We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful setting that is very rough around the edges.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Phala Cliff Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Rayong
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Good Bit:
When you sit by the pool there is a gorgeous sea view and when you turn around, the building has a fantastic design that compliments the pool and location beautifully.
The Not So Good Bit:
The pool if fantastic to look at from a distance! But get in it and you won't be seeing anything! It is beyond murky. There are brown swathes of decomposing leaves on the bottom of the pool. It is 1.4m deep and you can't see the bottom with goggles on. The shallow kids pool is slightly better but still not great. What a waste!
The Terrible Bit:
It is run in a typically laid back provincial Thai style. Lovely for relaxing but not so good for the efficient running of an establishment that bills itself (and prices itself) as a high standard resort. The rooms in the 'new' wing are still OK but have obviously lacked any kind of maintenance since being built. Rust and cracks are in evidence. The balconies are a potential death trap for young kids. The first room that we were allocated had pieces missing from the balcony railing. A kid of up to 5 would have easily fallen through. THe balconies also have other open 'slats' in the concrete wall that go all the way down to the ground (5 floors in our case). Our balcony was strictly out of bounds to the kids.
In summary:
We'll be looking for somewhere else to stay on our next trip to the area.

Room Tip: You will definitely need transport if you stay here for more than a couple of days. There is nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilyweily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

have stayed here many times, do so because of business, Staff are friendly, but then again most know me. so from me its the usual complaints, HUGE charge for WiFI. New Building is fine but appalling build quality, old building is ok but is OLD for a reason, needs maintenance, i had shower, NO hot water. The place is fine if you have your own transport or like quiet, no use otherwise. The hotel Taxi is expensive, whereas folk would use it if it was cheaper. I can get a 100baht taxi ride from Ban Chang to hotel, its 400baht each way if i use the hotel. the place just needs some TLC, but the owner seems fine with corporate cover at the weekend, whereas he'd make a fortune with some light touches. Fix the roof tiles that cause the water to ingress, not put towels under the leak.

Room Tip: Stay if you HAVE to, betetr alternates with a bit of effort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a hotel spread out over a wide area, with some strange architectural choices. I would not recommend this for people with physical disabilities - there are access ramps for wheelchairs but they are about 45 degrees and almost impossible to negotiate. The staff were fine - friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and well-equipped, and beds were comfortable. The quality of the workmanship in the hotel was decidedly dodgy but it didn't really impact on our stay. Food was distinctly average. All in all, not a bad place for a short stay but not somewhere we would visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aligscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel was nice but too over price. There was no spa even though the name says spa and resort. This hotel was hard to get to if you don't have a car. Way too pricey to get there. There is nothing around the hotel so expect to be stranded there unless you have a car or willing to pay an outrageous amount to have the hotel provide you transportation. The customer service was horrible. They messed up our reservation and refuse to take any kind of responsibility for it, my friend had to argue with them for about 30 minutes before they will consider anything. There was one restaurant in the hotel and the service was super slow. The food was just ok. They have a small stretch of private beach for the hotel that was not too clean with plastic bags and trash around. The mini mart was all but deserted with like two bags of chips and some packs of gum( I think that was what it was). Overall, I would not stay here again..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yl0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I can only assume the people leaving less than great reviews were staying in the cheaper rooms, in the old building. I didn’t see these rooms, but this is all I can imagine, as the room I was in was fantastic. Huge size, very comfortable bed, amazing sea views. I loved the place and stayed an extra night because it was so nice there. It’s in a quiet area, but restaurants and bars etc. aren’t far away, if you’ve got a car. The only slight negatives were the odd design of the bathroom (shower head, but no shower screen or high bracket to take a shower) meaning that it was either a bath, or a shower whilst sitting, with the latter getting water all over the place; and the service could also be improved in a number of areas, but overall everyone was very friendly and a pleasure to deal with.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the hotel, but can only recommend the slightly more expensive rooms in the new building. Amazing views and first class rooms. I’m certain this hotel will have at least one extra star before too long.

I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking or a great place to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Stay in the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WATraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Overall, this property continue to be a good place to stay at. A bit pricey if one does not use a discount booking agent.
The room I had come with inconsistent water temperature in the shower, regardless of how many times it was adjusted. The danger being for children that could become boxed in, as the shower door opens inward leaving very little room to escape

Room Tip: S.W. facing rooms pushed the airconditioner to the max, and I finally requested maintenence to check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryCowboyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere. The checkin counter area has parts of the roof missing and the staff are not very friendly or helpful.
There is supposed to be a mini mart and cafe/bakery but these were completely empty with no goods or staff and look as though they have never been used. There is a basic gym but it is not air-conditioned.
Even with a car it is a pain to drive to other locations nearby for simple shops and there were no decent restaurants within a 10-15km radius. The restaurant in the hotel was very poor standard and my penang curry was served with raw shrimp. The prices were very high by thai standards and especially for the simple meals provided.
The room is extremely large but bare and no functional furniture except for the bed (A wing). The work desk has a stool instead of a chair and is no good for people trying to work. The bathroom has no real functional shower as you have to kneel in the bathtub where it is mounted or hold it yourself. Water goes all throughout the room as there is no screen. The air conditioner is also very noisy.
The only good point about the hotel is the fast internet but I suspect it is only due to the fact there were very few guests at all staying there!

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rayong
1.5 mi away
Purimas Beach Hotel & Spa
19.2 mi away
Sea Sand Sun Resort
Sea Sand Sun Resort
#34 of 63 in Rayong
39 reviews
13 mi away
D Varee Diva Central Rayong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
D Varee Xpress Chalet
D Varee Xpress Chalet
#27 of 63 in Rayong
11 reviews
3 mi away
Grand Garden Hotel & Serviced Apartment
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Rayong City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Phala Cliff Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Phala Cliff Beach Resort

Address: 241-242 Moo 6 Pala Road | Ban Chang, Rayong 21130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Rayong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rayong
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Rayong
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Rayong
Price Range: £28 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Phala Cliff Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Phala Cliff Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phala Cliff Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing