We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place where time slows down and you and nature become 1 .....”
Review of Tenta Nakara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenta Nakara
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Thalang District
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a place where time slows down and you and nature become 1 .....”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

from mainland Phuket everyone will wonder where you're going , everyone is waiting for their ferry / boat from a jetty but not you....you will just take a small speedboat directly from the beach ....no jetty no pier ........once you reach the island you will see how isolated this place is and it makes u feel like u have just landed on a secret lil paradise ......after the lemongrass drink in the bar they will bring you up the hill into your big Tents , i still remember walking up the steps amidst the bushes and trees a small frog jumped into my palm like its greeting me ....that just defines what you are about to experience here ....just a rechargeable battery pack for electricity , wifi at the bar only between 6-9pm ...you will start noticing the nice lil things and time slows down and you and your partner will just appreciate what nature has to offer ......it was just perfect for us coming from Mainland Phuket .....we will definitely be back again......in fact Tentanakara has made us gone searching for similar experiences in other places ....we have found a few ...but nothing matches this Tentanakara experience ......

Room Tip: a lil higher up .....where when u wake up u will get to see the beautiful trees and the beach ......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazleeSuip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    37
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A 15 minute boat ride away from Ao Po pier and you arrive at the beautiful tenta nekara eco resort. The resort is build against the hill in the middle of a tropical rainforest. The "rooms" are tents in a house on stilts with just the roof and a large veranda overlooking the garden and the sea. The tents had comfortable and large beds and 2 separate open air bathrooms. The eco part consisted of only electricity between 6-10pm in the restaurant. The rooms has a small fan and bed light connected to a rechargeable battery that lasted all night. You need to return those at breakfast and collect a fully charged one at sunset. The restaurant provides oil lamps to light your path back to the room. I do recommend to bring a powerful LED flashlight to prevent stepping on snails, frogs and other small jungle critters. Another recommendation is to keep the tent closed at all times to prevent mozzies ruining your night and other cold-blooded creatures to sneak in. The people at the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. The choices in food were great although the portions were small. Plenty of cold beer available. This also attracts a lot of visitors who anchor their sailboat at the resort. I have some improvement points: the resort maintains its eco-bliss perfectly. However at both ends of the resort grounds there is a lot of garbage piled up which partly deflates the resort's eco image. An another point for improvement is the price/quality of the activities. They are pretty pricey what you can expect when there is no competition around. However make sure you make sure people get what they are paying for. We went on a snorkeling trip to the Khai islands. We were dropped at Koh Khai Nok the largest island with fish coming almost up to the shore but overcrowded with Chinese tourists in life vests feeding the fish and dropping the plastic bags either in the sea or on the shore. The coral is mostly dead but still a good number of tropical fish can be spotted. Apparently the smaller Khai Nai is the better snorkeling spot of the two islands. However the boat wanted to return to the resort while the package consisted of 2 snorkeling spots. Lack of mastering each other's languages didn't help in explaining we wanted a second snorkeling stop. Eventually the boat dropped us at Koh Rang Yai a pearl selling tourist trap for chinese and russians. When we complained about the bad experience upon our return at the resort the management offered a discounted price. If you do the snorkeling trip make sure the staff explains the boat's man their will be 2 stops at both Khai islands.

Couple of remarks on the comments below: the main generator only runs from 6-10pm. There was construction going on where occasionally a generator was turned on during the day however not disturbing at all. The beach is pretty clean. Little to no litter on the beach except for leaves and dead branches. Don't expect a five star perfectly broomed golden beach. Last thing: yes the roof has an asbestos layer. Asbestos is perfectly save as long as it isn't cut, broken or sawed. So don't start removing the roofing ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruza, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Hello, I'm glad to add my 5 cents to reviews.

Location is very good cos it's close to Phuket, something like 20 min to pier by car and then another 20 min on longboat, it's close but it differ so..

You can hang right on the beach, it's really good and empty. There is some corals as far as I can remember and you still can snorkel a lot cos water is clear. Murena, some really huge sea hedgehogs. On low tide you have to walk to deeper water it may be not very convenient.
On other hand on low tide u can take a canoe and paddle around abit, it's fun
There is nearby beach (called like Daily Trip beach) is crowdy till 4pm, so it was nothing very interesting there. Beach is near, like 200m, but you have to swim or climb through the rocks if u good with it (no slippers!), or walk through the middle of the island like 20 min.
Jungles and walk paths are great, we were on west coast, impressive views there, nice small village.

Resort: bungalows were great, we were in three different ones, all good. No walls, so nights were not humid, no need to turn fan on. Sleeping in the jungle was impressive, cicades starting at dawn - really helps to wake u up. Oil lamps make very authentic light but can be smelly so don't leave it for long.

Mosquitos: nothing to talk about, close to none. We didn't have extra tent over the beds - no need.

All bungalows have sea view, some with bigger terraces which is good for yoga for example. Toilet rooms are impressive, no roofs)). Family (double) bungalows have extra shower and washing basin.
Kitchen is great, asian breakfast with con gee - must have. All usual Thai food - great, oysters - great. Bar - very good, "margarita" was something, good choice of music (6-10 pm, again all very nice and quiet).
Very good base for excursions - you can just follow suggestions on the website (Ao Phangnga etc.).
Off topic: Regarding Phangnga - we preferred to book our private longboat with a couple of canoes instead of joining common trip, it was a good idea. Consider NOT to go to two usual stops on this trip: fisherman "village" (food and service were rubbish) and some central island in the park where everybody stop just to pay 200bht and see nothing.

There are two lovely dogs in the resort, Dara and Chaya, both just love to swim with u on the canoe and to walk through the island.. Chaya can be wary to new people so don't try to hug and muzzle her from the beginning, go walk this lady for a start and soon she will ask your leave to sleep in your room )). If you walk with them to the village take care of them - they can hunt on chickens and cats, and can be aggressive to locals, nothing serious, but keep an eye on them.

Service was very good, helpful reception, they sorted all our needs there and on Phuket. Massage on the beach was good enough, we took it several times.

As a conclusion - website tells and shows the true and suggests the right things, it is the best bungalows I ever been. Definitely recommend and will come again.

Room Tip: My friend was on the right hand side (13?) and said there was stronger breeze in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dk_demme_dpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Hi there, thank you for the wonderful hospitality and we had a great stay ! hotel is quiet, back to basics & i think that's the whole aim of the hotel anyways. appreciating lush greenery, pure fresh air and practically like living in a rainforest. thoroughly recharged & rejived!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayfun80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We absolutely loved staying at Tenta Nakara. Waking up to the sound of the waves and the sun on your face was one of the highlights of our whole trip to Thailand. Because there are no walls around you, you feel like you are sleeping out in the jungle, it was wonderful. The only trouble is the cost of the transfers. There are no buses as far as I could tell to the marina, so you have to get a taxi to/from the airport and to Phuket town or other marinas to catch ferries. The taxi plus the longboat ride to get to Tenta Nakara costs more than a night's lodgings! So, even though it looks excellent value for money when you book the room, once you factor in the transfers, the cost quickly escalates.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

The tent bungalow and accomodations and staff were great. The beach was pretty small. We were in #10 right above staff and generator.... generator runs from 4pm to 10 pm certainly not conducive to a restful afternoon reading. The concept pretty good but not to well executed... if you go make sure you are far away as possible from the generator kind of a bummer for us...

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jaeskel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My Wife’s honest account of TentaNakara visit on 7th Feb 2013 to 11th Feb 2013 (Chinese year of the Snake).

TentaNakara is a great place to visit, friendly staff, great food, a beautiful island and clear blue waters. They do tell you it’s going to be back to nature; no electric etc. and the fact that they spray the poles of the huts to discourage snakes and spiders. They also tell you to keep your zips closed on the tents at all times and I was fine with this info and happy to go, after all it really is on the edge of the jungle so prepare to go back to nature in a big way. This spraying is all to stop animals crawling up into your bed chamber, but the trouble is if you have a tree overhead your hut then things are just as likely to drop out of it from above, which defeats the afore mentioned objective.
And these precautions are all very well as long as the resorts Staff adhere to the same rules. We went to TentaNakara arriving Feb 7th 2013 just in time for my birthday and our 38th wedding anniversary. First night all went well then the second day (my birthday and wedding anniversary) we popped back to the room at about 4pm to collect something and I said to Dave look there is a snake crawling up my curtain. Pulling it forward we were to be confronted with a 4ft long golden tree snake hanging from the curtains directly over our bed!! When we requested for the staff to help remove the snake they got all panicky and said “you didn’t keep your tent zipped up”. “Oh Yes I did” I said.
Any way along came 3 men with a stick and bit of wire and after what must have been half an hour with men jumping all over the bed and no sign of being able to catch the serpent, Dave my husband threw a towel over its head and grabbed it and gave it to the staff to remove. Then as promised the cleaning staff came and put clean bedding on our bed while we went for a walk to the restaurant to get a drink. On our return to a clean room we found that the staff had duly closed the front of the tent but had left the back zip completely wide open from the open air bathroom into the bedroom! I was not happy at all I can say and so we had to then do another full check of the room for any animals. We did not make a fuss to the staff as there seemed no point and we didn’t want to make more of an incident out of it. I did not sleep or even close my eyes that night until, totally exhausted, finally at 5am I dozed for 2 hours.
We had two more nights left with me on edge and the next night Dave went to check the room before we went to bed and said all was ok. I had a lot of wine and slept better that night then had one more restless night and we left. It wasn’t until we returned home to England that Dave told me that on one of the other two nights the staff had not zipped up the tent properly, leaving a bottom zip undone when they changed the bed linen again.
So please if you are going to TentaNakara then check your rooms carefully. We were told a green tree snake is not poisonous, but on looking on the web its does say that they can be mildly poisonous so take care. Also be aware that you will also be likely to get frogs in the bathroom as Dave had to eject many on a daily basis although I can cope with these even if they do hide in your bath towel and make you jump when you pick it up.

Jane Hanna

Room Tip: Make sure your tent is fully zipped at all times!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riversidebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
0.0 mi away
Villa Zolitude Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Centara Villas Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket
#31 of 133 in Karon
1,092 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boomerang Village Resort
Boomerang Village Resort
#18 of 56 in Kata Beach
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#6 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,311 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,827 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenta Nakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenta Nakara

Property: Tenta Nakara
Address: Phuket, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#31 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenta Nakara 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Possibly the only Luxury Tent-Island Resort in Phuket. The limited use of this small-unspoiled Island hideaway enhances the genuine feeling of inner peace. Guests are provided with oil lamps and candles used for light while electricity are generated and used only in the restaurant area. Luxury tent accommodations under the palm trees and the stars in permanent tent structures comfortably furnished with wooden floors, raised 6 ft. bed, en suite bathroom. Chill out at your own outdoor terrace. All units have magnificent view of Phang Nga Bay and stunning beauty of surrounding islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Sawasdee, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tenta Nakara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenta Nakara Hotel Thalang
Tenta Nakara Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing