We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort overall.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My partner & I stayed for a week at the beginning of August.
We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the resort. We were in room 115 right next to the pool, and had no complaints....the rooms are exactly how I imagined a Thai resort Villa to look.
The pool is beautiful, and I loved swimming around the restaurant each day & admiring the view. The welcome drink on arrival "Roselle Juice" was delicious (Where can I buy this?) We arrived a bit early for check in, but were happy to wait, however another room became available earlier than our intended one, and we were given that, which we were
grateful for. The showers are awesome....I personally loved them, my partner did also.
We pre-purchased the Breakfasts, and once you get used to the ordering system (a bit different to most other resort buffet breakfasts) it was fantastic. Fresh & yummy. A fantastic selection :)

We also pre-purchased the two Buffet theme nights.
While the quality of food was exceptional, we were both very disappointed as so many of the dishes were too spicy to be enjoyed. The Thai night had only one non spicy dish, which was vegetarian. I am unfortunately not a seafood lover, so for me, there wasn't much to choose from, however some people would love this. The spice in some dishes was so hot, we couldn't even taste anything after, something that other guests we chatted with also found. I think a better dessert option with the buffets would be great too....some more sweetness to counteract the spice. Overall, we would not do the buffets again.
The free Candle Light Dinner we received was plentiful & yummy, not as spicy, and we really enjoyed and appreciated it.

We bought our voucher off Buy Invite. It never mentioned anything about having to be involved in the Promotional Sales talk etc. However, because I had read reviews on here, I knew before hand. I would have felt pretty uncomfortable at the resort, as I saw other guests were, had I not known about this beforehand. I also saw many guests confused about purchasing breakfast when at the resort and what it involved. They had to speak to other guests to work out how to do it. This is just food for thought for management.
In terms of the actual sales talk, we met with Ian, it was pleasant, and he seemed to realise it may not be for us as we have a large family. We had the quick tour, brought back to the office, and given prices etc. We never actually declined, but Ian had figured it wasn't for us, and we went off to enjoy our day.
However, for the rest of the stay he completely ignored us. To the point of standing next to me at the breakfast bar a few times and not acknowledging me or even saying a simple Hello. Even when I said Hello. Not even a smile.
This was despite him assuring as at our meeting that he wasn't just here to sell us The Holiday Club, but also to ensure we had a great holiday.
We felt pretty disgusted with his behaviour to be honest & figured that obviously he was only interested in getting a sale from us. We saw the other Sales Reps interacting with all the guests & were able to lots of helpful information from them.
Obviously what Ian didn't realise was that we were still considering the offer, as it is a great deal for families that travel a lot, and we could use it in Australia. After his complete lack of service, we decided not to even bother. While it was nice to enjoy our holiday in peace, it's not hard to smile & say hello.

The reception staff are fantastic, as are the housekeeping staff & restaurant staff.

There are so many "processes" and "requirements" that need to be followed to book anything at resort that it's not as relaxing as I would have liked, and there is certainly a strange vibe around the place because of the Holiday Club, but we certainly still enjoyed our time, it is a beautiful resort with beautiful staff, it is just run in a strange way. I really loved our time at the resort, but did just have some mixed feelings.

We certainly felt like we got absolutely amazing value for our $299, -and while I think our stay was worth much, much more, I don't think I would pay full rates simply because of the odd atmosphere and would look elsewhere to stay next time.

It is a little out of the way, but we loved that.
If you turn right at the boom gates & walk down the bumpy street to the end, then turn left you will see the most AMAZING little restaurant called Kooks. It is owned by a gorgeous Thai lady & her Italian husband. The food is out of this world & the service is exceptional! You must try the Sticky Rice Pudding & ask for a scoop of Coconut Ice Cream on the side. DELISH!
We enjoyed our last meal there and had very limited time. The waitress actually offered to drive us back to the resort to meet our transfer and she refused payment for this! So lovely. We ate there most of the time as it was yummy & great value.
The two ladies at K & J massage are fabulous! And there is everything you need at the 24 Hour Family mart.
If you turn left at the Boomgate there is also a fantastic Raw Cafe at the end.

I hope management reads this review with open mindess and realises it is written with my best intentions. I can see that the resort is a work of art by the owner & you certainly have fantastic staff and amazing facilities, but I am not sure that the way it is being promoted is the best option....maybe let your fabulous resort speak for itself?
I know your responses to reviews on here were talked about a lot between guests & not in a positive way. Please, please keep this in mind, as your resort is really a gem.
xx
Cindy & Chris.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had a nice time there, Pool was awesome, breakfast was great, bacon cooked fresh, eat as much as you like, short walk to shops and restaurants – Bars.
Happy hour 2 for 1 beer & cocktails at the pool bar in the afternoon was good! Loved the outside (private) shower in our room, however the water didn’t drain away very well, so your feet were in a pool of water for the time of your shower, lots of wildlife about, the couch in the rooms could be changed, not very comfy (it rained for two days so watch a fair bit of tv and movies) but apart from that the room was really nice, quiet and private, big. Due to this it took some time for our room to cool down with the A/C, We found the staff to be nice and helpful, there were a few couples with children however they were well behaved and didn’t disturb the peacefulness of the resort. We will be back to stay again and will take friends with us to enjoy the resort

Room Tip: No tip i think all the rooms are nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cherieandchopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We had a very long trip from Norway to Thailand via Qatar and Malaysia and arrived in the middle of the night. We had booked taxi in advance at the hotel and was very happy to see a lady with our name written outside the airport. Everything went perfect, the trip from airport, very helpful understanding hotelstaff waiting for us and guided us to the cabin. The next day we really saw how beautiful this place was. Flowers, trees, butterflies, birds just outside our terrace. Fresh fruit every day and 2 bottle of water. Breakfast very good, dinner very good, Happy hour very good :) And the best part....the staff was excellent !! Always smiling, talking, asking..how are you today, and we really felt like "home". We also had this "Timeshare" talk, but we did not feel any pressure at all !! We stayed for 2 weeks at Mangosteen. Next time we are going back we bring family and friends.

Room Tip: All the Villas is great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KariRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Fantastic Pool, caters for several people at once without feeling cramped. Lots of thought has gone into pool. Good ranges of depths and caters for lap swimmers without embedding on others using the pool. loved the outdoor spa in the room. Lots of space more than just a bed in the room. Staff extremely friendly

Room Tip: Depending on your fitness, choose a room based on your knees strength
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We brought a voucher through Scoopon. Once we arrived and declined to do the timeshare talk they sent us a letter stating we had breached the conditions of the voucher because we knew one other couple. They would let us stay if we paid an extra $300 a night. then when we met with them they brought the price down to an extra $100 a night but were abusive and rude. We decided to leave and found a wonderful resort for only $50 a night.
Scoopon were great and refunded the voucher but we lost the extra upgrades we paid for the room and the breakfasts we paid in advance as Managosteen refused to refund our money. .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank deb18363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

OMG what a great place to stay, we loved the resort great facilities, great villa with a lot of space & loved the private outdoor shower & spa. The swimming pool was great very big & looked great & OMG to the breakfast. We went to the restaurant on a number of occasions for lunch & dinner & loved it great food & not to expensive. Only a 5mins walk away from resort you will find shops & a bar at great prices. I read reviews from others about the resort was not gay & lesbian friendly, will I can tell you that it is not true the resort is gay & lesbian friendly there was a number of other gay or lesbian couples at the resort when we were there & the staff were all ok with that it was not a drama for the staff & we loved the 2 for 1 beer & cocktails at the pool bar in the afternoon

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank desmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked a year ago to stay at the Mangosteen. We were due to stay late July 2014. We had a grab one Voucher. In the voucher it said couples only but nothing about groups staying. We booked as two couples. At the time they told us there was not enough rooms so we upgraded at a cost of $569 NZD or 16100 BAHT.

2 months before we were due to stay our friends relationship broke up. She was quite upset. All flights etc were booked and unable to be cancelled. As reasonable people we advised the Mangosteen that she will now still be coming with us but her partner will not be.

Well the response we got was so rude and discriminating. Firstly telling us as she was no longer a couple she had to stay somewhere else... really is this how you treat people? And secondly announcing that we were travelling as a group and they don't accept groups!

They sent us conditions re groups travelling together which were not in any of our paper work anywhere nor was it in our Grab one voucher. So we sent back a copy of the conditions we booked with. They ignored these and continued to refuse our booking discriminating against us and our friend. I could not believe a resort was so narrow minded and lacked any compassion. Everything was booked flights everything. I wonder what they would have done if we didn't advise them and just turned up... hate to think!

The only thing they came up with apart from suggesting our friend staying at a different hotel (no way could we allow this as it is not safe in Thailand for single women) was that we rebooked at another time... our voucher expired in a month... do you really think we would travel again in a month.

So we travelled to Phuket and stayed elsewhere as they did not honour our booking at all. They also refused to refund the upgrade even though it was them who refused to honour the booking. If this condition of groups was valid then they illegally took the money from us at the beginning as it was on our booking form we were travelling together. But also the fact it was them who cancelled our booking by refusing us to stay there... they should have refunded the upgrade.

I put this down to greed.

We spoke to grabone and they refunded our voucher on the bases of discrimination. We checked the Human Rights Act and sure enough they clearly have breached this.

The Mangosteen also refused to accept the cancellation and decided to insert a cancelation policy which had not existed in any paperwork we had. We cancelled our credit cards to ensure they took no more money of ours.

So in my Opinion they are thieves inserting policies as and when they feel like it taking as much money as they can from us and do not honour the Human rights act discriminating against us as a group and our friend

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
22  Thank Vereana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
0.2 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
2 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
15.9 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
7 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 337 in Patong
6,568 reviews
2.2 mi away
THE NAI HARN
THE NAI HARN
#1 of 6 in Nai Harn
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Address: 99 / 4 Moo 7, Soi Mangosteen | Tambon Rawai, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rawai
#5 Spa Hotel in Rawai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rawai
Price Range: £147 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family owned and managed resort is unique in its style and location. With the owners always around, there is real boutique resort and personal touch to it, a perfect place for honeymooners or simply for romantic people avoiding the crowds. The resort mainly caters for adults, making sure the peaceful atmosphere remains uninterrupted at all times. Mangosteen is the only Resort in Phuket with a permanent, onsite Ayurveda Doctor. He is the architect and mastermind of all treatments, consults and surveys progress of your cure and leads the team to make your spa visits a success. At the Mangosteen Resort, guests can spoil themselves with a luxury holiday, combining this wonderful experience with real health benefits under professional supervision! The restaurant specializes in authentic home-style cooked Thai Cuisine and Mediterranean delights. Everything is freshly prepared, which means it does sometimes take a bit longer. Special requests are always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mangosteen Hotel Rawai
Mangosteen Hotel Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing