We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great friendly retreat, very secluded and very relaxing!”
Review of Tenta Nakara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenta Nakara
Ranked #60 of 95 Hotels in Thalang District
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great friendly retreat, very secluded and very relaxing!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We had booked transfers from the airport and were expecting to arrive with a driver ready and waiting to take us to the pier for a boat ride over to the island. Unfortunately this wasn't the case and after contacting the reception staff many apologies were made and a taxi finally turned up (albeit after a 30minute wait outside the airport being hassled by other taxi drivers). The taxi that eventually picked us up was a thrilling ride with several dangerous overtaking manoeuvres on blind bends and the usual sob stories of not having enough money for food but apparently plenty for a flashy cd changer and smartphone coming from the driver.

The boat ride over to the island was a great experience, but not for the faint hearted! We clambered over several other boats and onto on a old long tail open topped boat with an extremely loud and old car engine strapped to a propellor on the back. The trip was fairly choppy with a fair bit of sea spray but a good bit of fun and a chance to travel like the locals. Upon arrival at the beach we were greater by the entire staff (3 workers, it's a very small resort) who helped us carry our baggage to our room and were very accommodating giving us complimentary cold drinks and all the information about the resort we needed (in pretty good english).

The room was a large canvas tent built on a timber platform and frame, very back to nature! The room had no air conditioning so quite hot in peak season, yet the bed was decent and it was all done to a clean and comfortable standard. The rooms had running water and a flushing toilet but no lights and no electricity, however we were aware of this and the provided lanterns were adequate. The restaurant building provided an opportunity to charge electronics between 6 and 10pm and the wifi internet connection was also available free of charge between these times. Food and drinks were served throughout the day. In general the food was very nice, although there are no other options on the island so you are forced to pay their fair yet slightly inflated prices. The fruit smoothies are highly recommended.

The beach in front of the resort was nice, yet a fair amount of rubbish had washed up onto the shore and the rocky seabed made for uncomfortable swimming. However the secluded nature of the resort made it very relaxing and we were happy to laze about on the sun loungers listening to the sounds of the rainforest surrounding the resort.

Overall the resort was great and I'd definitely recommend it for a 2 or 3 day stay, any longer and you'll risk boredom from the limited activities on offer but any less and you won't have the chance to experience the peacefulness and tranquility on offer.

Well done Tenta Nakara, thanks for a brilliant stay/experience!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    37
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Had a great 2 night stay at this unique resort. Very much back to nature with the sounds of the jungle all around. We had a VIP tent close to the beach and it was very spacious an clean. Food and staff were excellent. Highlights for me were the excellent beach and seeing fireflies every night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess0229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

It starts with no fancy stuff: arrival on the beach with a long-tail, wetting your feet. Amazing place with friendly people helping you from the boat. After a welcome drink we were guide uphill to the room-tent. Before entering the tent we came on a terrace floating high between trees. The tent was opened with a zip and there was a real room with a view. Spontaneously we both said: ooohhh! We didn't expect such a nice but simple decoration. A bathroom with open sky and a real little garden in front of the toilet.
You can find eat and drink in the restaurant-central place. Always served with delicateness. Fine and sophisticated Thai food. Don't forget to take your oil lamp and battery to your room. No electricity here. So be sure to charge your fancy electronic stuff in the restaurant during the generator time (18:00-22:00). Some personal flash-lights may be helpful.In any case the sparse lighting creates a fairy-like atmosphere.
The first morning the manager asked: may I guess at which hour you awake? He was right, with the sun. From then we where synchronized with the celestial universe.
I'am not a beach tourist. But I slowed down to read a book in the shadow of a tree at the border of the water. Simply that.
To have an idea of the dimension of the island, we did a tour in a canoe. It took us two hour to do the tour, we are not strong sportives. The interference of the other habitats on the island is minimal. We visit the local village and the Tourist Beach by a walk through the forest across the island. There is also a Ghost Resort. Almost finished bungalows completely abandoned.
The beach is full of life. Small crabs scatter in all directions when hiking a on the beach. When sitting there staring at the see your eye is sometimes cached by some moving shells, small here mite lobsters. We had also the visit of 50cm long lizard at the beach.
So it's a place for the ones who expect the little things of reality.
When we left it felt like a family farewell.

Room Tip: we had a tent at level 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisVanDamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

from mainland Phuket everyone will wonder where you're going , everyone is waiting for their ferry / boat from a jetty but not you....you will just take a small speedboat directly from the beach ....no jetty no pier ........once you reach the island you will see how isolated this place is and it makes u feel like u have just landed on a secret lil paradise ......after the lemongrass drink in the bar they will bring you up the hill into your big Tents , i still remember walking up the steps amidst the bushes and trees a small frog jumped into my palm like its greeting me ....that just defines what you are about to experience here ....just a rechargeable battery pack for electricity , wifi at the bar only between 6-9pm ...you will start noticing the nice lil things and time slows down and you and your partner will just appreciate what nature has to offer ......it was just perfect for us coming from Mainland Phuket .....we will definitely be back again......in fact Tentanakara has made us gone searching for similar experiences in other places ....we have found a few ...but nothing matches this Tentanakara experience ......

Room Tip: a lil higher up .....where when u wake up u will get to see the beautiful trees and the beach ......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazleeSuip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A 15 minute boat ride away from Ao Po pier and you arrive at the beautiful tenta nekara eco resort. The resort is build against the hill in the middle of a tropical rainforest. The "rooms" are tents in a house on stilts with just the roof and a large veranda overlooking the garden and the sea. The tents had comfortable and large beds and 2 separate open air bathrooms. The eco part consisted of only electricity between 6-10pm in the restaurant. The rooms has a small fan and bed light connected to a rechargeable battery that lasted all night. You need to return those at breakfast and collect a fully charged one at sunset. The restaurant provides oil lamps to light your path back to the room. I do recommend to bring a powerful LED flashlight to prevent stepping on snails, frogs and other small jungle critters. Another recommendation is to keep the tent closed at all times to prevent mozzies ruining your night and other cold-blooded creatures to sneak in. The people at the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. The choices in food were great although the portions were small. Plenty of cold beer available. This also attracts a lot of visitors who anchor their sailboat at the resort. I have some improvement points: the resort maintains its eco-bliss perfectly. However at both ends of the resort grounds there is a lot of garbage piled up which partly deflates the resort's eco image. An another point for improvement is the price/quality of the activities. They are pretty pricey what you can expect when there is no competition around. However make sure you make sure people get what they are paying for. We went on a snorkeling trip to the Khai islands. We were dropped at Koh Khai Nok the largest island with fish coming almost up to the shore but overcrowded with Chinese tourists in life vests feeding the fish and dropping the plastic bags either in the sea or on the shore. The coral is mostly dead but still a good number of tropical fish can be spotted. Apparently the smaller Khai Nai is the better snorkeling spot of the two islands. However the boat wanted to return to the resort while the package consisted of 2 snorkeling spots. Lack of mastering each other's languages didn't help in explaining we wanted a second snorkeling stop. Eventually the boat dropped us at Koh Rang Yai a pearl selling tourist trap for chinese and russians. When we complained about the bad experience upon our return at the resort the management offered a discounted price. If you do the snorkeling trip make sure the staff explains the boat's man their will be 2 stops at both Khai islands.

Couple of remarks on the comments below: the main generator only runs from 6-10pm. There was construction going on where occasionally a generator was turned on during the day however not disturbing at all. The beach is pretty clean. Little to no litter on the beach except for leaves and dead branches. Don't expect a five star perfectly broomed golden beach. Last thing: yes the roof has an asbestos layer. Asbestos is perfectly save as long as it isn't cut, broken or sawed. So don't start removing the roofing ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruza, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Hello, I'm glad to add my 5 cents to reviews.

Location is very good cos it's close to Phuket, something like 20 min to pier by car and then another 20 min on longboat, it's close but it differ so..

You can hang right on the beach, it's really good and empty. There is some corals as far as I can remember and you still can snorkel a lot cos water is clear. Murena, some really huge sea hedgehogs. On low tide you have to walk to deeper water it may be not very convenient.
On other hand on low tide u can take a canoe and paddle around abit, it's fun
There is nearby beach (called like Daily Trip beach) is crowdy till 4pm, so it was nothing very interesting there. Beach is near, like 200m, but you have to swim or climb through the rocks if u good with it (no slippers!), or walk through the middle of the island like 20 min.
Jungles and walk paths are great, we were on west coast, impressive views there, nice small village.

Resort: bungalows were great, we were in three different ones, all good. No walls, so nights were not humid, no need to turn fan on. Sleeping in the jungle was impressive, cicades starting at dawn - really helps to wake u up. Oil lamps make very authentic light but can be smelly so don't leave it for long.

Mosquitos: nothing to talk about, close to none. We didn't have extra tent over the beds - no need.

All bungalows have sea view, some with bigger terraces which is good for yoga for example. Toilet rooms are impressive, no roofs)). Family (double) bungalows have extra shower and washing basin.
Kitchen is great, asian breakfast with con gee - must have. All usual Thai food - great, oysters - great. Bar - very good, "margarita" was something, good choice of music (6-10 pm, again all very nice and quiet).
Very good base for excursions - you can just follow suggestions on the website (Ao Phangnga etc.).
Off topic: Regarding Phangnga - we preferred to book our private longboat with a couple of canoes instead of joining common trip, it was a good idea. Consider NOT to go to two usual stops on this trip: fisherman "village" (food and service were rubbish) and some central island in the park where everybody stop just to pay 200bht and see nothing.

There are two lovely dogs in the resort, Dara and Chaya, both just love to swim with u on the canoe and to walk through the island.. Chaya can be wary to new people so don't try to hug and muzzle her from the beginning, go walk this lady for a start and soon she will ask your leave to sleep in your room )). If you walk with them to the village take care of them - they can hunt on chickens and cats, and can be aggressive to locals, nothing serious, but keep an eye on them.

Service was very good, helpful reception, they sorted all our needs there and on Phuket. Massage on the beach was good enough, we took it several times.

As a conclusion - website tells and shows the true and suggests the right things, it is the best bungalows I ever been. Definitely recommend and will come again.

Room Tip: My friend was on the right hand side (13?) and said there was stronger breeze in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dk_demme_dpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Hi there, thank you for the wonderful hospitality and we had a great stay ! hotel is quiet, back to basics & i think that's the whole aim of the hotel anyways. appreciating lush greenery, pure fresh air and practically like living in a rainforest. thoroughly recharged & rejived!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayfun80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
0.0 mi away
Centara Villas Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket
#33 of 134 in Karon
1,099 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Zolitude Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,315 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,854 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenta Nakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenta Nakara

Property: Tenta Nakara
Address: Phuket, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#31 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenta Nakara 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Possibly the only Luxury Tent-Island Resort in Phuket. The limited use of this small-unspoiled Island hideaway enhances the genuine feeling of inner peace. Guests are provided with oil lamps and candles used for light while electricity are generated and used only in the restaurant area. Luxury tent accommodations under the palm trees and the stars in permanent tent structures comfortably furnished with wooden floors, raised 6 ft. bed, en suite bathroom. Chill out at your own outdoor terrace. All units have magnificent view of Phang Nga Bay and stunning beauty of surrounding islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Sawasdee, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tenta Nakara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenta Nakara Hotel Thalang
Tenta Nakara Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing