We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Golf in Phuket”
Review of Laguna Golf Phuket

Laguna Golf Phuket
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The newly upgraded and award-winning Laguna Golf Phuket located in scenic BangTao Bay, Asia's integrated resort, featuring fantastic golf experience and facilities designed for all golfers.
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is a 5 star golf facility, the club house with very good restaurant, good changing rooms, caddie service and well kept golf course.

1  Thank Vijayakumar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at Laguna Golf Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Vijayakumar K,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Laguna Phuket Golf Club here on TripAdvisor, we truly value your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our golf facility so much and we truly value your kind words.

I'll be sure to pass on our positive comments to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Laguna Phuket Golf Club soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Wilson
Asst Director of Golf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

only 9 holes with the back 9 being renovated. Overpriced for only 9 but well priced if you play 2 nines (i.e. 18 holes)
Great to be able to walk and good caddies. Course condition is bordering on poor particularly because rogue grasses have been allowed to overtake the fairways and greens. Good caddies but limited English.

Thank AndrewJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at Laguna Golf Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear AndrewJJB,

Thank you for taking the time to review Laguna Phuket Golf Club here on TripAdvisor, we truly value your feedback.

Currently we have 9 holes open for play, as we undergo the first phase of a full golf course upgrade project. This project is designed to fully upgrade our golf course design including drainage and irrigation systems.

In the meantime, our team is also working hard to improve the playing surfaces of the existing 9 holes. We have already 75% completed the re-surfacing of #1 and #4 fairways and will be treating the greens further in the coming weeks.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you return to Laguna Phuket very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Wilson
Asst Director of Golf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Played here last 9/13. There were 5 of us, my wife and uncle and then my sister (who i haven't seen in a long time) and her fiancee who flew in from Singapore. We paid the full fee for 18 holes and played 2 flights of 3 and 2 players respectively. To make the long story short we tried to play as 1 group after 9 holes since the traffic was not that bad. The female starter was not very flexible and was actually bordering on rude plus her solution was to actually send one of our players home! Very crass! Ruined the whole experience

Thank KarlDionela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at Laguna Golf Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear KarlDionela,

Thank you for taking the time to review Laguna Phuket Golf Club here on TripAdvisor, we truly value your feedback. Please allow me to respond to your comments regarding your experience.

Firstly, to ensure all of our members and guests enjoy the best golf experience, we do have a strict maximum of 4 balls per group. Laguna Phuket Golf Club has an excellent reputation for speed of play, with 18 rounds taking on average a maximum of 4 hours.

Regarding your particular case; you arrived in a group of 5 people, our Pro Shop and Starters clearly explained to you about the above mentioned policy - which is why you started your round in two groups. We do not allow 5+ balls - no matter how quiet the golf course is that day. Your comment about our Starter “sending one player home” is inaccurate, as one of your group actually asked to stop playing and walk around the back 9 with your group.

Using this feedback, I will certainly look into how our team explained our policies to you. We do try to be as flexible as possible, always putting the members and guests interests first – however sometimes we must uphold a certain policies in the interest of overall fairness and consistency. I sincerely apologize that you found our staff member rude and I will investigate this matter personally.

Please email me at paulw@lagunaphuket.com ahead of your next visit to Phuket. I would welcome the chance to make up for your experience with a special green fee rate and also credit you for the 9 holes your 5th player did not play.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you return to Laguna Phuket very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Wilson
Asst Director of Golf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Played this course and the greens and fairways are in really bad shape. The fairways have been taken over by quack grass. Not sure what has happened on the greens. Really bad drainage was like walking in a bog most of the course. They are completely redoing 9 holes.Will stay the caddy's were good compared to the ones we have in Malaysia. Would never pay full price for this course they ran a special 1/2 price for 9 holes after 3 on Tuesday and Thursday still cost way to much for the shape of the course!,

Thank mumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at Laguna Golf Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Mumkin,

Thank you for taking the time to review Laguna Phuket Golf Club here on TripAdvisor, we truly value your feedback.

We certainly take on board your comments regarding our golf course condition. Currently we have 9 holes open for play, as we undergo the first phase of a full golf course upgrade project. This project is designed to fully upgrade our golf course design including drainage and irrigation systems. We expect to complete all 18 holes by the end of 2014. Unfortunately from July - Sept the weather in Phuket can be extremely wet, and as a result the current golf course can take time to drain effectively.

We do have very competitive low season green fee rates, when compared to the other Phuket golf courses. In my opinion our Tues/Thurs 50% after 3pm or the Wednesday "Sport Day" special promotions offer good value, especially when combined with nice weather!

Thank you for your comments regarding our Caddies. We hold weekly training sessions with our Caddies to continually refresh their knowledge. In addition, we pride ourselves on some of the most experienced Caddies in Phuket - many working with us for over 20 years!

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you return to Laguna Phuket very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Wilson
Asst Director of Golf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

You will get real golf corse and service .i use to go there every Sunday . Management , service , and staff are excellent . Try once and get forever.

Thank Ajstailorshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, Manager at Laguna Golf Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Ajstailorshop,

Thank you for taking the time to review Laguna Phuket Golf Club here on TripAdvisor, we truly value your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Wilson
Asst Director of Golf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laguna Golf Phuket also viewed

 

Been to Laguna Golf Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing