We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Quarter Resort Phuket
Ranked #67 of 104 Thalang District B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We booked this hotel after staying in budget accommodation for the majority of our trip so were looking for a bit of luxury. The hotel website quoted 8600 baht for a room for 3 people (cozy deluxe) but we decided to go up to the hotel itself to see if we could get a better deal. The staff told us there was only one room available, which was a cozy grande - I can't remember the exact figure but it was approaching double the price. I therefore booked the original room I saw on the website online and showed the staff the confirmation email - they were a little confused, which seemed odd as the room was advertised on their own website so must have been available! Upon checking in, we saw the hotel was nowhere near full capacity, with lots of vacant rooms - very confusing. 

The hotel itself is gorgeous: light, airy, tranquil and relaxing. The rooms are huge and well equipped with a kitchen and utensils etc. The shower tended to go hot and cold, which could be annoying. The bed was comfy although the air con was very noisy and started leaking water - something the staff did not attend to after I complained. There was also a very noisy fan in our bathroom cupboard, which would start at random times throughout the day and night - it was loud enough to wake us up. We did ask for this to be looked at least 3 times in our 4 night stay but it was never fixed and no explanation was given. When walking past the ground floor rooms, even with the shutters closed you can still see directly into the living room section of the room which is a problem if you want privacy. The hotel is on a very steep hill which would be a issue if you have mobility problems. 

The pool is nice and rarely used by the guests so was peaceful during the days. There are loungers outside the room next to the pool, which were great to read on although they didn't get any direct sunlight. The pool is in the shade for the majority of the day (this may be seasonal?) so we needed to go to the beach to sunbathe. The hotel will arrange a free taxi to the beach at 11am or 2pm, returning at 2.30pm or 5pm. They will take you to the nearby Surin beach or Laem Sing, which is a 10 min drive. 

There is a DVD player in the room, and the hotel rent a selection of around 30 DVDs free of charge but they are copied DVDs which we could not get to play without skipping and jumping. 

The breakfast is until 10.30am and has a decent selection of Thai and continental food. The chef will make you your choice of eggs, and I found most items to be of a high standard. 

The main issue with this hotel is the staff. They are incredibly pleasant but it appears they are poorly managed. Each complaint seemed to be a logged in a diary but nothing was actually ever done. The aircon/fan fault was a recurrent problem which was never dealt with, our room was not cleaned on our last night - when I complained someone showed up around an hour later, which was unacceptable as we were almost finished getting ready to go out again. One night we arrived back at the hotel around 1am and the front desk clerk was asleep on the sofa in the lobby. Again, they weren't unpleasant but they were inefficient and not what I would expect for a 4 star hotel. 

I would probably not stay in this hotel again unless at a greatly reduced price as the standard of the staff and the hotel issues are not worth anywhere near the price they charge. 

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank secondtoughest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

Nice rooms, very large unfortunately the aircon was noisy as was the boiler/pump in the bathroom which kept switching on during the night. Staff friendly but not service orientated, they would rather text than do their job which was a pity. Hotel shuttle incompetent or invisible despite being booked. Pool is thin but pleasant, breakfast ok. They do a great fried rice in the restaurant but avoid the western food, very poor.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

A group of us stayed at the Quarter for a week over New Year 2012/13 and we all felt the service and the staff attitude was terrible.

They spent more time chatting on their phones, texting and hanging out in unoccupied guest rooms than they did anything else. When you made a simple request like getting a beach towel they vaguely pointed you toward reception and went back to texting and ignoring you and then you would wait for 40 minutes for someone from housekeeping to get the message and meander over to get a towel for you. It would have been comical if it wasn't so frustrating. The sight of one staff member who was supposed to be sweeping the floor just moving the dirt from one side of the room to the other so she could concentrate on her phone call was Faulty Towers esque.

One of our group booked a transfer back from the beach one day which just didn't turn up. After they had walked back they made their feelings known at reception and they were promised the hotel manager would be in touch....suffice to say they are still waiting and they checked out 3 days ago!

The most annoying thing was the staff knew that the service wasn't anywhere near up to scratch but they just looked like they didn't care. We were there a week and we didn't see any kind of management the whole time so I am guessing the staff just did what they wanted.

It is shame as the rooms are nice and the hotel is in a good location but unless they invest in some serious staff engagement and training I would never go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

First impressions were very positive: website photos reflect accurately the boutique hotel rooms and pool. We had a poolside room (cozy deluxe) chosen for its 2 room configuration allowing our infant child to sleep in a separate room in her travel cot. This worked well as both rooms have air on and blackout curtains. Also positive was the quality of the room service food. Finally, front desk organised a member of staff to baby sit for us one evening (although we suspect the 350B per hour was a very generous rate).

However, there are significant shortcomings in the overall experience and I suspect some of the unconditionally positive reviews below may not be genuine. Specifically:

1. Location is not great: the hotel is at the top of a steep hill and a 10min walk along a very busy road to Surin Beach.
2. Room contained the bare essentials and lacked obvious touches you expect at this price point ie rug, iPod doc, shelf in shower, kitchen lacked pretty well everything...we kept asking with little success
3. Attention to detail lacking - DVD player broker, touch broken, filthy sun lounges, dirty room service plates not collected till midday etc
4. Breakfast: very disappointing, with the exception of the omelettes
5. Staff: pleasant but very few spoke even basic English...very surprising given the hotel is clearly targeting foreign tourists. In addition, the house keeping staff were seen on more than one occasion either sleeping on sofas or watching TV in guest rooms, presumably during a room clean.
6. Privacy: we were lucky with room 308 which is at the end of the poolside walkway....all other rooms lack privacy
7. Hot water: shower was only just warm enough and the spa outside (all rooms) was unusable due to water temperature.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The property itself is nice, spacious rooms, very clean and friendly staff.

The pool is long and narrow and a little on the chilly side with loungers in the water. A better idea in theory than practice as you've nowhere to put iPod, books etc and the towel ends up getting wet easily. Also a large step up into the pool, not so easy for kids or anyone with limited mobility.

Also on that point the Quarter is up a very steep hill that would be challenging to walk up for anyone who isn't quite fit. There is a shuttle bus a couple of times a day to the beach which is otherwise a 15 minute walk away along a main road with less than great pavements. However be sure to book pick up with the desk and confirm. We were left without a pick up and had to walk up the hill after having booked it and waiting for 20 mins at the beach in the rain. Apology and follow up on this was almost non existent. The desk staff said they would check what happened and speak to the manager for us but nobody came back to us.

If you take a taxi to the beach it's a rather expensive 300 baht for a very short ride.

Breakfast is also a bit hit and miss with a mix of Asian and western stuff. We stuck mainly to fruit and toast with some eggs made for us and was fine.

Also our room wifi didn't work the whole 5 days we were there. Again we spoke to the desk staff several times but it was never fixed. We could pick up wifi from other rooms but signal was poor and kept having to log in repeatedly rather than the wifi automatically finding. This became annoying when logging in 5+ times a day.

Taxi we booked via the hotel to the airport was also 20 minutes late in arriving so you may want to give extra time.

Overall the Quarter was nice but could have been better with improved staff training and attention to details. Probably not the best location for anyone with limited mobility either.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLo71UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

The Quarter is everything the photos show. We had the deluxe 3 bedroom suite, and found the rooms to be very clean, fantastic views, and great decor. We found it a little out of the way and spent a bit of time travelling to and from Phuket, as most attractions were in that direction. The staff were exceptionally helpful, when we asked if they could do something about the railings on our 3 story high suite, that had such big gaps, if one of the children skidded, would have fallen straight through. They boarded up all of the railings, which made us relax. The buffet breakfasts were fantastic. Great selection of both western and local dishes. You can ask for omlettes or eggs from the chef if you wish. The only thing that gave us some dissapointment was at the end, once we had filled in our questionnaire, we were told we needed to pay an additional $220 Baht as they couldnt find the slippers (which I might add are those disposible ones) and a glass. After we told them that we hadnt taken any of the slippers, they went in and had another look, to find them there. It was dissappointing after spending 10 days and a significant amount of money, they wanted to scabble over the equilivent of $2. It was just the way they went about it, came across a bit rude. Also, while there is a kitchen, there is nothing to cook with, very few utensils, and absolutely nothing to use to clean up ie: cloth, broom, etc. We had to wait until roomservice came, which was always very good, but with 4 children, the place got pretty messy between service.

Room Tip: if you have children that are climbers, ask for a ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Have just spent 5 nights at The Quarter. Was a bit worried how I could cope with the steep hill up to the Hotel, but managed very well. The Cozy Deluxe room was huge compared to most hotels I have stayed in. The bed was perfect for us (not hard), the breakfast was very good - don't expect full american buffet! and the pool was great.
About a 15 minute walk down to Surin Beach - wonderful massages by the beach.
Would definately recommend this hotel @ Surin Beach.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The Cozy Deluxe was just perfect for two and would imagine a couple of children could stay there too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
0.3 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#18 of 36 in Choeng Thale
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
#8 of 36 in Choeng Thale
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#13 of 36 in Choeng Thale
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
0.2 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 97 in Thalang District
1,961 reviews
3.7 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 35 in Kamala
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quarter Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quarter Resort Phuket

Address: 92/5, Moo 3 | Cherng Talay Sub-District, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Thalang District
Price Range: £42 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quarter Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Quarter Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quarter Hotel Thalang
The Quarter Resort Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing