We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Benyada is good value in over priced Surin”
Review of Benyada Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benyada Lodge
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Thalang District
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Benyada is good value in over priced Surin”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

In a nutshell, Phuket has gotten extremely expensive. For the Surin Beach area, Benyada Lodge is good value, it is right next to the Manathai and Twin Palms. We paid approx $80 a night. Staff were great and rooms were clean. However, the beds were rock hard.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radio-Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    50
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
10
54
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Good location close to the beach. Yes it's on a slight bend in the road so becareful with kids beyond the front door.
Food was poor. Breakfast is rush cooked, snotty egg whites and burnt oil scrambled eggs.
Eventually did over easy on the fried egg which at least meant it was cook.
Don't have dinner here.

Room are good and strong 2 star style.

Service was friendly and helpful.

Overall good stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Terrific little boutique hotel tucked away on a quiet side street in Surin Beach and a short walk across a park to the most beautiful beach we saw in Thailand. The rooms are spacious, king-size bed, lovely dark wood furniture in a contemporary style and a glass-walled shower. A glass-walled shower! First shower we saw in 2 weeks of traveling that had walls of any kind! LOL! The balcony is small but two people could sit comfortably on stools.
The service was very good, friendly staff who gave us a free upgrade without us even asking, and the breakfast that was included in the rate was very good.
The Twin Palms Hotel, Marriott Courtyard and several other very high-end resorts are on the same street (seems strange to describe a Marriott Courtyard as "high-end" but, in Thailand, they are). The beach, while very beautiful, is packed with row upon row of beach chairs and umbrellas that you have to pay 100 baht to rent but there is no other option and the beach and ocean are worth. Just make sure you get a chair in the front row.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suecelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Maybe we shouldn't have come after the idyllic Koh Yai Noi...and this isn't the most commercial part of Phuket . First impressions were friendly but a bit shambolic; they were trying to set up for Christmas Eve. The roof terrace was a real non-starter- deserted and windy with half finished lighting draped over the chairs. The "pool" was two very uninviting footbaths [think of the disinfectant dips in public swimming pools]. Our bathroom too turned into a human dip after we both had showers.

Enough wingeing- we went downstairs for delicious cocktails only 80 THB in happy hour. The management gave us a free upgrade to a sea front room with balcony [much needed to dry out stuff]. Breakfast was adequate and curiously muted - it's definitely not a hotel to meet fellow guests [ although some might say this is a good feature!]

The position is good- nice walk through parks to the lovely beach. If you fancy a pool dip it doesn't seem to be a problem going into the Marriott or the Twin Palms next door- no one else was in the water when we went. There is a great choice of restaurants on Surin beach all of which are beachside - the Catch Club is brash and expensive [ think Russian oligarchs] but we particularly enjoyed Twin Brothers ; fresh fish Thai style and charming staff.

Full marks to the hotel for sorting out repatriation of our daughter's iPod !

In the end we really enjoyed Surin and Benyada was friendly and very good value for the resort.

Room Tip: sea view balcony are nicer rooms-those at the rear have no balcony at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Bosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This place is a very good value for overpriced Surin Beach. Maybe it doesn't look nice from outside, but rooms are really OK. Big, very clean, nice beds, friendly people - what else do you need? This hotel is very close to the beach. Their breakfasts are pretty poor, but for us it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomekWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is a great little hotel, close walking distance to a nice, chilled beach in Phuket. It is located in Surin, which is not party city but is nice, and most of the hotels nearby are top notch, expensive 4 & 5 star resorts, but this one feels more family run and closer to local restaurants etc.
Cons - Shower splashes over whole floor of bathroom & no pool

Room Tip: Higher floors = better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rock_robby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I am working in a 5 star hôtel in europe, so you can imagine my expectations! Benyada is a Lodge so not 5 stars but deserve at least 4 because of the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the room. We choosed the junior suite and it was spotless and you feel directly at home. Budget wise for Surin this is also a Good choice because Many (5*) hotels aroud are not up to standards and much more expensive. Breakfast is average but dining is very good. Location is very quiet at 2 minutes from the beach. For those who like animated spots, you'd rather choose Karon or Kata but for relaxation, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLemoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
0.2 mi away
AM Surin Place
AM Surin Place
#24 of 34 in Choeng Thale
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 34 in Choeng Thale
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#14 of 34 in Choeng Thale
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chaba Resort & Spa
Chaba Resort & Spa
#32 of 34 in Choeng Thale
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kris Resort
The Kris Resort
#83 of 95 in Thalang District
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
#7 of 34 in Choeng Thale
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benyada Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benyada Lodge

Property: Benyada Lodge
Address: 106/52 Moo 3, Cherngtalay | Surin Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#50 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Benyada Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Benyada Lodge, a small boutique, situated at Surin Beach, well-known for soft white sand and peace. An easy drive from Phuket Airport following the signs to Surin Beach. From Patong we are an easy and scenic drive along the west coast and only 10-15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benyada Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benyada Hotel Thalang
Benyada Hotel Surin Beach
Benyada Lodge Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing