We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not perfect, but close enough!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banyan Tree Phuket
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not perfect, but close enough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The resort was great being located steps away from the beach. As you'd expect from any Banyan Tree property, the basic level of service and pampering was reasonably high and quality of everything from amenities to the spa treatments was lovely. If you head to the spa ask for Paul, he is brilliant. Breakfast was a bit too crowded and nothing special but the Saturday night Thai market buffet at Saffron was delicious and a great experience! The staff in general was excellent - we wanted to connect our personal player to the TV to watch some movies and the engineer went out of his way to get the right cabling setup to make it happen! The beach is a few minutes walk away and has many nice bars and restaurants to sample local beers and dishes while watching the sun go down. Given the limited in-villa dining menu, we opted to have a few meals at the beach and were not disappointed. This is part of the Laguna group of properties and though we didn't venture out apparently they have other restaurants you can try.

It doesn't get 5 stars in my book for the following reasons:

1. It is the oldest of all the Banyan Tree properties and it shows.
2. No villa has a sea view. They claim it is to increase privacy but I don't quite buy that argument. We stayed at Banyan Tree Lang Co in Vietnam where we had a nice beachfront pool villa which was very private yet right on the beach with fantastic views. Both their properties in Bali and Bintan as well have lovely views without compromising privacy. I love the sound and sight of sea when on a beach holiday so that was a bit of a bummer.
3. Minor touches - for instance there were mosquitoes in the evening so the turndown service would setup the repellant in the evening but they would forget on some nights and we had to call them to set it up; we asked for a copy of our bill to be sent to the villa on the last day to speed up the checkout but after 3 calls to the front desk and not receiving it we just gave up and walked over to the desk. Nothing major but you just don't expect this from Banyan Tree.

Room Tip: Budget permitting, get the pool villa instead of the basic one with Jacuzzi. However given none of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chetan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear HabsJ,

It was a pleasure to welcome you recently. Thank you for sharing your review right after your stay at the Sanctuary for the Senses. All the reasons given have been shared with the entire Banyan Tree Phuket team to acknowledge the aspects you enjoyed completely and those needing attention to turn them into positives the earliest possible.

Thank you for highlighting our service quality and the lovely Spa treatments. Khun Paul at the Spa is thankful for being recognized in such way, and the staff in general are delighted to know that you had close to perfect break.

Yes, we are the first Banyan Tree established and we wear that tag proudly. The team and I spend a lot of time maintaining our 84 acres of land and the villas therein. Not all of them were built at the same time as the resort has added on new villas just 6 years ago – our DoublePool Villas. We do have water views of the lagoon but, you are correct we do not have sea views. Most of our guests are aware of this and hopefully, whichever channel you booked through did not give you that impression as we make every effort to ensure our website and marketing collaterals represents facts accurately. Our resorts in Vietnam, Bali and Bintan are definitely sea facing and yes they do have that advantage over us. Having said that we are no more than a 2 minute walk to the beach or at worse a 8 minute buggy or bike ride. I have a smile on my face as I write this as I am sure I will get a lot of ribbing from my counterparts in the other Banyan Tree resorts you have mentioned.

Your comments concerning the mosquitoes´ repellent to be consistently setup during the turn down service, have been shared to our Executive Housekeeper. As part of our turndown rituals, we do close the doors and light up the incense sticks, oil burners and the electric mosquito repellant. As regards to the bill, it is an established procedure to leave a copy of the bill in the villas as part of the turndown rituals one day prior to departure. This is also when we seek advise time for buggy pickup to facilitate a smooth checkout. If this was not done, we do apologize and the Front Office has been notified of this feedback.

Dear Habsj, thank you for choosing Banyan Tree Hotels for your holidays, specially ours. We would love to have you back for a perfect stay.

Cordially,

Sriram Kailasam,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    300
    113
    49
    32
See reviews for
434
874
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Pick up at the airport to the check in was refreshing, as well as swift! The entrance to the hotel is really nice, the staff are welcoming, always greet you with a smile. The golf buggy is great for taking guests here and there around the hotel. We picked up bikes as well but found it was ok to walk around, as we stayed in a pool villa near the beach, breakfast, dinner, spa etc. We pre-booked a tour for phang nga bay james bond island but not from the hotel. It's a must do trip nevertheless. The pool villa was amazing! It's pretty huge! We were next to the beach, which is clean and peaceful. The sunsets are something special! Breakfast and Dinner here is very nice, with a good amount of choice! The Spa is worth every baht...aromatherapy massage is a good pick. Would love to come back here one day.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amit_puri24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear amit_puri24,

Warm greetings from the sunny Phuket!

Thank you for having chosen our resort for your recent holidays. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed every single moment of our attentive service and the various USP’s of the resort including the award-winning Banyan Tree Spa. Thanks also for including some valuable recommendations for other readers as a must-visit.

amit_puti24, it is our aim to create perfect stays and I am glad that we have managed to deliver exactly that. My team and I would like to thank you for staying with us and for having shared your experience. Banyan Tree Phuket’s character and selection changes with the seasons of this tropical island. Hope to see you soon to experience the various facets of this beautiful resort and island,

With kind regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lacked love and tranquility. This is a mega resort with a lot of hustle and bustle. Felt very corporate and it's obvious the ownership is squeezing every dollar out of this cash cow and investing elsewhere. It is run down, grounds are dry, vegetation is sparse and overall conditions of property are in desperate need of repairs and maintenance. Food buffet area is like a crowded hawker stand in Bangkok, presentation is poor and conditions are fair at best.

Smoking overload- cigarettes and butts everywhere, every ashtray is full and expect to see butts all over property.

Dirty glass windows speak volumes to a hotels attention to detail. The filthy windows at lobby entry and elsewhere made a first impression that this resort could not recover from.

Water features were dry and non functioning.

Over all a big fat d- on the report card

GM needs to do a walk about the property. He or she obviously is not clued in.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank RAY O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Community,

For the benefit of the readership we would like to highlight that the writer of this review did not stay with us at the Banyan Tree Phuket Resort. He did visit us for a short site inspection and breakfast, based upon which he posted this comment. I cannot hide that this review is disappointing and has left the team and me saddened. However, we have been informed that as per the rules of engagement, one is allowed to post a review even if one has not stayed in the resort but, has interacted with someone in the resort.

As any traveler can read from the hundreds of reviews posted on this forum, the Banyan Tree Phuket’s hospitality and service speaks for itself. I do admit that it can get busy during breakfast time because most of our guests prefer to have their breakfast between 08.30 to 10.30am, as it is the case in any other resort. However, regarding the hustle and bustle around the property; as a matter of fact, the resort’s layout is set in 84 acres made of manicured gardens and tranquil lagoons. Outside of the meal periods, our guests spend most of their time at the beach or enjoying the peaceful and unobtrusive retreat of their private villa.

For what pertains to the water features, our lobby pond is undergoing some emergency maintenance work, which should be done within the next 2 weeks. Regarding the public areas and grounds, these are tended regularly by housekeeping attendants and a team of 60 dedicated gardeners are constantly cleaning and landscaping the resort’s environment in order to maintain the best possible condition. This is particularly important at the moment as we are not only entering the hottest months of the year but also facing the island’s driest spell in 30 years. I could therefore only assume that on the day in question, this is what the guest saw during his brief presence in the property.

Our numerous Tripadvisor comments and responses show that we value each and every comment, and that we build on the constructive criticism as well as positive re-enforcements. However, I strongly believe that the opinion based on a brief visit should be taken for what it is. We therefore invite all readers of our Tripadvisor page to read through the other reviews, in order to make a comprehensive assessment of our resort.

With my best regards to each of you,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

we have stayed at this great resort many times but this year it was even better. the ambience and location is marvellous. the staff were as always very helpful and the pool villas excepitional now that most of them have had a renovation. the only draw back was lack of choice of in-house dining. they have a do-it-yourself restaurant nightly, but if you don't like this or Japanese food there is only one other reasonable restaurant then you have to go outside the resort which is good but not always wanted

Room Tip: room with pool and away from centre is beneficial
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear A R;

It was our pleasure to welcome you once more and to read that we are getting better with the time. We appreciate you are taking your valuable time in complimenting our staff for their hard and good work and the villas’ condition.

I have taken note of your comment concerning our dining options, and I would like to clarify that apart from Saffron serving contemporary Thai cuisine, Tamarind serving Japanese and Spa cuisine and Watercourt serving daily changing buffets and Seafood grill, we also have Tre, our exclusive French Vietnamese Restaurant, located at the DoublePool Villas area. Other options available are In-Villa Dining and In-Villa BBQ to enjoy the evening in the privacy of your stunning Pool Villa and other destination dining options in stunning romantic locations.

Dear A R; we highly appreciate your repeated patronage at Banyan Tree Phuket and for sharing your valuable feedback with the Trip Advisor readers. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again and again in the near future to experience another memorable stay.

Kindest regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had a two night unexpected stay here due to cancelling our planned stay in Banyan Tree Bangkok due to the recent political riots. All I can say is that it leaves the other hotels in the Laguna complex by a country mile. We had a double villa which was sensational, as were the staff & the beautiful breakfast, but if it's in your budget book the double pool villas - they looked totally fantastic! We had booked the dinner in the middle of the lagoon for our second wedding anniversary but ended up cancelling it due to the poor choices available on their vegetarian menu available (especially with a price tag of THB 15,000 it didn't make it worthwhile for us) but the setting is gorgeous. We will now look around for another romantic option for this weekend. We have now transferred to the Angsana which is nextdoor for remainder of our trip and this place doesn't compare : (

Room Tip: 607 was close to the lobby but far from the beach & beach restaurants - but bikes are provided s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Sara B;

First of all, big congratulations for your second wedding anniversary. Thank you for recounting your recent experience at Banyan Tree Phuket, specially for your candid comments on our DoublePool Villas as they are fantastic indeed, and for praising our staff in a nice way.

I was disappointed to learn that you did not get a superb vegetarian menu to meet the price. Typically, our executive chef would tailor a menu for such occasions. It appears as though, it was not bought to the attention of the senior members of the F&B team. This is why our resort is such a preferred destination in Phuket. Well, next time perhaps! It is just a shame that you did not get to enjoy the always unforgettable “Dinner for the Senses” in the middle of the Lagoon.

Sara B; thank you once more for sharing your experience in our Resort, and we hope that the rest of your stay at Angsana has been also exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and to delivering a flawless and relaxing stay.

With kind regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

i would highly recommend this destination as one of the best placed to stay, certainly one of the best my family has stayed at. i have 2 young kids and they had a blast. definitely stay at the deluxe 2 bedroom villa. its safe for young kids and the pool can be easily locked off from the kids and the rooms are immaculate.

over the years there are a lot more families who have been coming and the only thing i would ask the hotel to do is to think about building more facilities for the children (maybe a playground)...they have enough space.

i would highly recommend this hotel to both families as well as couples who are looking for a serene, quiet, relaxing atmosphere but with close proximity to a busier town/village center

Room Tip: if you are a couple, go for the spa pool villa or the double pool villa. if you have young kids, de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Adrian E;

It has been, again, a pleasure to have you with us recently. Thank you enormously for sharing your valuable feedback in TripAdvisor and for recommending the various villa options we have available for families and couples. Your suggestion was already being discussed and we are at loggerheads to stylize and adapt a kid’s activity to be done a’ la Banyan Tree. I personally have, over my 10 years with Banyan Tree, had the pleasure of watching so many young kids become young adults. Some of them even wanting to do an internship with us!

Adrian E; there’s nothing that makes us happier than to see a guest delighted by our service. Whether it’s for booking assistance, special occasions, or specific arrangements for families or couples, our aim is to provide the best quality, value and the “Sanctuary for the Senses” experience to everyone.

I hope there is a return visit to Banyan Tree Phuket in the near future. Until then, please stay in touch.

Sincerely,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My family of four had wonderful vacation at the Banyan Tree in Phuket over Christmas. The employees were incredibly attentive and hospitable, learning our names and restocking our amenities before they ran out. Our waitress at breakfast even memorized my family’s orders! The complimentary bikes and golf cart service provided a fun and convenient way to explore the resort’s restaurants, pools, spa, and villas. If I am ever in Phuket again, I will undoubtedly book a room at the Banyan Tree.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sriram K, General Manager at Banyan Tree Phuket, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Chloe S,

We wish to thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing with the world your “Amazing Family Vacation” during Christmas at Banyan Tree Phuket.

It is truly gratifying indeed to put a smile on the dial of every associate to read such reviews as it endorses their skills and training. It is great to read that we met your high expectations in every single aspect and that you will, without hesitation, book a villa with us again.

On behalf of the Banyan Tree Phuket family, we look forward to your return sometime soon, but if your traveling plans include our resort towards the end of the year again, please keep in mind to visit our website to check and book our special early birds’ promotions. It would be fantastic to have you back with us, we look forward to enjoying the pleasure of your company,

With my best regards,

Sriram Kailasam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
9.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 94 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
10.8 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
2.5 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Phuket

Property: Banyan Tree Phuket
Address: 33, 33/27 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Thalang District
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#9 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#10 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#15 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#17 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Phuket, Banyan Tree Spa Sanctuary and DoublePool Villas by Banyan Tree each deliver a unique experience in a tranquil setting. Located at Bang Tao Bay on the northwest coast of Phuket Island in Thailand, a 20-minute drive from Phuket International Airport. Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts is part of Laguna Phuket, Asia's first integrated resort, and is also the first Banyan Tree resort to be conceptualised and built, setting the benchmark for future properties. This flagship resort offers 173 luxuriously appointed villas surrounded by lush tropical gardens and Asian watercourts. All villas feature a king-sized bed, bathtub and private pool in a landscaped garden. Complimentary minibar except alcoholic drinks with daily refill for all villa categories. The perfect haven to spend time with loved ones, Banyan Tree Phuket Resorts caters for romance, with its private pool villa, fragrant gardens and saltwater lagoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travelbag, Hotel.de, HRS and Destinology so you can book your Banyan Tree Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Phuket Hotel Thalang
Banyan Tree Phuket Cherngtalay
Banyan Tree Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing