a group and they don't accept groups!

They sent us conditions re groups travelling together which were not in any of our paper work anywhere nor was it in our Grab one voucher. So we sent back a copy of the conditions we booked with. They ignored these and continued to refuse our booking discriminating against us and our friend. I could not believe a resort was so narrow minded and lacked any compassion. Everything was booked flights everything. I wonder what they would have done if we didn't advise them and just turned up... hate to think!

The only thing they came up with apart from suggesting our friend staying at a different hotel (no way could we allow this as it is not safe in Thailand for single women) was that we rebooked at another time... our voucher expired in a month... do you really think we would travel again in a month.

So we travelled to Phuket and stayed elsewhere as they did not honour our booking at all. They also refused to refund the upgrade even though it was them who refused to honour the booking. If this condition of groups was valid then they illegally took the money from us at the beginning as it was on our booking form we were travelling together. But also the fact it was them who cancelled our booking by refusing us to stay there... they should have refunded the upgrade.

I put this down to greed.

We spoke to grabone and they refunded our voucher on the bases of discrimination. We checked the Human Rights Act and sure enough they clearly have breached this.

The Mangosteen also refused to accept the cancellation and decided to insert a cancelation policy which had not existed in any paperwork we had. We cancelled our credit cards to ensure they took no more money of ours.

So in my Opinion they are thieves inserting policies as and when they feel like it taking as much money as they can from us and do not honour the Human rights act discriminating against us as a group and our friend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Vereana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Were to start..
We'll our first night their was wonderful then we ran into issues the next day.
The reason thay have these deals is so thay can hustle you into their time share style which we were considering doing but once we said we needed time to think about it.. everything went down hill with our service from the resort from room service meals not getting taken from our rooms after 3 calls and sitting in our room for 7 hours in the heat...
We returned from the beach after a hot sweety day and asked for our key to shower and Freshen up before heading out to dinner and was told our rooms were not available to shower in....
Took the free shuttle bus to the beach then a massive storm come and everyone left the beach to seek shelter from the storm everyone that was under the shelter we were in had their hotels/resorts pick them up due to the weather except us we waited 1 hour untill we decided to get a taxi back when we arrived at the mangosteen we asked why were we the only people stuck at the beach in a storm while everyone else was pick up by their resorts and did not get a answer.
We were booked in for a romantic candle light dinner when we arrived for dinner we were seated in the corner and served with food we both could not eat (horrible taste and smell) without candles while all other tables were light up nicely. This is due to us not wanting to commit to their time share deals. Since then we refused to buy or pay for any services at the resort and found some very nice restaurants by the beach our favourite was NIKITAS their service was the best by far and we were their 4 times a day beautiful people and service...
This is a warning to anyone staying at mangosteen DONT. Easy as that don't wait you holiday dealing with these people it's not worth saving money to stay their to get treated like animals.. We will be retuning back to phuket in November for another week and will be staying as far as possible from this resort as their service is horrible..
Also I booked this holiday at mangosteen for my partner and myself to have a break away from our busy work lifestyle and her favourite fruit is mangosteen.. This resort had all other fruits available besides mangosteen.. Do your self and partner a favour don't bother with this place you will regret it we sure did and will advise any family or friends who travel to thailand to stay clear from this resort

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
24 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a week and it was amazing it felt like 2 weeks. We loved everything about the resort. The staff were friendly. The food was great. And OMG the pool we spent ALOT of time in the pool . We stayed 1 night in a superior garden villa and then moved to a deluxe balcony jacuzzi villa for the rest of our stay. Both villas were beautiful. These villas have character. I love the style. I wouldn't have minded just staying in the garden villa but we had upgraded online beforehand. I spent my birthday there and hubby ordered the seafood basket for my birthday dinner and it was AMAZEBALLS! The staff brought it up to our villa and they even had a little cake and sang happy birthday to me. It was so special and made me feel so humbled that they made the effort. I have nothing bad to say about Mangosteen Resort at all. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay so much that we joined the club .. So we will be back with the family planned for 2016 and I can't wait. Thank you for making our vacation an awesome one Mangosteen Family .. Tama and Charlotte

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank charlottet299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here with my partner on a Groupon voucher deal. For what we paid for the voucher, our stay at Mangosteen was amazing value. Overall, Mangosteen is a good, well-run resort. Management seem to be heavily investing in the resort, which is a good sign. The Thai staff were outstanding and couldn't have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. I celebrated my birthday during our stay, and I was treated to a birthday cake and a touching birthday message made from flowers on our bed! Nice touches. 



Our room, 105, was spacious with great views of the gardens and the surrounding bays. Very peaceful. I agree with the other reviewer who stayed in room 105 that the thatching in the outdoor bathroom could be extended to make it more private - we could see the English 'holiday club representatives' smoking on their office terrace as we showered, and I'm sure, if they looked, they could see us too! An iPod dock would have been nice, and the hairdryer really needs to be replaced as it wasn't up to the job (bring your own if use one) - hopefully this will be addressed in the ongoing room upgrades. Resort facilities are very good. The salt water pool is the real gem in the crown of this resort and the gym was surprisingly well equipped with great views of the surrounding bays.

During our stay we experienced an unfortunate incident, but management dealt with it in a very professional way and we reached a satisfactory outcome. Sometimes, it's how a resort deals with the things that go wrong that is the real test of customer service. Full marks here.



There were a few things that we didn't like, and I think anyone paying the full rates should be aware of. The resort is really aimed at it's 'holiday club' members - the point of the voucher deals is to sign up new 'holiday club' members, which is a timeshare and timeshare exchange club. There's no pressure to sign up, but we did find the English 'holiday club representatives' omnipresent, which slightly detracted from the holiday vibe. On the flip side, we met some really great people at the resort and made some new friends.

The real disappointment for us was the resort restaurant. We're both foodies, and were looking forward to sampling many different Thai dishes. While the food wasn't bad, it wasn't very authentic and was nowhere near as good as the food we ate at other restaurants in Phuket (see my reviews of Blue elephant, Mom Tri's Kitchen and Raya). The 'Thai lovers buffet' was the biggest disappointment, and looked nothing like the food in the promotional pictures on the web. If you love Thai food, don't expect to be wowed by the resort restaurant.

If you’re looking for a professional daily massage at low prices (400 baht for a sports massage), then head to K & J massage – just a 5 minute walk from the resort (turn right at the boom gate, walk to the end of the road, turn left, cross the street and look for the light blue shop about 30 m down). We went there everyday and quickly became friends with the two Thai masseuses – they even made us little Thai cakes each day!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ydnak80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here on a Groupon deal. A really good deal. A very beautiful resort. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Pool amazing, views awesome. The complementary breakfast involves eating with a Sales Rep and listening to a Membership deal package. The Rep was friendly and not at all pushy. But, we weren't told the Complementary breakfast involved this. Totally reasonable given the great deal we were on, but I would have preferred them to be a bit more upfront about it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saraswati C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
2.0 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
25.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Serenity Resort & Residences Phuket
4.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Property: Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Address: 99 / 4 Moo 7, Soi Mangosteen | Tambon Rawai, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#5 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, Phuket. Located near Nai Harn Beach in the South of Phuket, Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa sits on a private hillside. This adult only Boutique Resort offers high standards of personalized service in a secluded and serene environment. Only 41 villa style rooms ensure privacy and tranquility. The rooms are designed as a "home away from home" by Interior Designer John Underwood to ensure guests have a most enjoyable stay. Surrounded by tropical gardens, each Villa feels like a piece of private paradise. Private Villa gardens offer a Jacuzzi tub. Enjoy the breathtaking views of the Andaman Sea and Phuket Island. All units are generous in space. The center of the resort consists of the 680 sqm free form pool, the Restaurant, the Lounge Bar and the Ayurveda Destination Spa. A free shuttle service is offered to the guests to make the short trip to Nai Harn beach, one of the best beaches in Phuket and Asia. Your unique Ayurveda Destination Spa Resort near Phuket's best beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mangosteen Hotel Rawai
Mangosteen Hotel Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing