We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed close to mainland”
Review of Baan Mai Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Mai Cottages
Ranked #35 of 42 Hotels in Rawai
Oslo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Relaxed close to mainland”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I loved this place! It was relaxed and gave us peace and rest! The staff was polite, smiling and helpful. They even lent us their own shoes when we had to leave in low tide walking on shells to get to the boat (next time I will bring my own slippers:)). We almost had the beach all by our selves and felt like this island was far, far from mainland and the busy Phuket.

The breakfast was ok, dinner ok, but we think they can improve the restaurant by having a far smaller menu og and concentrate on quality.

The pool was nice, but could be cleaner. However, we did not stay there, the beach are lovely!

Room Tip: We had the beach bungalow, we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne40Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    14
    16
    7
    15
See reviews for
22
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

If 5 star sterile luxury is what you want then this is not the place for you BUT for total relaxation, peaceful, understated indulgence in a small boutique resort it is spot on. In easy reach via free 10 minute long tail boat trip is the rest of Phuket with all the tourist attractions and busy hustle of a big Thai resort. Slightly shabby which added to the overall charm after a few days of rest. The lunch and evening menu was varied and we were never disappointed with the great food. We would return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 963Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Best location by FAR. You have a beautiful small island just 10min away from crazy busy Phuket mainland, shared with one other accommodation place and a handful of extremely friendly locals (who go about fishing and raising their families tucked away and spread out over the lush rainforest and beaches).

You'll see amazing wildlife like toucans, bats, monkeys, crabs, heaps of hermit crabs and fish and chipmunk type critters?! - unlike on the Phuket mainland where any animal you see is either in a zoo, chained to a bar or drugged for 'cute' compliance.

The manager (or host) lady was so kind and friendly, she would accommodate your wishes without hesitation. Whenever you feel hungry she'd call the chef into the kitchen, if you wanted to spend the day on the mainland she would call the boatman, when you are at breakfast/lunch/beachin' she would call the cleaners to tend your little villa for you, etc etc. Fantastic care and hospitality, all staff would always give you a big wide smile and offer whatever they could.

Food was brilliant- the head chef is fantastic. The prices are slightly higher than on the mainland because each day trips to the mainland are taken to find fresh ingredients on foot by one staff member. Perhaps 60-80 Auslatrain cents more per meal...
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Beachfront villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoelleB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Baan mai is in a brilliant location free from tourists with it own private beaches. The one and only restaurant on the island was over priced for poor quality food. The manager was very pushy asking us repeatedly if we wanted to pay for excursions. Cottage was small, but clean with good air conditioning, be warned the bathroom is outside with very little shelter! With a bit of work this hotel could be 5*.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank beckyc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

What a wonderful place! My husband and I stayed here on the last leg of our honeymoon in Thailand. Although it was slightly confusing to get to at first, we were picked up in their long tail boat (free of charge) and brought to our own bungalow right on the beach. We stayed here for 5 nights. We were worried about not making it to the mainland enough, but we went over to the big island 4 of the 5 days. We ate several meals here and every one was absolutely fantastic. The chef even let us back in the kitchen with her (we were the only people staying there for 2 days) and taught us how to make authentic Thai food. You can walk on the beach around the island, go on trails up the mountain, or just lay around in the hammock. There's a beautiful pool, the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating, and it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

got picked up at Panwa by Bann Mai long boat free of charge. Seven of us went to chill out after my sons wedding and were not disappointed! lovely rooms and totally tranquil tropical island. the manager Mell was extemely helpful,a wonderful womannothing was too much trouble. cannt wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We almost did not go, because of the mixed Tripadvisor reviews. Fortunately we went, because this place is just fantastic, with a location virtually on the beach, great bungalows, wonderful environment and very friendly staff.
Most of the time we were the only guests, and the staff managed the get the service just right, in a balance between being available, but not overdoing their attention.
The place is far from perfect, but doesn't pretend to be.

Btw do try the Thai cooking class. It's free - you only have to pay for the food - but we learned a lot of tricks, from the very helpful chef. And the food she made (with only a bit of help from us) was some of the best we've had in Thailand.

This is one of the best places we've been in Thailand, and so easily accessible. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peejay_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawai
2.4 mi away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
3.9 mi away
Palm Oasis Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Miracle House
Miracle House
#18 of 42 in Rawai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rawai Grand House
Rawai Grand House
#25 of 42 in Rawai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.5 mi away
BTR Suites Hotel
BTR Suites Hotel
#20 of 42 in Rawai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
3.4 mi away
Coral Island Resort
Coral Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Ko He
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Mai Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Mai Cottages

Property: Baan Mai Cottages
Address: 35/1 Moo 3 | Lone Island, Rawai, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rawai
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Mai Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Mai is Located on the shore of « Koh Lone » Island, the Baan Mai Resort is hidden within a flourishing tropical garden, right on the beach shore. A unique Boutique Hotel with its Beach Front and Garden Bungalows, the superb Thai Villa and the exotic sweet-water swimming-pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Baan Mai Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Mai Cottages Hotel Rawai
Baan Mai Hotel
Baan Mai Resort
Baan Mai Cottages Phuket/Rawai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing