We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Museum Hours” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thalang National Museum

Thalang National Museum
Attraction details
Spencer, WV
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Museum Hours”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The National Museum is open Wednesdays-Sundays from 9:00-4:00. It's closed on Mondays, Tuesdays and public holidays. There are two outdoor exhibits including one on the sea gypsies and traditional food in Phuket, but unfortunately the information presented is only in the Thai language.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank jgamponia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A fascinating history set before you”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We love museums so set off to find the Phuket museum. We needed our driver's directions to locate it. We Gave our entry money to the 3 disinterested women and looked at the offered map. The first exhibit had a clear history of Phuket and had on display some 2000 year + old large statues. We then found the dvd theatre was not working and an interactive computer had been removed. The display about the Heroines and Chinese shops were excellent. There was a shed outside with a sign saying it was the Tsunami exhibition but all we found was a dishevelled collection of what looked like Tsunami debris. No explanation or information given to say what, when or the effect of the tsunami. It looks like it needs a good curator and an infusion of money. Visit the heroines statue in the nearby roundabout after the museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitehavengirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great to know how more about phuket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

if you have time I would recommend to come this place to explore your new experience and learn how phuket people live in a previous days

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank konjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khao Lak, Thailand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great History lesson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

This is close to the Heroines Monument and explains the evolution of Phuket over many years and why it is what it is today If you like the history of your destination this is the place to go. Only 100bt entry

Helpful?
3 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Worth visiting along with the Heroines Monument which it is a few hundred yards from. Can easily be reached by bus or bicycle from Phuket Town and is on the road to Bangrong from the Heroines Monument. It is easy to miss as it is 200 yards back from the main road and is partially obscured by a large building site. The 100 Baht entry fee is about right. There is an exhibition to the Tsunami outside as well as replica traditional fishermen's huts. Inside ther are displays devoted to Siamese history in general as well as the history of Phuket Island. I still want to find the Trading Post and Fort established by Captain Francis Light at Bangrong in the 1780's!! An interesting museum with some well put together displays worth visiting for a couple of hours.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank flobolob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thalang National Museum also viewed

 

Been to Thalang National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing