We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome day”

Phuket Cooking Academy
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An awesome day”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have just had a wonderful day with a wonderful couple of chefs. We did the Thai cooking course and managed to eat all 5 courses! The wife and I were keen to learn a bit about Thai cooking on our holiday and took the trouble to look around for a good cooking school. We settled on this one because of the reviews, and we were not disappointed. We are even thinking of coming back to Phuket to do a 5 day course next year! Many thanks Lionel and Ying for a lovely day; hope to see you again. You have a lovely, peaceful setting and you made us feel very welcome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We were 4 people taking the Thai food menu of the day, and it was excellent. If you love to cook, and looking to learn some thai food or whatever else they have on the menu, I would recommend this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sondre_Bekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun and educational”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I took the Phuket Cooking Academy Thai and Pastry courses. Lionel and Ying are very professional and are great instructors.They answered all my questions and were very helpful. They want you to learn and have fun.
The learning enviroment is perfect. The venue is large and scenic. You can't beat the fresh herb garden you use for your cooking. I really felt comfortable at the Phuket Cooking Academy. Lionel and Ying have the best cooking school in Phuket. I would highly recommend the Phuket Cooking Academy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bahamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We took the time to visit the Phuket Cooking Academy and really enjoyed the few hours spent with Ying and Lionel. We wish we had more time to spare to continue enjoying the settings, the classes and the very friendly atmosphere they provided us. The Thai cooking class was very informative; we went on a Tuesday and on the menu there was a number of our favorite dishes, coconut milk soup and duck red curry. The all experience started with a visit of the school and their herbal garden and then they gave us some homemade herbal refreshments and presented what was coming up. The cooking started with the presentation of the dishes by a Thai chef, and then we proceeded to make our own dishes with the great help of Ying and Lionel. Everything was perfect, stress free and perfectly organized to make you feel right at home. We left the school with many goodies, our certificate, recipe book to make more dishes at home and good memories. If you are holidaying in Phuket I would definitely recommend this experience, we also learned that Ying was a creative art teacher and gives art classes to kids so we will come back for more with the family. Thank you again for the good times.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An informative and fun cooking class!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I visited the Phuket Cooking Academy today and had a great time. We learned a delicious 6 course traditional Thai meal, which were coincidentally all of my favorite dishes! The owners of the cooking academy, Ying and Lionel, welcomed us into their cooking school/herb garden/farm/home and taught us everything we needed to know to go home and cook ourselves a wonderful Thai meal. The class started off with a demonstration by a Thai speaking chef, and then we were off to make each dish at our own station. Lionel and Ying were helpful in translating and explaining and we were lucky enough to have a small class with lots of help. However, the cooking school was definitely equipped for larger parties as its HUGE!! All the food we prepared was delicious and many of the herbs/vegetables were grown in their home garden. We had a nice time, with delicious home cooked food to take home, as well as a booklet of recipes, a graduation certificate and some great memories. Definitely recommend this to anyone!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 852Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phuket Cooking Academy also viewed

 

Been to Phuket Cooking Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing