We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found”
Review of Kingsacre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsacre
Certificate of Excellence
WORCS
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We had a wonderful 3 week stay in villa 3 in January 2013. Any review cannot do justice to this idyllic hidden jem in Nai Yang. Glen & Christine have created a haven of tranquility in all aspects. Thank you both (and Tam ), we cannot wait to return. David & Margaret.

Room Tip: All 3 villas are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WORCSCOUPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsacre, Owner at Kingsacre, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
It was such a pleasure to welcome you both to our humble abode.
More to the point our shy and retiring resident rescue dog made inroads to becoming less shy with you, she is an excelent judge of character
see you next Christmas. Christine and Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
54
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We visited kingsacre from 26th December to 2nd January 2013. The accomodation was spacious, immaculate and the garden and pool very attractive and peaceful, only 3 rooms total.
Glen and Christine were very welcoming and helpful, the breakfast first class.
Nai Yang beach was about 10 minuits walk , good cheap restaurants and a fantastic party on the beach on new years eve.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaninteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsacre, Owner at Kingsacre, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you Alan and Jean, it was very good to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here, hope to meet you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We've just read the Review from Sue and Steve who were there when we were, and we can confirm every word. Our second stay too, and if you like the quieter side of Thailand, with interested and interesting English hosts and a wonderfully lush garden with the best kept pool ever, and near to the beach, there is nowhere better. Like others, I wish I didn't feel the need to pass this on to strangers who might one day be the obstacle in my partner and I returning to this bit of heaven when we want to - maybe not every year, but we will be back. We could not speak too highly of Glen and Christine's caring approach - they have created something quite unique here, and they deserve to be able to share it with travellers who like the special, small and quirky places to stay.

John & Paul

Room Tip: All three rooms have all you should need, but one is separate and just that bit more private - ask t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasparrow999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsacre, Owner at Kingsacre, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Always a great pleasure to have you both staying with us at Kingsacre, your comments are much valued as we know that you are both world travellersof first class destinations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Just returned from a 12 night stay at Kingsacre. It's our 2nd time here and it was just as good as the first. We stayed in Villa 1 which has been renamed as dragonfly since our last visit. The villa was lovely with a really comfortable bed (which some people seemed to strugle to get out of in a morning). The fridge was kept well stocked with cold drinks and more importantly tonic water (to keep the gin company) and bottles of Chang. One of our favorite parts of the holiday was returning to the villa after a nice meal and drinks in Nai Yang to enjoy a night cap on the patio. Glen has even fitted a ceiling fan to make sure we didn't get too hot and Christine provided candles and citronella for the oil burner to keep the pesky mossies away.

The gardens look as beautiful as ever. The pool was clean and cool and the sun beds comfortable. We didn't even go to the beach in the daytime as Kingsacre is too relaxing and is like your own personal garden and pool.

As ever, Glen and Christine looked after us. They really do go above and beyond what most people would do and you always appreciate the personal service they provide. Nothing is too much trouble and if you can put up with Glen's eclectic music compilations (ranging from Bay City Rollers to Rolf Harris to a touch of classical) together with his singing at breakfast, you do fine!! And speaking of breakfast.....a good cup of tea, together with orange juice, fresh fruit, cereals, toast and a cooked breakfast (full English, scrambled or poached eggs, omelettes and now, by popular demand, bacon and egg butties). All cooked to order by Glen and really good!!

It's a wonderful place owned by a wonderful couple with a wonderful dog, Tam. We can't recommend it highly enough. We will be back!!

Steve and Sue

Room Tip: We love Dragonfly (villa 1) but they are all beautiful. Just ask Glen and Christine if you need any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chappy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsacre, Owner at Kingsacre, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
It was wonderful to welcome you both here again and to celebrate this new year, your review makes it all worth while.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

After having travelled to the Nai Yang area of Phuket, Thailand, on several previous occasions in the past, this time round we were looking for somewhere to stay that was close enough to Nai Yang Village and beach, but secluded enough to offer us some peace and quiet away from the usual resort and tourist atmosphere. After careful research, we found a gem of a family run bungalow complex managed by Glen and Christine about a ten minute walk from the main beach and restaurants. On arrival we were pleased to discover this wonderful place exceeded all expectations. The gardens are beautiful and centre piece here is an immaculate pool and lawned area. The rooms are large, airy and very well appointed with a fridge, satellite TV, hot and cold water server, coffee and tea, a large comfortable bed, veranda, Air con/dehumidifier with the bedding and towels changed regularly. The hosts are straight talking and very open Brits. Glen found the time to take me to get an infection from a bite in Ko Lipe checked out at the local pharmacy, which showed us we were in caring hands; something which continued throughout our stay. Wonderful too was the freshly cooked and varied quality breakfast every morning. Wifi is also available at no charge.We will be back in the Nai Yang area in the future as we find it ideal for a short break before flying back from Phuket to the U.K. - So Christine and Glen, if you read this, expect us to book early as I see this home from home being harder to secure as more and more people discover it- your grateful friends Clive and Loa

Room Tip: Three bungalows in total- but two bungalows are connected by a hall which is ideal for larger groups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swifty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsacre, Owner at Kingsacre, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Glen and I appreciate your valuable response, we are delighted to have provided you both with a holiday to remember, we look forward to you returning one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have recently returned from Kingsacre and find it hard to put into words what an absolutely fantastic holiday we had. We were greeted at Phuket airport by Glen and swiftly taken to Kingsacre. There we were introduced to Christine and Tam (the dog) and were made to feel very welcome in their wonderful home. After a cold beer and a friendly chat we were taken to villa 1 which was very light, airy and spacious , such a refreshing change from some hotel rooms we have stayed in previously. The villa was very well equipped and all the fixtures and fittings a very high standard. The gardens are absolutely beautiful, and with just 2 other villas in the complex, there is plenty of space. Most days we were on our own, so it felt like we had our own private garden and pool !!! The location for us was perfect, just a short walk to the beach, shops and restaurants. Breakfast on the covered patio was lovely, self service cereals, toast, drinks etc , various exotic fresh fruits lovingly prepared by Christine and hot food choice cooked fresh to order by Glen yum yum : ) We found it very helpful having English hosts, who are both keen to help and advise on where to eat out, what trips to take (some they can take you on) and general information / interesting facts about Phuket. Special Thanks to Glen, Christine and Robert who all assisted me following a little accident with a glass : ( 2 hours and 9 stitches at the hospital later , Glen was on hand (get it ?) to butter and cut my toast !! Thanks very much for such a wonderful time at Kingsacre, we hope to return later in the year to share this piece of paradise with our daughter and her partner.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsacre, Owner at Kingsacre, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for your wondeful review, special thanks for returning to stay with us and bringing your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We had a wonderful 16 day holiday at Kingsacre from Christmas Eve 2011 to January 9th 2012. It was our first time in Thailand and we picked an absolute gem of a place to stay.

Kingascre is a small complex of 3 villas set in beautiful gardens. Each villa is different and all are furnished to a high standard. We stayed in Villa 1, which stands alone towards the rear of the gardens. The accomodation consists of a large living room, with a king sized bed. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have every slept in, better even than a Marriott! Biggest difficulty was dragging ourselves out of it in a morning! The room had beautiful high quality furniture and everything was well maintained. There was also a water cooler and a small fridge to keep drinks and snacks in. The bathroom was fully tiled with a nice shower. The villas are serviced every day and the sheets and towels are changed regularly. It was more like the service you expect in a hotel rather than a villa.

The gardens were absolutely stunning. The owners, Christine and Glen, have developed Kingscare from a former rubber plantation and the gardens are rightly their pride and joy. Tropical plants are everywhere, including a lovely collection of orchids. In the centre of the complex is a pool surrounding by a lawn. We spent our days sat aound the pool and because there are only 3 villas, we quite often had the pool to ourselves. The sunbeds were hand-made by Glen and are perfect for enjoying the sun! Glen also acts as Head Chef and made us breakfast every morning. You have cereals, juice, fresh fruit, toast and as much tea and coffee as you like. You can then choose from omelette, eggs (scrambled, poached, fried) or a full cooked breakfast, which is all included in the price. Our breakfasts were so good that most days we didn't manage lunch.

In the evenings we'd walk down to Nai Yang beach, which is about a 10 minute stroll. Its a nice resort with a lovely beach and there are lots of bars and restaurants, many directly on the beach. We ate mainly at Octopus, Rotin Charin, and Savoy and drank at Mama Mia's and Wats. All were fantastic and we never had a bad meal or drink (are there any bad drinks??). Then we'd wander back to Kingascre and enjoy a drink sat out on our terrace overlooking the garden.

We loved everything about Kingascre. What made it extra special was the owners, Glen and Christine. They live in a bungalow on the complex and do everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. When we asked if we would need to book for Xmas Day night, they invited us to join them and their mates at a beach barbeque. They made us feel like friends, not just guests and they could not do enough to make sure we had a lovely time. They arranged 2 trips for us, one around Phuket and another to James Bond Island, with Christine acting as our tour guide.

Overall Kingsacre and Nai Yang was fantastic and I would go back in a heartbeat. Its perfect for couples, especially if you're looking to relax and soak up all Phuket has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chappy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsacre, Owner at Kingsacre, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Glen and I were truly humbled by your glowing review, Tam has made a new friend too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
0.4 mi away
Nai Yang Beach Resort and Spa
2.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Slate
The Slate
#2 of 9 in Nai Yang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dewa Phuket Resort Nai Yang Beach
0.1 mi away
Chez Charly Bungalow
Chez Charly Bungalow
#1 of 19 in Nai Yang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsacre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsacre

Property: Kingsacre
Address: 83/8 Moo 5, Sakhu | Near Nai Yang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsacre is a privately owned and run (English)villa resort, close to Nai Yang Beach and National Park, and only 5 minutes from Phuket International airport. It is set in a waled tropical garden with maximum privacy, a large swimming pool and stunning gardens ideal for relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kingsacre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsacre Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing