We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banyan Tree Phuket
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

The best place to spend your honeymoon was on this beautiful pool villa in banyan tree..Quiet and secluded from the city it was really a romantic place..Bit expensive but worth the expenses.The town is a short ride away and a lot of restaurants around the resort..so you can also enjoy the local dish at a local price..

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear jim K,

Congratulations on getting married and celebrating your Honeymoon with us. Thanks for posting such a short and sweet note! I do hope that you will return soon for a short break or a longer one and take advantage of our pool villa promotions available on our website.


Warm regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,142
    299
    113
    49
    32
See reviews for
434
872
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

This was a much needed break and the resort complex and nearby beach provide a perfect environment for relaxation. The lap pool and complentary yoga and Pilates class are superb. Baby elephant visits are a definite highlight for all. The resort and laguna complex give some peace and quiet but we managed to escape the inflated prices of the hotel restaurant and found better restaurants outside the complex. The spa was disappointing, try the ladies at the beach. Staff are really lovely. we hope we might come back one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Hannah M,

Thanks for posting a mostly positive review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary. Food is always a contentious subject and yes you can find cheaper restaurants outside but, safety and hygiene are as paramount as quality and taste. As for the Spa, we would truly appreciate, any specific reasons why you found it disappointing. This is an aspect we score very highly consistently, so I am very keen to know.

Hannah M, weather it is our associates or our beautiful villas that compels you to return, we look forward to having you back. The spa team would love to hear what we could do better and great value Japanese bento lunches at Tamarind are things to look forward to.

Warm regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

It's pricey, but the villas are absolutely worth it. Service is great, grounds are lush and the beach is just next door. We were upgraded from a pool villa to the next size up, which we very much appreciated. Villas are very private, quiet and everything inside -- from the outdoor bath to the bedroom that opens directly to the swimming pool -- was so nice that we often found ourselves just hanging out there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marmaduketravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Ok - I have to admit it: it was almost perfect. While I can fully recommend to visit the Banyan Tree I would expect them to strive a little harder towards being excellent. And this is maybe why I did not rate it perfect in all categories. I would wish that housekeeping is really cleaning prefect - which was not the case. Also the furniture had stains - something that should be removed or cleaned. Inside the room there was also no real reading light to read a book in bed. Of course we asked for one - but there was not plug in range! Nevertheless - the villa was really stunning. But mainly due to its beautiful outdoor pool, garden and view over the lagoon.

Let's start with the nice things: The villas are beautiful - all of them. Top notch are the double pool villas followed by the spa pool villas (what we as a couple booked.) The spa pool villas are for couples only. This is nice but you still here your neighbors every now and then depending on their land of origin. The pool in our villa was great and we had a perfect time.

If you dine in the villa - always order only in the morning. otherwise the pre-arrange your food hours before delivery.
If you dine out, go to Lotus. This is really the best food and service nearby at the lowest prices. We loved it.
If you dine in, the food at Saffron is really awesome! But be prepared that most patrons do not have the culture and manners you would expect for a restaurant of such quality. So if you dress up nicely, don't be disappointed if all the other guests show up in shorts, t-shirt and sandals. Also I hope the management will soon upgrade the interior design - nothing that would win any prices yet!

The beach is beautiful but the hotel's services there are very limited. You get a chair and a towel - that's it. No refreshment or cold towel or a nice person asking every now and then if everything is alright. You are expected to get the drinks yourself on one of the nearby public bars/restaurants.

But while the above now might sound a little negative I still want to say that we had a fantastic time as the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful at all times. The service was most of the time outstanding and the villas and pool in our own little garden a paradise. That made the stay just great for us - I can recommend! (though not for families with kids - as there is not enough distraction for the young-ones).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear BanyanTree.com traveler,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. With such a 360 degree feedback, we value the positives as well as appreciate the improvement opportunities. With regards to room cleanliness and stained furniture, our Executive Housekeeper has been made aware of this to share with the team and pay closer attention. Although the over head lamps are adequate for reading in bed, we will purchase some clip-on lights which can be requested to read anywhere.

I take note of your feedback on the need to upgrade the interior design of Saffron. The restaurant is designed to reflect a rustic look with Thai design elements. As regards to the restaurant dress code, we do enforce a resort chic dress code which essentially discourages guests coming in with sport or swim wear. As you can understand dress code is a touchy subject and without being too restrictive, we try to ensure guests enjoy a convivial ambience.

In terms of beach services, there is a limitation compared to the poolside given that beaches in Thailand are public. The beach vendors do not allow us to serve food, beverages or even water as it takes away their revenue. I have shared your feedback with our Recreation Manager to ensure we do provide all the Banyan Tree signature services at the pool side.

I am delighted to hear you were happy with the standards of our villa, landscaping and other services. We have a dedicated team tending to them. Dear BanyanTree.com traveler, thank you for choosing Banyan Tree Phuket as your destination hotel and for this balanced feedback. I hope that readers of this review understand that we strive to give every guest that “perfect” stay. Until your next visit, please stay well,

Warm regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We have stayed at Banyan Tree for 6 nights and our expectations were very high. The pick up at the airport worked well and it was a nice ride in a cool Mercedes car. The Check In was also nice and smooth and we were guided to our poolvilla 309. It was a huge villa with a great big pool and very nice views to the laguna and to the hotel lobby on the other side. However, the villas are not the newest anymore and you could just see, that it would be time to make some renovations again. We have profited from a great offer from the hotel and if I compare the price we have paid with the villa, it was still a very good deal. However, we have also had a look at the double pool villas and if we go again to Banyan Tree Phuket, we will for sure book a double pool villa. During our stay, we also had every day breakfast and dinner. The choice at the breakfast was huge and fantastic! One of the best breakfasts we had. There were mornings, where there were not that many people and we enjoyed a great service, however, when the restaurant was crowded, you could feel that the service from the people was going down. We also went regularly to the fitness center which was OK. Not the newest and biggest hotel fitness center, but there were not many people and absolutely OK. The only thing I did not like was that in the Yoga/stretching room, staff members were sitting around writing test messages on their mobile phones or just hanging around. When I entered the room, 2 staff members then left but one guy was sitting always around and did not even greet us. It's not big deal, but I have never seen in a luxury hotel that staff did sit around while hotel guests were present.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Wow, what an amazing place. We have just returned from a 7 night stay at this amazing hotel. We booked one of the spa sanctuary villas, and we really could not of asked for more. A separate lobby to check in and taken straight to our room by buggy. We now had the hardest decisions of the week to make! What pillows we would like, what sheets we would like, what time we would like our 30 min complimentary massage every morning, what time we would like our turn down service, it goes on, but boy you are treated like royalty. You really do get value for money and more, with both excellent quality and amazing service from all staff in the hotel. If you are looking for a secluded, restful relaxing break then these are the rooms for you, you don't need to leave your villa, you can have complimentary breakfast in your villa each morning, delivered in a lovely wicker hamper and set up outside with t able cloth etc just wonderful, and then you can order room service for dinner if you wish, you really don't need to see anyone if you don't want to. I won't spoil the excitement for you, other than to say, the turn down services in the evening are amazing, nothing like we have experienced before.
We have stayed in some fabulous 5 star establishments before but the service here is outstanding and always with a smile and more.
If you are considering going, just book it you will not be disappointed, pay that little extra for the upgrade and you will have a holiday of a life time. Please do contact me if you have any questions you would like answering.
Many many thanks Banyan Tree for making this stay so special.

Room Tip: Sanctuary villas are a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Tripadvisor is my bible when it comes to choosing places to stay and it will remain so.... But why does everyone rate Banyan Tree Phuket so highly?

My husband and I treated ourselves to 2 nights here at the end of our first holiday to Thailand and it started off well enough with an upgrade to a pool villa when we checked in. The lovely lady who checked us in and showed us to our room was also a delight and in the same mould as all the other lovey friendly Thai people we had come across in our travels...but she was about the only smiling face we saw after that! Generally staff walked past us without saying a word....the rest of our Thai holiday we had become so used to saying Sawadee Ka to everyone we passed, so we were very surprised to be pretty much ignored here...

Villas are a lovely design, but clearly old and tired. Electrical sockets, tv, aircon etc all needing updating. Strangely our minbar was empty for our entire stay...we assumed an oversight on first arriving, but was never stocked...Also no iron or ironing board in the room. Good shower and nice fluffy towels, but flush on the toilet alarmingly insufficient at times!

The surrounding grounds also a bit old and in need of renovation...we have pictures of crumbling bridges and cracked wooden stairs, but seems petty to load them up....

Pool area ok, but pool bar calling last orders around 5.30pm when supposedly they only close at 6.30pm didn't exactly add to our sundowner ritual!

Gym the hottest gym I have ever worked out in...where is the aircon, cold water and even cold towels supplied by other hotels we stayed in? And surely they can afford to upgrade the gym equip to some more high tech machines with built in tv, fan etc...

Brekkie sitting on the balcony overlooking the lagoon is a lovely setting and food selection is good, but the area the buffet is set up in is a bit squishy for the volume of people passing through.

I do have to stop complaining for a minute though and complement the ladies that run the lobby bar in the evenings. Had some great service and cocktails both nights and we did see some smiles again from them.

Our stay finished disappointing again though when the promised buggy service to take us and our bags to reception didn't turn up and we had to call to check on it...and then we got to reception to find no one there to check us out...

So, needless to say we won't be back and feel that we wasted a good deal of money paying 3 times as much here for a product that was actually substandard compared to the other places we stayed in that exceeded our expectations.

So a lesson learned to be careful of places still living off a reputation that may no longer be warranted...



in that we loved

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear TheWheeler,


Thank you so much for taking your time to give us feedback on TripAdvisor in addition to your personal mail to the hotel. As expressed in my response to your direct feedback, I am disappointed that we fell short of a typical Banyan tree experience. The areas for improvement have been brought to the attention of the respective department heads to share with the team.

“Wai (Thai greeting) and smile” is a core value for all of us and I am truly disappointed that you did not feel the warmth that we work so hard on. We will work harder on this very important aspect. As regards to the bridge, the bitumen board cladding on the bridge did crack up quite dramatically due to the unusually hot 1st quarter – one of the worst in 10 years. Our engineers have removed the entire material and replaced it already. Your point regarding the early closure of the pool bar is absolutely unacceptable and the associate who compromised this standard has been made aware of how her actions have impacted the perception of the resort.

I was informed that the one of the two air-conditioning units failed on the day you came to work out and this was fixed that evening. Although our fridge was not working on the day, there was a cold water dispenser in the gym that perhaps could have been pointed out to you. I do apologize for this as well as the fact that the buggy pickup did not arrive on time.

As for mini bar, in a new initiative to personalize the mini bar experience, we ask guests upon arrival what they would like in their mini bar. This customization was meant to be explained upon check-in. It appears as though it was not articulated. I have passed this on to Front Office Manager to share with the rest of our team to avoid repetition. Both iron and the ironing board can be requested from our Guest Services Center and to have it delivered to your villa.

Dear TheWheeler, we greatly value your feedback and I do hope you have received my personal note to you, reiterating a second opportunity. As you can see from this forum itself, unfortunate as it might be, your experience is not the norm. I do look forward to having you back with us, until then, please take care,


Warm regards,


Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
9.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 94 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
10.8 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
2.5 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Phuket

Property: Banyan Tree Phuket
Address: 33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Thalang District
#9 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#10 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#15 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#17 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Phuket, Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary and DoublePool Villas by Banyan Tree each deliver a unique experience in a tranquil setting. Located at Bang Tao Bay on the northwest coast of Phuket Island in Thailand, a 20-minute drive from Phuket International Airport. Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts is part of Laguna Phuket, Asia's first integrated resort, and is also the first Banyan Tree resort to be conceptualised and built, setting the benchmark for future properties. This flagship resort offers 173 luxuriously appointed villas surrounded by lush tropical gardens and Asian watercourts. All villas feature a king-sized bed, bathtub and private pool in a landscaped garden. Complimentary minibar except alcoholic drinks with daily refill for all villa categories. The perfect haven to spend time with loved ones, Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts caters for romance, with its private pool villa, fragrant gardens and saltwater lagoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Banyan Tree Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Phuket Hotel Thalang
Banyan Tree Phuket Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing