We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Rawai
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Best location by FAR. You have a beautiful small island just 10min away from crazy busy Phuket mainland, shared with one other accommodation place and a handful of extremely friendly locals (who go about fishing and raising their families tucked away and spread out over the lush rainforest and beaches).

You'll see amazing wildlife like toucans, bats, monkeys, crabs, heaps of hermit crabs and fish and chipmunk type critters?! - unlike on the Phuket mainland where any animal you see is either in a zoo, chained to a bar or drugged for 'cute' compliance.

The manager (or host) lady was so kind and friendly, she would accommodate your wishes without hesitation. Whenever you feel hungry she'd call the chef into the kitchen, if you wanted to spend the day on the mainland she would call the boatman, when you are at breakfast/lunch/beachin' she would call the cleaners to tend your little villa for you, etc etc. Fantastic care and hospitality, all staff would always give you a big wide smile and offer whatever they could.

Food was brilliant- the head chef is fantastic. The prices are slightly higher than on the mainland because each day trips to the mainland are taken to find fresh ingredients on foot by one staff member. Perhaps 60-80 Auslatrain cents more per meal...
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Beachfront villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoelleB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Baan mai is in a brilliant location free from tourists with it own private beaches. The one and only restaurant on the island was over priced for poor quality food. The manager was very pushy asking us repeatedly if we wanted to pay for excursions. Cottage was small, but clean with good air conditioning, be warned the bathroom is outside with very little shelter! With a bit of work this hotel could be 5*.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank beckyc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

What a wonderful place! My husband and I stayed here on the last leg of our honeymoon in Thailand. Although it was slightly confusing to get to at first, we were picked up in their long tail boat (free of charge) and brought to our own bungalow right on the beach. We stayed here for 5 nights. We were worried about not making it to the mainland enough, but we went over to the big island 4 of the 5 days. We ate several meals here and every one was absolutely fantastic. The chef even let us back in the kitchen with her (we were the only people staying there for 2 days) and taught us how to make authentic Thai food. You can walk on the beach around the island, go on trails up the mountain, or just lay around in the hammock. There's a beautiful pool, the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating, and it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: los bungalows frente al mar son grandes y comodos; las habitaciones de la parte de atras tienen balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fabs s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Direkt am Beach ein Cottage nehmen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank joeundfabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Cottages sulla spiaggia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annacam2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaanMaiPhuket, Front Office Manager at Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Giulia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
2.4 mi away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
13.9 mi away
Benyada Lodge
Benyada Lodge
#68 of 97 in Thalang District
105 reviews
3.9 mi away
Palm Oasis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Title Condo by TropicLook
1.9 mi away
Friendship Beach Resort & Atmanjai Wellness Centre
3.8 mi away
Ya Nui Resort
Ya Nui Resort
#9 of 43 in Rawai
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island

Address: 35 / 1 Moo 3 | Lone Island, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rawai
Price Range: £31 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Mai is located on the shore of Koh Lone Island, the Baan Mai Resort is hidden within a flourishing tropical garden, right on the beach shore. A unique boutique hotel with its beach front and garden bungalows, the superb Thai villa and the exotic sweet-water swimming-pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Mai Cottages Hotel Rawai
Baan Mai Hotel
Baan Mai Resort
Baan Mai Beachfront Lone Island Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing