We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful spot and great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tenta Nakara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenta Nakara
Ranked #60 of 95 Hotels in Thalang District
Languedoc
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot and great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We did not stay at this resort, however we visited for dinner as we were sailing in the area.

The restaurant was excellent. Lovely food and great service and in fact looking back they offered great value for money too.

The overall vibe of the place is wonderful and I would love to go back to stay in the eco tree houses they offer.

Lovely staff and great service.

Wold go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-cdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    37
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Tenta Nakara was just amazing we had the most amazing time with the tree house being the best part. The tent was very clean and exactly like the pictures on the website, we had the panoramic sea view room and it was lovely. It isn't luxurious as there is no hot water to shower in but considering it was 33 degrees it was a benefit there was no hot water. (check for insects before you go into the bathroom).
The restaurant was lovely and the food was great, we had some of the best service in this place. Take a walk through the jungle path to the village on the other side to find a deserted beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savage1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palafolls, Spain
Level Contributor
212 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Tenta nakare is not a luxury place,the bungalows are nice but very basic,the food is very good but expensive,the staff is very nice but not professional,the VAT added to the bill is for thai standards a shame(just an extra for the owner)and,and,and….BUT the FEELING after 6 days here is totally unbeatable!!!!We visit one day the islands other resort(naka island resort)with cost 10 times more and i was happy to get back to tenta nakara.when the light turns down at 22.00,and the nature plays her symphony,your soul will feel free and you never will leaf this special resort.I hope to go back soon.greetings.

Room Tip: The higher the room,more breeze and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We just came back from a 10 day trip in Phucket and its surroundings. We all agreed that Tenta Nakara was the best place we stayed at (and we stayed at 5 star hotels within this trip). I will not get into the description of the tents, beach etc (great for us) which is well done in previous comments. Apart from the concept which seduced us in first place, we have met really great people (staff and guests). This reflected in the rest of our trip when we then noticed how unpersonal those big resorts and 5 star hotels can be... After all, it depends it depends on what you are looking for when traveling.

This is a great place to relax and get a real break from our hectic life.

Room Tip: We heard that the tents up the hills have better views but they also tend to be a bit more chilly. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GauthShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Back to basics, this eco friendly resort allows you to wind back and enjoy nature as it is. No air conditioning (though there is a nice seabreeze), no hot water and a very hard bed takes some getting use to. However, the tent/hut is quite roomy and the restaurant has loads of character and very genuine staff. It's hard to find such genuine service these days!

Wireless is also available in the main restaurant and electronic devices can be charged after 5pm (when they turn the generator on). Though if you come here, you want to come here purely to enjoy nature, wind down and laze about.

One more thing, don’t forget the insect repellent!!!

(Whilst they welcome kids and have kids books available at the restaurant, I would probably not recommend it - I have a 3 year old with me. The beach was quite rough when we were there and not many activities available that she could have joined in for – ie. kayaking, thai massage. We had planned to visit the islands by boat tour but the weather didn’t hold up for us).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I just spent the first 5 days of our honeymoon at Tenta Nakara. It really is paradise, surrounded by nature, with our own private beach. We loved the eco-friendly concept too. Just lazed around, swam, read books and generally unwound. The tent was fabulous, spacious and clean. We chose the top row seaview tent both for the privacy factor and the breathtaking view. Sunrise from our balcony was spectacular. The steep climb up the hill was our only form of excercise and helped to burn of the calories from cocktails on the beach :)
The staff are gorgeous! So friendly and by the end of the five days we felt like family. Also the beauty of a small place like this is the small group of people staying there are like-minded, enjoy the same things so tend to click. We met some lovely fellow travellers there.
As it says on the sign in the restaurant, "this place is not for everybody" but if you love nature and hate large hotels and resorts, this place is a real gem. Planning our next trip to Thailand already and Tenta Nakara is on our list!

Room Tip: Top row tents are private and offer the best views. However it is quite a steep climb, so be prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

First the good things about this resort: The location is very idyllic and romantic. Especially after leaving hectic Phuket you will feel happy to arrive on this tropical little island. The tented rooms are well constructed and offer lots of space and privacy. The beach is nice and great for swimming at high tide. Since the beach is only occupied by the resort's guests, it is very relaxed and quiet.
And now unfortunately the bad things: The transport to get to the island is quite expensive. We managed to arrange our own boat from Ao Por pier. It was cheaper than the boat offered by the hotel! I have to admit we had to bargain hard, but am sure that the owner bargained as well and therefore makes quite some profit on selling this boat trip to the guests.
We booked one of the more expensive tents in order to have a nice sea view. On our second day we walked around the resort and found out that other rooms had even better views. I would suggest that you check the sea view immediately on arrival, because we were not given a refund of the amount paid to much. The excuse was that our tent was closer to the restaurant. Who needs this?!
The food at the restaurant is tasty, but expensive for Thailand. On top of the high prices on the menu we also had to pay a service charge plus some taxes! This was the first and last time this happened in Thailand and I am sure that the owner once more makes some extra money with this practice.
Tenta Nakara is a beautiful place, but the greediness we came across spoilt our experience a bit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
0.0 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
0.0 mi away
Baan Krating Phuket Resort
0.0 mi away
Centara Villas Phuket
Centara Villas Phuket
#32 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
0.0 mi away
The Slate
The Slate
#1 of 9 in Nai Yang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Zolitude Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenta Nakara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenta Nakara

Property: Tenta Nakara
Address: Phuket, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#31 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenta Nakara 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Possibly the only Luxury Tent-Island Resort in Phuket. The limited use of this small-unspoiled Island hideaway enhances the genuine feeling of inner peace. Guests are provided with oil lamps and candles used for light while electricity are generated and used only in the restaurant area. Luxury tent accommodations under the palm trees and the stars in permanent tent structures comfortably furnished with wooden floors, raised 6 ft. bed, en suite bathroom. Chill out at your own outdoor terrace. All units have magnificent view of Phang Nga Bay and stunning beauty of surrounding islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Sawasdee, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tenta Nakara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenta Nakara Hotel Thalang
Tenta Nakara Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing