We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hotel is not particularly well located they offer a shuttle to the beach but it was not easy to coordinate a return back to the hotel from the beach.

The rooms were new and fairly well decorated but our room safe was faulty. We asked them to fix the safe which they apparently tried to do. When we got back to the room we had some money stolen from the safe (not all but there were notes missing). I complained to the manager who didn't seem particularly surprised and offered a free transfer to the airport when we checked out. This didn't compensate the money that was stolen.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Menu_Sleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    18
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
32
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We got this hotel through a special deal, so we got what we paid for.
The hotel staff were nice and friendly, but not too helpful when it came to helping us book activites & day trips ( they tried, but they couldn't get through the tour operators and gave up).
The location is about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach, but there was no walking path so we used the shuttle service provided by the hotel, which is available every hour until 18.00.
The pool area is quite nice, but their spa is average and it's cheaper to get massages at the beach.
The apartment we rented was a self service apartment - quite bright and new, however it didn't get cleaned while we were there, no new towels or toilet paper. Facilities were quite poor, no toaster or microwave. There were only two glasses and 4 spoons. No plates, no kitchen towels, no washing liquid or any other necessary kitchen utencils.
The food in the restaurant was't good at all. We ordered prawn pad thai - the prawns weren't fresh and quite dry and the noodles were soggy. We also ordered chicken curry, which tasted like boiled cocnut water - no flavour at all!
Overall, the place was average and I would only reccommend if you manage to get a cheap deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed in Pool Penthouse unit. On the arrival we got the warm welcome, the staffs was very friendly and smile all the time . It makes me feel home. The room is very large and the pool is absolutely fantastic.
The breakfast was average.
It will take about 10 mins to Surin beach but it is not a problem at all coz The shuttle bus service will be available every hour from the hotel and if you book for the way back, they also will go to pick you up.
It's really fantastic fog us and I will definitely coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Its been a good place to relax at Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort and Spa., where you can feel the presence of a quiet place and enjoy the watching the mountain view and also the beautiful seaview at your own balcony, and about its staff they are approachable and also very friendly to their guest,.the food were also good, the facilities are complete, they had the fitness center were you can enjoy many equipments also they have thier own spa room where you can have a spa massage to feel more relaxing.But regarding the place it is far from shopping mall you will have to ride a taxi first before you can get there like Central Festival and Big C it takes time to go there when you are here in Bangtao.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina28_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valla Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

My family booked this resort because it advertised with "a fully equipped kitchen" but this was not so. The kitchen only had tea and coffee making facilities. We did ask about the lack of facilities and were told that we could hire equipment for a nominal amount (which we ended up doing for one evening). I was more upset with the fact that it was false advertising. As had we known we certainly would not have booked this resort/residence. It also advertised as being close to the beach but was quite a walk, tho complimentary shuttle whenever we wanted was available. Bangtao township is smelly and not inviting. We also asked for 2 maps of the area which was photocopied for us but as it turned out on the back of the page we found to our horror that they had photocopied on two sheets of paper that had complaints on them! One complaint was from a person on holidays and the other from an owner of one of the apartments! Staff were friendly tho inefficient. Breakfast okay. Definitely wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Onlhy room to book is a pool view. Wouldn't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Not much i can say apart from there are better places in Bang Tao than this one..
Manger and Staff very rude and unhelpful. The Managers attitude was awful...
Poorly built and the top floor jacuzzi rooms have no safety barriers so someone could fall off.. Dangerous if you have kids..
If you want a relaxing holiday this is not the place as the pool has loud music playing all the time so you cannot relax by the pool. Also there is a lot of building going on near by and there is a lot of noise from Lorries going by.. Also the roads to the resort are bad if you hire a small car.
Food poor standard. 15 - 20 Minute walk to the Beach.
Like another reviewer said "Avoid at all cost"
For the same price you could stay at Twin Palms just up the road which is a 5 star Hotel, not Condominiums.. We ate there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

hotel boasts being close to the beach. it is close on a map but walking will take you 10-15 minutes through smelly area. if you have non-pool view you will have a dump-view. breakfast is ok

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JTMUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
0.5 mi away
Bangtao Village Resort
Bangtao Village Resort
#28 of 34 in Choeng Thale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kris Resort
The Kris Resort
#81 of 95 in Thalang District
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Phuket
Beachfront Phuket
#15 of 86 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Park Surin
The Park Surin
#3 of 27 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surin Sabai Condominium
Surin Sabai Condominium
#17 of 54 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sansuri Resort Phuket
Sansuri Resort Phuket
#7 of 54 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa

Property: Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa
Address: 110/111 Moo 3, Surin Beach Soi 8, Srisoontorn Rd | Cherngtalay, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LUXURY OF SPACE - generous 190 sqm. Two Bedroom Suites, spacious 76 sqm. One Bedroom Suites. Full European kitchen & kitchenettes. Set in Bangtao’s peaceful village, Bangtao Tropical Resort & Spa offers large suites suitable for family holidays and romantic breaks. The restaurant offers sumptuous Thai feasts and tasty western treats.The staff are trained to give the highest levels of service to make your stay a truly unforgettable experience.Tone up in our state of the art gym or chill out in our spa with a sauna or steam bath followed by a fabulous Thai massage or beauty treatment.Enjoy cocktail's at sunset around our enormous free form pool with built-in Jacuzzi and safe children s play pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangtao Tropical Residence Hotel Thalang
Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort And Spa
Bangtao Tropical Residence Resort & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing