We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sports mecca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thanyapura Health & Sports Resort
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Thalang District
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sports mecca”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 11 nights to get my training back on track. The sports facilities are second to none and the staff are amazingly helpful. The medical support staff (physio, chiro, etc) are of the highest quality. My wife has suffered from a sore back for years and it flared up after our flight so she saw the chiro and rates him as the best she has ever seen.
I participated in all the triathlon training sessions and all the staff and regulars were very welcoming. As a back of the pack athlete I was worried I wouldn't be up to standard but they cater for all levels.
I also did some mind training sessions with Andrea and highly recommend spending some tie with him for anything from trying to improve performance under pressure situations (sporting or business) through to calming your mind.
The location could be a sticky point for those staying with partners who don't want to train (my wife didn't want to train) so budget for taxis or scooter/car hire.
There is only 1 restaurant but if you have transport there are some great spots not too far away.
I will definitely be back there as soon as I can.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clint M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    68
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
78
52
60
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed in the Sports wing travelling with my daughters swimming school group. Her group was separately housed in the cheaper Retreat wing, a short outdoor 30 meter walk from the Sports hotel. These two hotels are niche for those who are serious about sport training. The sport facilities are world class, and the training sessions on offer are amazing. I talked each morning at breakfast to hotel patrons, they say this hotel is a secret gem for sports enthusiasts. It's a little out of the way, and there is no beach you can walk to. There is only one restaurant and one coffee shop available. But I truly enjoyed each meal. The buffet breakfast was always great. My room was upgraded to the Sports suite. Oh my gosh this room was fantastic. If you can ask for room 1276 you won't be disappointed. My younger child absolutely loved their kids club. While I am not a sporting person, I really enjoyed my weekend stay. There is a lovely 25 meter pool with bar in the Sports hotel. Which hardly anyone used. The staff went out of their way to help our group. They arranged two vans with driver to take us around, pick up and drop off to the airport (for a fee) They gave us beach towels and golf umbrellas for our day outings. Nothing was ever too much trouble. I think the Sports hotel is newer and nicer, so if you can, I'd suggest you stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebelle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent place and services. Stayed there with family for 2 weeks. Safe. Secured. Very clean. Staff are so helpful and friendly. Speak excellent English. Pool is maintained and checked on a daily basis. Restaurant food is excellent. Fresh. We ate fish nearly every day. Thanks thanyapura

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Showtimetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
693 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stay on average in about 40 hotels a year. The Thanyapura Sports Hotel Phuket is like no other hotel I have ever stayed in. The service and attention to detail from this hotel is outstanding. If you are looking for world class Triathalon and tennis training and facilities, this is possibly the best hotel and facility in South East Asia. This hotel is only 15 minutes from Phuket International Airport. This hotel is not a business hotel but when it comes to a hotel geared towards world class training in Triathalon and tennis, this hotel goes beyond anything I have ever seen before. There is also a separate hotel next door dedicated towards meditation and yoga. You really have to experience this hotel. Seeing is believing. A word of advice would be to check with the hotel first and book your visit when there is no competition taking place or large groups of athletes in house when its not busy. Simply fantastic.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel first and book your visit when there is no competition taking place or large gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roryjdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Best sports hotel in Thailand, excellent facilities with great service. Very good food!
Swimmingpool was nice, no trackstartblocks tho. Very good rooms and great cleaning. A great experience and i will recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shangh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is definitely one of the best hotels I have experienced in Asia, and in the world. Clean, elegant and prompt make them good, but the attention to detail and no request is too big or small....they work hard to accomodate. I would have given 5 stars except the restaurant they offer is a bit over priced. I haven't even mentioned the athletic facilities - which are phenomenal. Particularly focused on triathletes, swimmers and tennis. Fantastic facility.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Wonderful stay at this resort for a recent swimming competition. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the resort is very suitable for families and large groups. We stayed there with a group of students and were treated well. Very limited choice for other dining other than the restaurant on site, but it more than met our requirements. Further booking options would have been better, including half and full board but will pursue that with the hotel directly next time. A little on the pricey side for some, but worth it for the little bit extra comfort.

Room Tip: I did not try the retreat rooms, just the sport hotel rooms. These were very suitable as they look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
1.5 mi away
Wanaburi Hotel
Wanaburi Hotel
#66 of 95 in Thalang District
125 reviews
4.6 mi away
Proud Phuket Hotel
Proud Phuket Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nai Yang
112 reviews
1.6 mi away
Windee House
Windee House
#61 of 95 in Thalang District
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
676 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
4.8 mi away
Dewa Phuket Resort Nai Yang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanyapura Health & Sports Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanyapura Health & Sports Resort

Property: Thanyapura Health & Sports Resort
Address: 120 Moo 7, Thepkasattri Road, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Thanyapura Sports Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thanyapura Health & Sports Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thanyapura Health & Sports Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanyapura Health & Sports Resort Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing