We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it”
Review of Amanpuri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amanpuri
Ranked #40 of 97 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at Amanpuri (our first Aman experience, and hopefully not our last) last February at the end of a two week trip. We stayed in an oceanview villa with a private pool and it was beautiful. Nice finishes, fresh flowers around the room and very private (notwithstanding that there were other villas in close proximity). The property seemed almost deserted at times (I think were only two other people at the Japanese restaurant for dinner one night) but that wasn't a bad thing as it felt like you had a resort to yourself! Great service on the beach- water is brought to you, chairs are adjusted upon request. The beach is big (there are two areas) and they have a bunch of watersports available.

The Thai and Japanese restaurants were both great (and we had just arrived from Tokyo); I asked for a small side of tempura flakes for my sushi and five minutes later, a large plate of freshly prepared tempura was delivered. The gym is nice- a decent number of cardio machines, lots of windows and really tasty (and hopefully healthy...) homemade granola bars.

All in all, while Amanpuri was certainly not cheap, it was well worth the cost. Fantastic property!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milly18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just come back from our dinner in the Thai restaurant in Amanpuri Hotel Phuket. It's our second visit in almost 2 years and we're still fascinating from the location, the restaurant, the food and the great atmosphere! The staff is very kind and quick in serving and they speak/understand good English! As an appetizer we had a tuna tartar and salmon spring rolls and for main course we had dried red curry with tiger prawns and steamed jasmine rice and wagyu beef on grill with fried vegetable rice. The food was quickly servers and was delicious! While dinning the lovely orchestra of 3 people played nice authentic Thai 'kling klong' music. All over the restaurant/bar/pool area there were candles which gave the dinning a mixture of an extra touch of mystique and romantic atmosphere.
It's always a pleasure dinning at the Amanpuri.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was a great place, we booked it as the first stop of a best-of-the-best tour of the region with Andaman Sky, who got us nice prices here and elsewhere. Great resort, from the moment we arrived at the airport every whim and desire was met with a smile. The airport transfer was smooth and we were met by one of the managers and shown round the resort. The spacious pavilions (can’t call them rooms because they are detached, too small to be villas but too grand to be just bungalows) feature the use of beautiful teak beams. Our five nights passed by too quickly and we were sad to leave the Amanpuri, as it is easily one of the best resorts we have ever stayed at. The pavilions are very Thai influenced, nothing was better than lying in our private sala cuddling and listening to the afternoon rain (who says rain has to mean holiday disappointment?) Our travel agent told the resort that it was my wife’s birthday and when we got back to our villa after dinner, our room was lit with loads of candles and decorated with pretty flowers. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yoichi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is absolutely Paradise, It also is the nicest hotel in Phuket. We were here on our honeymoon and they could not have treated us any better. The service is so unbeleivable, we received exotic fruit and cookies in our available all day (and replenished). There was complimentary tea at 4:30-5:30 with awesome snacks. They food was all good at the resort although somewhat expensive. This is not a place to expect to find "deals" at, you pay alot but get the kind of service you would expect for it. The staff makes you feel at home, all waiting to greet you when you arrive and will waive to you goodbye in your complimentary 7 series BMW which they picked us up in and dropped off. If you want to splurge look no further.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delgazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

So in my review I accidently selected kids activities which we didn't have little ones but the pool was gorgeous which I'm sure kids would love. Anyway we had a 3 suite "bungalow" with a private pool a house keeper and a chef for a week. We were treated like rock stars! Actually better cuz we didn't get thrown out and our house help was sad to see us go as we were sad to leave them. the environment was incredible, very relaxing, very luxurious, very, very, very. Ugh, so when you get there, all you have to do is remember to breath. What a great place to do a whole lot of nothing to fill your day or find something to do and still feel relaxed. The one place to go where you don't need a vacation to recover from your vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stylnz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

It is a delight to find this marvelous beauty of this resort within an incredible tropical setting. The surin beach is superb, as well as the pools. Service is outstanding and your every need will be met by courteus and attentive staff. The rooms are tastefully decorated with generous areas in every respect.You can' t tell 25 years old resort! From the settings to the quality of service, you won' t get disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beculale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We escaped to Phuket for the weekend to recharge and decided to stay at Amanpuri for three nights in their standard Pavilion room. What a great decision! We felt like the only guests in the hotel (the staff sure treated us like we were). If you’re a couple looking for a weekend beach getaway but hate crowded hotel with screaming children like we do, then this place is for you.

Summary:
-Beautiful and spacious room (we stayed in their most standard room and it was comfortable enough for a small family).
-Awesome staff (Two managers greeted us at the lobby during our stay even though we weren’t VIP or returning guests, made us feel really special).
-Quiet and relaxing (we had the pool to ourselves for most of the afternoon). We went during low-season (rainy season) but it rained only once for half an hour.
-The main beach is actually shared with another hotel but they’re located on the other side so it’s very private.
-There are many local restaurants and shops just outside the hotel so don’t be afraid to go exploring around the neighborhood. You can ask the hotel buggy to drop you off and pick you up at the entrance. Watch out for cars though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dallas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
3.5 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#5 of 36 in Choeng Thale
829 reviews
0.8 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#7 of 97 in Thalang District
1,978 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
981 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,037 reviews
2.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Phuket
Banyan Tree Phuket
#19 of 97 in Thalang District
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanpuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanpuri

Address: Pansea Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#27 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#32 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#36 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range: £535 - £1,478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanpuri 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanpuri (place of peace) was built in 1987 and became Aman's flagship property. Reflecting the style and elegance of Thai culture, the resort's graceful pavilions and villa homes are situated in a coconut plantation on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea. Elevated walkways connect pavilions to the resort's private white sand beach and facilities, including the first Aman Spa. With a fleet of luxury cruisers, Amanpuri offers the opportunity to explore the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amanpuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanpuri Hotel Thalang
Amanpuri Hotel Phuket
Amanpuri Resort Phuket
Amanpuri Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing