We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, but does the job....”
Review of Benyada Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benyada Lodge
Ranked #63 of 95 Hotels in Thalang District
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing special, but does the job....”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The location of this hotel is pretty good. It's within a 2-3 minute walk to the beach. There are nearby hotels, restaurants, and convenience stores to take care of your needs. The hotel itself has a restaurant as well. The food there was very good in my opinion. The staff of the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. There is a public computer that's free for guest use in the lobby. The lobby and hallways are not Air Conditioned, but the rooms are. The rooftop bar/pool is misleading though, as it was not open when we were there. The balcony was small and didn't have a view, but it was still a balcony. Overall, I was satisfied with the Benyada. It wasn't the nicest place by any means but it was good overall and had great service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelHotelHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    50
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
10
54
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stayed there because I found a last minute very discounted offer. I paid a third of the normal price for a double room with view.
The room was pretty, clean, big and with a very hard large bed. The view was on the cables from the street below ahaha (second floor) as I said based on what I paid it was very ok. But I guess that if you pay full price it is a bit abusive.
The bathroom is really nice but you cannot see well, poor lightening. Luckily there is a huge mirror in the room.
On the internet they were saying that you will get a exceptional hospitality. Well I guess they were tired when I went. The hotel was empty. I met 3 others guests in total so you could expect a bit more of a welcome. The guy at the reception barely spoke English it was a bit complicate to do simple things such as having a free wifi working.
The breakfast was cheap, really not nice.
Anyways it was 5 minutes walking from the beach, there you could get good food. And I recommend the next door place for massages and pedicure.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level than 2nd floor but remember there are only stairs to go up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great location for the beautiful (and quiet) Surin beach. We had a Standard Room which was a good size and had the benefit of a small balcony. The rooftop bar was not open and looked a bit tired. We booked for 3 nights and stayed for 5. There's not much going on in Surin at night and it has a very limited selection of restaurants but a taxi to Patong only costs 500 thb each way. Staff were very pleasant, breakfast was ok though limited in choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

In a nutshell, Phuket has gotten extremely expensive. For the Surin Beach area, Benyada Lodge is good value, it is right next to the Manathai and Twin Palms. We paid approx $80 a night. Staff were great and rooms were clean. However, the beds were rock hard.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radio-Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Good location close to the beach. Yes it's on a slight bend in the road so becareful with kids beyond the front door.
Food was poor. Breakfast is rush cooked, snotty egg whites and burnt oil scrambled eggs.
Eventually did over easy on the fried egg which at least meant it was cook.
Don't have dinner here.

Room are good and strong 2 star style.

Service was friendly and helpful.

Overall good stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Terrific little boutique hotel tucked away on a quiet side street in Surin Beach and a short walk across a park to the most beautiful beach we saw in Thailand. The rooms are spacious, king-size bed, lovely dark wood furniture in a contemporary style and a glass-walled shower. A glass-walled shower! First shower we saw in 2 weeks of traveling that had walls of any kind! LOL! The balcony is small but two people could sit comfortably on stools.
The service was very good, friendly staff who gave us a free upgrade without us even asking, and the breakfast that was included in the rate was very good.
The Twin Palms Hotel, Marriott Courtyard and several other very high-end resorts are on the same street (seems strange to describe a Marriott Courtyard as "high-end" but, in Thailand, they are). The beach, while very beautiful, is packed with row upon row of beach chairs and umbrellas that you have to pay 100 baht to rent but there is no other option and the beach and ocean are worth. Just make sure you get a chair in the front row.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suecelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Maybe we shouldn't have come after the idyllic Koh Yai Noi...and this isn't the most commercial part of Phuket . First impressions were friendly but a bit shambolic; they were trying to set up for Christmas Eve. The roof terrace was a real non-starter- deserted and windy with half finished lighting draped over the chairs. The "pool" was two very uninviting footbaths [think of the disinfectant dips in public swimming pools]. Our bathroom too turned into a human dip after we both had showers.

Enough wingeing- we went downstairs for delicious cocktails only 80 THB in happy hour. The management gave us a free upgrade to a sea front room with balcony [much needed to dry out stuff]. Breakfast was adequate and curiously muted - it's definitely not a hotel to meet fellow guests [ although some might say this is a good feature!]

The position is good- nice walk through parks to the lovely beach. If you fancy a pool dip it doesn't seem to be a problem going into the Marriott or the Twin Palms next door- no one else was in the water when we went. There is a great choice of restaurants on Surin beach all of which are beachside - the Catch Club is brash and expensive [ think Russian oligarchs] but we particularly enjoyed Twin Brothers ; fresh fish Thai style and charming staff.

Full marks to the hotel for sorting out repatriation of our daughter's iPod !

In the end we really enjoyed Surin and Benyada was friendly and very good value for the resort.

Room Tip: sea view balcony are nicer rooms-those at the rear have no balcony at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Bosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
0.2 mi away
AM Surin Place
AM Surin Place
#24 of 34 in Choeng Thale
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#12 of 34 in Choeng Thale
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#14 of 34 in Choeng Thale
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chaba Resort & Spa
Chaba Resort & Spa
#32 of 34 in Choeng Thale
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kris Resort
The Kris Resort
#83 of 95 in Thalang District
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baan Chayna
Baan Chayna
#29 of 34 in Choeng Thale
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benyada Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benyada Lodge

Property: Benyada Lodge
Address: 106/52 Moo 3, Cherngtalay | Surin Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#50 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Benyada Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Benyada Lodge, a small boutique, situated at Surin Beach, well-known for soft white sand and peace. An easy drive from Phuket Airport following the signs to Surin Beach. From Patong we are an easy and scenic drive along the west coast and only 10-15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Benyada Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benyada Hotel Thalang
Benyada Hotel Surin Beach
Benyada Lodge Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing