We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE...”
Review of Amanpuri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amanpuri
Ranked #42 of 95 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“PARADISE...”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

So in my review I accidently selected kids activities which we didn't have little ones but the pool was gorgeous which I'm sure kids would love. Anyway we had a 3 suite "bungalow" with a private pool a house keeper and a chef for a week. We were treated like rock stars! Actually better cuz we didn't get thrown out and our house help was sad to see us go as we were sad to leave them. the environment was incredible, very relaxing, very luxurious, very, very, very. Ugh, so when you get there, all you have to do is remember to breath. What a great place to do a whole lot of nothing to fill your day or find something to do and still feel relaxed. The one place to go where you don't need a vacation to recover from your vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stylnz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    43
    16
    12
    8
See reviews for
65
141
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

It is a delight to find this marvelous beauty of this resort within an incredible tropical setting. The surin beach is superb, as well as the pools. Service is outstanding and your every need will be met by courteus and attentive staff. The rooms are tastefully decorated with generous areas in every respect.You can' t tell 25 years old resort! From the settings to the quality of service, you won' t get disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beculale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We escaped to Phuket for the weekend to recharge and decided to stay at Amanpuri for three nights in their standard Pavilion room. What a great decision! We felt like the only guests in the hotel (the staff sure treated us like we were). If you’re a couple looking for a weekend beach getaway but hate crowded hotel with screaming children like we do, then this place is for you.

Summary:
-Beautiful and spacious room (we stayed in their most standard room and it was comfortable enough for a small family).
-Awesome staff (Two managers greeted us at the lobby during our stay even though we weren’t VIP or returning guests, made us feel really special).
-Quiet and relaxing (we had the pool to ourselves for most of the afternoon). We went during low-season (rainy season) but it rained only once for half an hour.
-The main beach is actually shared with another hotel but they’re located on the other side so it’s very private.
-There are many local restaurants and shops just outside the hotel so don’t be afraid to go exploring around the neighborhood. You can ask the hotel buggy to drop you off and pick you up at the entrance. Watch out for cars though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dallas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Sadly only had one night at Amanpuri. After a slightly less than the usual perfect Aman greeting (every other Aman has seen us greeted by the GM like returning royalty!) we arrived at our Garden pavilion. Staying in the 2nd lowest category and knowing this Aman is the oldest and original, we were expecting the rooms to be tired and outdated but really they were still beautiful and well maintained, classic and elegant. Yes the rooms are dark (bad lighting seems to be an Aman trait!) but the fittings are all lovely and the room calming and comfortable. When we ventured out to discover the grounds we didn't get the usual attentive service and offers of help and especially at the beach which was a bit odd but from then on somehow things changed (staff changeover time?) and the wonderful helpful diligent Aman staff appeared! The Spa massage and experience was once of the best we have ever (yes ever!) experienced. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel but breakfast was beautiful. The 3 pools are each amazing as is the white and (very clean) sand on the beach (best beach in Phuket easily). regardless of its age and maybe ever so slightly less attentive staff, we absolutely still felt immediately as if we were getting the Aman experience and that is what you pay for!

Yes it's not the latest and greatest but its still the best!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank bondilocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Aman Puri is somewhere i had been to some 15 years ago. It is certainly a classic - with a very low key Thai inspired decor. Lots of dark stone and rich woods. It still looks good, but is looking its age and rather dated. It has rather lost its lustre and didnt have the panache and attention to detail that I remember. The beach is small but has white sand - not as immaculate as it used to be. The demise of the Chedi next door is a shame as this was always a nice place to go to for some variety - that is now rather run down. The Aman Puri's main problem is that for the price there are now some very beautiful options. Still has tremendous potential but it needs some invigoration.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

It is a delight to find this marvelous beauty of this resort within an incredible tropical setting. The pristine beach is superb, as well as the three pools. Service is outstanding and your every need will be met by courteus and attentive staff. The rooms are tastefully decorated with generous areas in every respect. From the settings to the quality of service, we were not disappointed.

What we did not find up to luxury standard is the food. For the price - thirty dollar hamburger / table wine in the hundred dollar range - you would expect more, much more. Breakfast was good, but closer to average than excellence!

The prices are steep...very steep. But overall, the experience is worthwhile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cocolo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

A group of 12 of us staying in a nearby private villa complex wanted to sample the Aman experience and booked dinner at the resort restaurant. Upon booking, the staff member insisted we eat early. We obliged by arriving at 6.30 but wanted to start the evening at the outside bar watching the sunset with cocktails. We were rushed to order and even before the cocktails had arrived, were asked to move inside to the restaurant. When we asked to stay until we had received and finished our cocktails, the restaurant menus were brought out to us at the bar! The waiter insisted we choose a few dishes to share but we asked to have our own meals. To make the evening smoother, we all chose the same set menu. The service was uniformly poor. Meals were forgotten, our main meals were all combined into a few bowls and we were asked to share, and no-one, including the restaurant manager seemed to care. We are all fortunate enough to have dined in many great locations, and we all agreed that this was one of the most unusual meals we had experienced. I asked the manager why we had been treated so poorly. He told me that during high season, outside bookings were not usually taken and we had been accepted by mistake. He intimated that they wanted us out as quickly as possible to make room for other guests. This situation was very poorly handled by a resort group that supposedly sets the standard for luxury and for exemplary service.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
12 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
3.5 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
689 reviews
10.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
895 reviews
0.8 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 95 in Thalang District
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,854 reviews
3.4 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
804 reviews
2.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Phuket
Banyan Tree Phuket
#19 of 95 in Thalang District
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanpuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanpuri

Property: Amanpuri
Address: Pansea Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#30 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#34 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#38 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanpuri 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanpuri (place of peace) was built in 1987 and became Aman's flagship property. Reflecting the style and elegance of Thai culture, the resort's graceful pavilions and villa homes are situated in a coconut plantation on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea. Elevated walkways connect pavilions to the resort's private white sand beach and facilities, including the first Aman Spa. With a fleet of luxury cruisers, Amanpuri offers the opportunity to explore the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, MrandMrsSmith, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amanpuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanpuri Hotel Thalang
Amanpuri Hotel Phuket
Amanpuri Resort Phuket
Amanpuri Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing