We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the way but worth it.”
Review of At Panta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
At Panta
Ranked #80 of 95 Hotels in Thalang District
USA
1 review
“Out of the way but worth it.”
Reviewed 18 March 2008

My wife and I were on our honeymoon in Thailand for 2 weeks. We were all over that country and this was by far the best hotel we stayed in for the price. Rooms were great, hotel staff was really good. Pool was nice, but would have been nicer if it stayed open longer. Place needs a hot tub. Location is not the best but if you want just a nice relaxing few days away from all the madness of the Beach areas around Phuket and not spend crazy amounts of money, this is a great place. Food was good. Yes it is a little bit far from the beachs. There is a few scooter rental places near the hotel, you can rent them for about 1000 baht for 3 or 4 days. A scooter ride will take about 30 minutes to Patong and another 20 to Karon. It is not a bad ride, my wife and I did it everyday for 4 days straight on a single scooter; its not that bad. Beds were lttle bit hard......not good for honey moons : ) If you are a just a couple the vllas are the way to go. I cant speek for the other rooms. We liked the hotel and will go back in the future.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank drew53535353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    17
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
264 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 756 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

LOCATION: According to other guests, nothing is in walking distance. There are complimentary shuttles every 1 to 2 hours now to Surin Beach, which is one of the best beaches in Phuket. May want to consider renting a car at this resort. The savings in the hotel cost should easily cover the cost of a car or taxi.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: Taxi from the airport should take about 10 to 15 minutes and should cost less than US$9.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed is too hard, sheets are better than average with average foam pillows of medium thickness.

LIGHTING: Good lighting in bathroom and bedroom in Pool Villa.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Ok and clean. Shower has a shower curtain that touches leg while showering, but water pressure is medium volume and it can get hot if desired.

TOILETRIES: Good.

CLEANLINESS: Entire resort including room and bathroom are spotless.

A/C: Quietly gets room cool quickly.

CLOSET SPACE: Small for 2 people, maybe one person could unpack all items.

STYLE OF ROOM: Pool Villa is great! Windows on all 4 sides and no attached walls. Lots of sunlight and very comfortable overall even without much luxury.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: The room is very quiet since there are no neighbors but you can hear people in the pool and the live music that starts at 4PM could be too loud if trying to sleep or watch TV. Room had a decent amount of light come through in the morning through the edges of the shades. Good enough to sleep in though.

FOOD: Good. Nothing special here but good enough (and I am very picky about my food). Breakfast has choice of a few cereals, freshly cooked omelets, and meats.

TV/INTERNET: TV is perhaps slightly on the small side and is not a flat screen. DVD player with 2 movies, one drink and popcorn can be rented per day for 550 baht (over U$15). Complimentary internet is wireless and worked well in the room and pool area but is slightly on the slow side.

SERVICE: Staff are all very nice but, not too attentive. Bar by the pool is sporadically staffed and they never came by to ask if we wanted drinks. Never took away our drinks when finished either. Tons of staff everywhere. Discouraged that they wouldn’t trust us on check out when we told them what was consumed from mini-bar. Made us wait until they checked the room to get our final bill.

COMMON AREA: The grounds are very impressive. Trees and plants everywhere makes it seem like the resort in set in a forest with streams, ponds, and a stunning pool. Pool is warm (unlike the last 3 hotels we stayed at in Phuket). Pool water is crystal clear and very inviting. The setting makes this a very relaxing place to stay. There is a spa (massage) and an outdated fitness facility (no cost).

ROOM & CITY TIPS: This resort is really nice and relaxing and I highly recommend it. It is not on the beach but the free shuttles and the incredible price (US$65 on ratestogo.com makes up for that). If you want a quiet room, stay away from the pool area (see above) and it’s definitely worth the upgrade to a villa to make this resort a much more memorable experience. We stayed at several hotels in Phuket that were several times this price, but this one in many ways was equally enjoyable. If you decide not to stay here, perhaps consider just booking your last few nights here since it’s so close to the airport which makes early flights more manageable.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — Location (get a car)
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGAPORE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

Not recommended for singles.

Cons : Only shuttle to north end of Laguna Beach. The Phuket town/Patong shuttle has ceased. Cabs are very expensive. 500 to 600BHT to Patong area and takes almost 30 to 40 mins each time..so you are looking at 1000 to 1200BHT everyday and 1 + hr of travelling time.....money and time you could have spent on getting a good hotel in a much better location. Really nothing in the vicinity that is within walking distance...even cabs had to be called by the hotel. Didn't help it was raining so much. Most cabbies have no idea where the hotel is..despite a map.
-Breakfast is below average.
-The porch light to my villa is connected to the power inside my room...so at night its pitch dark outside and u have to fumble to find the keyhole!

Pros : Got upgraded to a villa which was really nice and clean. Very quiet, rustic feel with a nice bathtub. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

I checked out and forfeited 2 nights to move to a hotel in Patong. The assistant manager asked for the reason and I gave her the feedback. Hope they would consider providing free shuttle to town areas.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tofu76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thalang District hotels

Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

Just recently became a member so my review for At Panta is late but I still hope it serves as useful.

Stayed for seven days in a traditional Thai villa and as you can see from my ratings, this is one of the best places I’ve ever stayed. Many are turned off by the fact that the resort is far from anything worth seeing. But this adds to the resorts charm. After spending a day in stifling heat, hectic and crowded markets, and the polluted streets of Patong at night, coming home to this place will seem like paradise.


Here are some of my tips for Phuket:

-Book your day trips and tours through the resort. Although it’s more expensive, the cheaper tours you find on the street are often tourist traps. For example, with the resort tour you’ll be able to spend four hours on Phi Phi Island but with a cheaper tour, you’ll only spend an hour on Phi Phi Island and the rest of your time will be spent in jewelry stores.


-Hire a driver. It’s only about 2000 baht a day, and is the best means of getting around Phuket. For that price, you’ll have the driver for the whole day and night and you’ll get to places in comfort. Tuk tuk’s aren’t that cheap, the drivers will always try to rip you off and the ride itself is uncomfortable. To get the best price for one, just ask the ladies at reception if they know anyone PERSONALLY who would drive you.


-Visit a supermarket to buy food to store in your fridge for late night snacking. It’s cheap but more importantly its FUN discovering and trying the different kinds of foods available.


-Finally eat at the Phuket Bay Restaurant. It’s where the locals eat when they want seafood and most drivers know how to get there. When in Patong, eat at one of the seafood restaurants by the beach.

  • Liked — Book the Thai Villas
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank willz_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2007

The resort had changed names in late 2006 from the Pacific International, to “At Panta Phuket”. At the time of booking we got a very reasonable rate of UK£66 per night for what was described as a “poolside villa”.

We chose this hotel as we had a late arrival into Phuket International, and wanted a relatively quick taxi ride. Although you can get hotel buses, these were not evident, so we got a meter taxi, booked at the airport desk (walk 500 yds right as you exit terminal). They quoted us 250 Baht, which included airport taxes. The ride takes 30 mins max, and if at any time, using the word “Panta” draws a blank expression, then try “Pacific”.

Should you be making your own way there, take the 402 main road for about 12k, then take a right turn onto the 4030 at Thalang. The Panta is about 2 km down this road on the left. On that note, be aware that the Panta is situated amongst the fields of water buffalo, and nowhere near the beaches of Phuket. Ideal if you want a quiet location, but not if you are after the vibrancy of the beach life.

The check-in was efficient, and I believe the extra for the poolside villa was well worth it; the room was very clean, well furnished, with the TV showing most international channels, and the a/c quite adequate. If I have to find fault, then the bed was a little hard.

The other room option, being a standard room, would have put you in a new two storey block, located away from the pool area. As the hotel only has one pool & pool bar, the villas do put you closer to “the action”.

There was some publicity about a gondola ride from the reception to your room; this simply wasn’t operating, and if it was, I suggest its more a gimmick than being of any real worth, the rooms being very close to reception!.

The pool and grounds were very well kept, and the canals that meander through the resort were kept clean. The swim-up bar prices were typically “hotel”, where service & tax is added on afterwards, but by Western standards, quite reasonable. Our rate included breakfast, which was taken on the pier overlooking the canals; one day we had to order off the menu, the next was a buffet. I can only put this down to variations in occupancy level.

As the resort is somewhat in the middle of the island, the hotel does offer a courtesy bus to both a local beach, and Patong beach. Its free during the day, but a charge is payable for the evening trips. We chose to rent a 125cc scooter by walking about 500 yds to the right once you leave the hotel main gate. The bikes were good quality, and cost 300 Baht/day, however I would only advise this if you have ridden before, as the Thai driving style is rather haphazard, and if you compound this with learning to ride, an accident is highly likely.

One advantage of the location is that you are much closer to Ao Po pier, being the departure point for the ferrys & boats to Phang Na Bay (James Bond Island etc). Although you can get a cheaper ride by going on a large boat, we rode to Ao Po and chartered a local long tail boat for the day (3500 Baht), which while a costlier option, we did get a very personal tour, including access to some hidden caves and lagoons that no larger boat could get into.

We would very much recommend the At Panta Phuket providing you were not after the beach life and excitement of the typical western shore beaches. The resort and staff were excellent, and the location made an excellent retreat. I was also impressed with the free WiFi around the pool, which allowed me to write this “on location”.

  • Liked — Everything - especially free wifi by the pool.
  • Disliked — Maybe more shuttles would help those with no transport.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Russ-McD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2007

Phuket: At Panta, Aloha Villa, Phuket Naithon.
Trip: 18 Feb - 22 Feb

Well its a clean and seclude ambience to stay in At Panta, which is 20mins away from airport that costs TB$400.
There is only a restaurant and to dine in is costly for a simple meal for a couple~TB$1400. However their ABF is great & tasty.
They provide free transport to Patong beach & Laguna Beach. We have negotiated with plan to Surin beach and the concerige provide a drop over to this beach and took us back that costs TB$300, which consider worth paying.
Surin Beach is a quiet with nice sand, more elderly crowd. Its cheaper to rent the beach chair compare to Patong, TB$50 each.
We took the free ride all the way to Aloha Villa from At Panta.

Aloha Villa is just 10mins walk to the popular Patong Beach and across the street for local chinese seafood with good deal.
Aloha is not hit by Tsunaimi due to its location, this is a quick and no fussy hangover with 3* cleaniless and no ABF through internet booking.
This is an ideal location to spend most of your time in Patong and enjoy the busy nite entertainment life.
Shopping is nothing great in Patong unless you walk further up towards Montesso hotel where bargain is very much cheaper.
(Well, may consider to stay in Bel-Aire as they are just 3mths newly open and just next to Aloha location.)
For travel agency, may try: Top Ten which could provide better rate. Massage at patong Beach costs TB$200/hr for full back. Becareful as they are quite frequent in changing the charges.
To stay whole day in Patong beach, pls ensure regular put on your SPF...else..freckles....breakout...!
From Patong to catch a bus ride(in front of the mini-mart @ Patong Beach) TB$20 to Phuket Town, but not worth the time/45mins spent there, however, its near to go to the Aquarium from Phuket Town that costs TB$300, 25mins.

Naithon was just 15mins near to airport, that is why we chose this as the last resort to stay for a nite. We viewed the nice sunset with the casuarina trees swaying and laze at the beach chair. The sand here is more coarse and crowd is younger.
The street here gives me a feel of my young times stay in Kampung, very quiet and lamp post lighting. We had a great dinner(Fish, Prawn/not very fresh, Pineapple rice, Meat Egg, Beer) here that costs TB$790.... under the bright crescent moon.
One thing here no good in the resort and street is "alot of mosquitoes" sting...perhaps the sunset view/beach/crescent moon had compensate this stings...

It was indeed a memorable trip and we will get back to Phuket again....to PhiPhi due to the mis-out itinerary in this trip...

Helpful?
3 Thank SKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aust
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2007

The Resort itself is pretty good the biggest problem is being too far from everything.There are no restaurants within walking distance so it is a 300-400 baht ($10-$15aus)cab ride each way.The resort does have shuttles but very few ( 3 a day). This may be getting better as while we were there we and many other guests complained to management about it .But it was a problem .The staff were great always smiling.Breakfast was good but aftera few days you needed a change, more variety is needed.There is no canal boat ride as the brochers say.All in all it was quite relaxing stay but next time we would stay closer to civilisation i.e restaurants and beaches.
craig (Australia)

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank biddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thalang District
0.7 mi away
The Golddigger's Resort
The Golddigger's Resort
#14 of 20 in Sakhu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chaba Resort & Spa
Chaba Resort & Spa
#31 of 34 in Choeng Thale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
9.2 mi away
B2 Phuket Boutique & Budget Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Windee House
Windee House
#62 of 95 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wanaburi Hotel
Wanaburi Hotel
#65 of 95 in Thalang District
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dream Phuket Hotel & Spa
Dream Phuket Hotel & Spa
#20 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Panta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Panta

Property: At Panta
Address: 310/51 M.1 Baandon-Cherngtalay Road, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — At Panta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your At Panta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Panta Thalang
At Panta Hotel Thalang
At Panta Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing