We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No English speaking staff”
Review of Kameo Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kameo Grand
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Rayong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Place is very clean, spacious rooms with a nice balcony. but everything is ruined by the staff. There was completely no one who could speak at least a little bit of English. Each time we had to go to the reception to ask about something it was a struggle. Probably good place to stay for business but if you don`t speak Thai you are lost!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukasz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

The Kameo Grand, Rayong, appreciates your feedback and we apologise for not meeting your expectations on your recent stay with us. Our ongoing training programme includes instruction in English and service excellence and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Was lodged into a Studio. Suite on the 8th floor, same area as pool deck. Room was pleasently spacious and clean and just a few steps away from pool deck and gym. Pool area is a place where one can relax at the chairs and tables offered also area is well decorated. Pool itself is also top quality. Restaurant on 9th floor is likewise a place where can feel relaxed, with both indoor and out door dining areas at affordable prices serving a wide range of food, however it is designated as a Steak dining place. Only a few minutes walk away from Tesco Lotus or some 5-10 minutes walk away from Laemthong, a good sized shopping mall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

The Kameo House, Rayong, appreciates your sharing your review with us, after your recent stay, and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for your favourable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel is more like a service appartment with restraurant facility.
Rooms are big enough with nice furniture and kitchen.

They also run a shuttle service connecting other hotel at the beach. Ideal for a business trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

The Kameo House, Rayong, thanks you for your positive endorsement and looks forward to seeing and serving you again on your next business trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

a nice all round business hotel nice rooms ,very nice pool area on the roof
and a good restaurant kalifornia steak I think it was called free wi fi in lobby but not in rooms witch is a let down as this is a business hotel should not have to pay for wi fi in rooms shuttle bus to shopping centre and to kantary bay many nice places to eat at along the beach some girlie bars near by as well as some night clubs just to the back of hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevthelead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

The Kameo House, Rayong, is pleased to learn that you found our property a nice place to stay when on business and thanks you for the favourable feedback. We look forward to your return when on business in Rayong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Considering Rayong town to be a business town and not a tourist place, this a good choice for business trips. This is not an ideal hotel for a tourist due to its location.

Some good things first.... spacious rooms with a small kitchenette, bathrooms are spacious too. The rooms have a balcony but, you can only stare at moving vehicles and nothing else. The terrace restaurant in the 9th(I guess) floor makes your dinner memorable. So, does the terrace swimming pool. Worth mentioning is the complimentary breakfast which had varieties to choose from. The staff were carteous and helping.

Now some not so good things...WiFi is complimentary but available only in the lobby area. Rooms do not have tea & coffee powders available. So, if you are habitual of drinking coffee/tea first thing in the morning then you will miss it here. There are no dish washing liquid provided so, if you wish to make use of the kitchenette then you will have to carry/buy one. The transmission quality of tv wasn't so clear but, since I was on a business trip, I did not really had time to watch tv so it did not really matter.

Still, this is a good place for business trips.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajHar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

The Kameo House, Rayong, thanks you for your feedback and looks forward to serving you again on your next business trip to Rayong. Your positive mention of our courteous and helpful staff has been shared with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Was in Rayong on a business trip. Stayed here for 3 nights in a King-Bed Studio Suite. Rayong is very much a business town, most people who come here do not really come for the sand and the sea. Rayong seats in the heart of Thailand's oil and gas industry & is home to the Map Ta Phut industrial estate, Thailand's largest industrial estate.

Pros :
(1) Good Sized Clean Rooms
As the hotel is positioned as a hotel/service apartments. The rooms are a good size, pretty comfortable if you had to stayed an extended period. According to the website the rooms are between 45 - 56 sq.m. The studio suite had a small kitchenette with stove and oven and all the cutlery/pots if you wanted to cook. & a small seating area with a dining table for two. Photos attached

(2) Shuttle Bus
The hotel provides a very useful shuttle bus to Laemthong , which is the largest shopping mall in the area. It has your usual big name food outlets including McDonald's, KFC, Sizzler, Baskin Robins and lots of other food options. There is a Cineplex on the top floor and a MK Supermarket on the 2nd floor. A boots pharmacy, Body Shop and more. An oasis for your necessities. Refer to photo attached with the shuttle bus timing, it leaves every 2-hour and stops at the properties under the group including Classic Cameo and Kantary Bay

It takes easily 15-20 mins to walk to the mall so the shuttle bus is really useful. The weather does get hot

(3) Great Service - Lobby Assistant (Apologizes forgot exact name , it was "Teerayth" or such)
He was the lobby assistant on duty on 28th April around 3pm when I check-in. As I just arrived and the shuttle was about to leave, and I wanted to grab a bite. He took the effort to drop a word with the shuttle bus driver to wait a minute for me while I dropped my stuff upstairs.

Next he also was the one who had to patiently fix my wi-fi issues on the night of 29th April when it suddenly decided to fail. All in all he patiently trouble shoot it from about 8pm-9pm before I could access the net. Really appreciate his efforts

Cons :
(1) Wi-Fi Cost
Being a hotel positioning itself as a property for business travellers in a town essentially for business and not tourism , Wi-Fi should be free. It is an essential part of any business travel these days. The cost is was about 300 THB per day or 600 THB for a week. For a week the cost isn't very excessive, but these days many properties globally are moving towards free internet access.

(2) Location : Rayong is not a Tourist Town
So again this is not really the place to be if you want to base yourself to check out the tourist sites on the Eastern Seaboard of Thailand. Such as the island of Ko Samet. You might be better basing yourself out of Pattaya if tourism is your reason to be around Rayong Province.

However all in all, I would stay here again when in Rayong without any hesitation. Good size rooms, and the rooms are clean. Nothing to complain about the service. Service by all staff was good. All in all a calm oasis to return to at the end of a work day

Room Tip: The hotel is along Sukhumvit Road, which is the main road that cuts through Rayong. At night there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TongHwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

The Kameo Grand, Rayong, thanks you for your favourable commentary, as a business traveller, after your recent 3 night stay with us, as Rayong is a business town as you correctly point out. Your positive mention of the great service received from the on-duty Lobby Assistant is appreciated and has been shared with him. Thank you for your descriptive and informative review which will be helpful to other business travellers planning a business trip to Rayong. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Having read various reviews on various websites we tried The Kameo. Having previously visited Thailand on 3 occasions albeit Hua Hin on all occasions we decided a change was in order, ( big mistake ) . The Kameo hotel itself is very well appointed, excellent rooms , and stunning roof top pool, but it is not aimed at holiday tourists , it is geared entirely for business. The location is not ideal unless you like counting cars on the main road from your balcony ( which lacks furniture ), and is a minimum of 40 mins to Bhan Phe , ( which is the gateway to Koh Samet ) , this is less than ideal as you cannot do this run everyday. The breakfasts were acceptable, but its not hard to provide a buffet breakfast. he handful of bars around the immediate area were not ideal as they catered more for single business men. During our stay outside contractors had been brought in to work on the car park which happened to be directly under our room, they worked everyday from 8am - 17.30 none stop drilling and banging, horrendous, we spoke to the manager Jirasak Kawarasoot ( Joe ) who tried his best to stop the contractors from working on the Sunday but no joy, he then suggested we move rooms, but unfortunately had no roms immediately available, we took the descision to move from the hotel and seek alternative accommodation nearer beaches, Joe was most helpful in obtaining a refund for unused nights ( many thanks ).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kameo Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

The Kameo House, Rayong, regrets it was unable to meet and exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. Your disappointment is also our disappointment, but thank you for making the effort and taking the time to give us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rayong hotels
0 mi away
Classic Kameo Hotel & Serviced Apartments, Rayong
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Rayong City Centre
25.2 mi away
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
Mae Pim Resort Hotel
#8 of 62 in Rayong
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Mooban Talay Resort
Mooban Talay Resort
#7 of 62 in Rayong
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Garden Hotel
Tamarind Garden Hotel
#6 of 62 in Rayong
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
D Varee Diva Central Rayong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kameo Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kameo Grand

Address: 305 / 14 Sukhumvit Rd. | Noen Phra, Rayong 21000, Thailand (Formerly Kameo House)
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Rayong
Price Range: £56 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kameo Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kameo Grand offers the very finest in short and long-stay accommodation with large, tastefully designed and comfortable rooms. Comprised of studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites, all accommodation comes complete with everything you will need for your stay. Facilities include an executive lounge, swimming pool, fitness centre and two restaurants. Kameo Grand boasts all the services of a fine hotel including room service, 24-hour front desk and maintenance, around-the-clock security and extensive meeting and function facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kameo Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing