We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the Best”
Review of Amanpuri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amanpuri
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
Reviewed 14 July 2005

Truly the best of the best. I have stayed at many of the nicest resorts in SE Asia, and this topped them all. Everything from the service to the rooms and food. The staff were all genuinely friendly and very interested in ensuring you get whatever you came for: fun in sun, privacy, boating etc.. We ate at both the Italian and Thai restaurants and both were well above average compared to other resort type restaurants - don't expect a michellin starred six-course meal but do expect very fine dining, with the Thai being the same quality food but a more casual setting. We did three boat trips - two with the hotel and 1 outside the resort. The cost of the resort one for a private small boat and lunch was about 300 US compared with about 80 US for the local one. There was no comparison between the two and if you are just looking to see the sights and don't mind as many as 300 tourist packed in on the boat go for the cheaper one but for the extra 200 you got so much more it was unbelievable - private island for picnics, special snorkeling spots for just your party, water and beer, cold towels , dry towels, wonderful crew etc.. My wife used the spa services and raved about it. As far as going into town, I would pass not really anything go on or in anyway comparable to the resort.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank travelpro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    42
    16
    12
    8
See reviews for
62
140
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2005

We stayed at the Amanpuri and it was gorgeous - beautiful rooms, lovely landscape, pristine beach. The service was excellent and the food was good as well.

However, the hotel makes it a policy not to give you a bill for anything, so, for example we didnt know when we were enjoying our fish BBQ on the beach that it was costing us GBP60 each! By all means enjoy the hotel, it is a wonderful experience, but be prepared for a sticker shock upon checkout !

Helpful?
41 Thank michele1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2005

We stayed here for a week in April for our honeymoon. We stayed in one of the ocean front pavilions. The rooms were great, clean lines and understated, with very comfortable beds. The bath rooms were gigantic with two sinks, two huge closets, two dressers, a tub for two, and a big walk in shower. The patio had a table, with sunken room underneath for your feet, four lounging mats, and two lounge chairs. Unfortunately we spent no time out here since it was sooo hot, and we loved the beach.

The beach is great, clean, quiet, and uncrowded. We loved the privacy, and the lack of vendors on the beach. The jet ski guys only asked us if we wanted to try two times in seven days. The beach staff is amazingly attentive, adjusting umbrellas and bringing water, fruit, and cold towels. One day it rained for about 15 min, and everyone left the beach except us. The guys set up four umbrellas over us to keep us dry, it was great. Off shore they have a teak diving raft supplied with towels and ice cold water bottles.

The pool is beautifull, and almost totally vacant. We typically hung out at the beach, then came to the pool for tea (iced ginger), Thai pancakes, and fruit each day.

We ate at the Thai restaurant several days for breakfast and dinner, and loved every one of our meals. The prices were pretty reasonable for this type of resort. We ate at the Itallian restuarant one night, and loved our meal, but it was a bit more expensive. We had the beach BBQ one night, and enjoyed the expereience. We ate lunch most days down on the beach patio, and fell in love with the view and the staff.

We spent a lot of time on the tables by the bar overlooking the beach. The bar staff was great, and we fell in love with all of them.

The spa was great, fairly expensive, but still a good experience.

We took a trip in one of the Aman yachts with three other couples to the James Bond islands. This was a very fun trip, that I would reccomend.

One day we hired one of the drivers to tour the island. This was a great way to cover a lot of ground and get some context around what you are looking at.

There were several families with kids, and this was a pefect place for them. During the beach BBQ, one of the staff members sat and fanned a little guy while he slept on a chair and his parents ate.

Overall, this is the best resort that we have ever stayed at. We are now Aman-junkies and will be back again.

Let me know if you have any specific questions.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank puck021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 April 2005

Stayed at the Garden pavillion. Room is a bit old but in good shape - but that is a very very minor detail when it comes to the overall excellent stay we had. Beach is beautiful (same clear water as Nai harn - ROyal Meridien Yacht Club), "shared" with Chedi, but hotels are far way so this section of the beach is "Aman only". Visited one villa (several thousands dollars a night) - never seen anything like this before. Ask to visit them next time you stay there. 3 level villa, huge black-tile pool, outstanding ocean view... anyway, both restaurants are nice - although Italian was so so, but still ok. And NOT overpriced (diner for 20-30 euros drinks included - American bft around 16-20 euros) . Loved the ambiance, really, hotel was quite full but didn't feel like it : the pool for instance was almost always empty or maybe max 4- 5 guests. Great service at the beach. The system they use for their umbrellas is brillant -simple, and brilliant.

Have tried many many beach resorts properties in Phuket and around the world - from Meridien's bora bora to a few ritz-carlton, royal meridien, intercontinental Bali, banyan tree phuket ( private pool villas - also great ) , etc. but this one if by far the best in service & atmosphere - providing you like tranquility.

Great library too.

All right, maybe a bit snobbish due to some guests thinking they are the top elite of the world, but definitely my number 1 place to stay in Phuket - despite the price, that is.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2005

I just took my young children to Amanpuri over Easter. Contrary to what the previous poster wrote, Amanpuri is quite kids friendly. They have a good childrens menu and all the staff were very friendly to our kids. Yes Aman resorts have never advertised themselves as a family resort, but that doesn't mean they don't welcome them. My children even got their own Amanjunkie Junior T-shirts. If you want to avoid children, then it is wise not to go during school holidays. This resort has lots of space and if you want villa style accommodation, beach right at your door steps, great food, friendly service, and spa then it is well recommended. The property is huge and they have buggies to ferry you around if your villa is up the hill. Beach (shared with Chedi) was clean and was great for swimming and running. Also has a huge Amanspa on the resort.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lovetotravelhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 March 2005

By far the best resort my wife and I have ever visited. The staff is superb as is the service - always there when needed then gone. Amanpuri is quiet, secluded, private and intimate. This is definately NOT a place for kids. Mercifully, we did not see/hear any during our stay. No spring breakers...no obnoxious drunks. The guests politely ignore each other. The beach is wonderful and shows NO tsunami damage. If I had the means, I would make this my permanent residence. Absolutely fabulous.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 January 2005

Without a doubt the best of the Aman resorts. Services, hospitality etc. the best I have ever encountered at a resort environment.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
3.5 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#9 of 95 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
10.1 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
3.4 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanpuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanpuri

Property: Amanpuri
Address: Pansea Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Thalang District
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Thalang District
#31 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#34 Family Hotel in Thalang District
#39 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanpuri 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanpuri (place of peace) was built in 1987 and became Aman's flagship property. Reflecting the style and elegance of Thai culture, the resort's graceful pavilions and villa homes are situated in a coconut plantation on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea. Elevated walkways connect pavilions to the resort's private white sand beach and facilities, including the first Aman Spa. With a fleet of luxury cruisers, Amanpuri offers the opportunity to explore the Andaman Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., MrandMrsSmith, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amanpuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanpuri Hotel Thalang
Amanpuri Hotel Phuket
Amanpuri Resort Phuket
Amanpuri Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing