We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“fantast villa to escape from the tourism mass of Phuket” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phuket Baan Chang B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phuket Baan Chang B&B
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fantast villa to escape from the tourism mass of Phuket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Situated in Bang Thao this is a dream place to stay in Phuket. The staff is very kind and helpfull, the arrival transfer is a free service offered, they privide free bycecle and transfer to reach the nearest beach as well. The rooms are huge, at least our (i think was the superior), Amazing view in the pool garden, comfortable bed, dvd player, shower and bath. Every morning we were founding fesh fruits and a homemade sweet in our room, the breakfast was rich and various....exactly what you need to relax without beeing in the monster-hotels cover the Island.
Negative Sides: we rent a motorbike to go around and be more indipendet (this is actually what i suggest to everybody to do) but when was the moment to pay they charge us half day more without reason. Second we used the laudryservise (crazy expensive, don't do it here just go around and you will find a lot of cheapest places) and they demage one of my favourite t-shirt and charge it without neither inform me!!! i realise it too late when i was arealdy gone.
Anyway i will recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gtosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
77
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our one week's holiday in Baan Chang was marvellous. The small B&B hotel is a wonderful and peaceful place for relaxation. Breakfast was very good, the room (White elephant) so beautiful and the lovely garden with the pool just perfect. We enjoyed three times evening dinner and cannot but recommend the chef! The manager, Diana with her dog, made our stay so homely. Diana helped us in every way with the daily activities. Lovely place. lovely staff, we love it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erkki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

After a stay of 16 days at Baan Chang in December 2013 we can say that it was one of our best holidays we have ever had. We were looking for a relaxing holiday away from the crowds and this was the perfect place to stay!

We consider the hostess Erika at least 110% trustworthy and she always does her very best to fulfil every wish of her guests, to arrange trips or to answer all their questions. She is really a consummate hostess and provides several amenities and services for the guests. We have never met anyone before who was as good as her. It began with our arrival at the airport, where Erika met us not as strangers, more like returning guests. That immediately gave us a comfortable feeling.

Baan Chang has a main building with 3 guest rooms and 2 spacious apartments with huge, very comfortable bathrooms with Jacuzzis and separate showers. The owner Erika is passionately interested in interior design and so everything was decorated very beautifully in a mixture of traditional and modern Thai style. The garden had lovely plants and a nice swimming pool which was refreshing after a day at the beach or on an excursion. We stayed in the excellent “Queens” apartment with its quiet terrace and were delighted by a choice of fresh fruits and some sweets every day. Everything was very clean and the housemaid Layla was very friendly and reliable if we needed something. And the food at Baan Chang was definitely a highlight. Erika’s staff prepared it with much passion and the breakfast really was amazing. They offered a variety of tasty fresh exotic fruits like pineapple, papaya, jack fruit, melon - but there was also a selection of cheese, ham, crusty bread, cereals and freshly mixed juices. The most difficult question for us every morning was how our eggs should be cooked… Erika also offered in-house dinners on request and those were really excellent, too. Her cook worked for several years in a 5-star-restaurant and also made delicious Thai cuisine for us.

When we booked our stay at Baan Chang, we knew that the location would be about 3 km from the beachfront. But we were really surprised that we could use the free bicycles for the short distance to the beautiful Bang Tao/Layan beach without being stressed by the traffic. But Baan Chang also offered free transport to the beach by car. The Layan Beach especially was very beautiful and Erika recommended a small beach restaurant where free sunbeds were offered to guests of Baan Chang. We would also like to recommend a romantic dinner at the beach restaurant which included a free pick-up-service in the evening from the hotel.

But the island Phuket also has interesting cultural places and at least one boat or bicycle tour should be done. We are sure that everyone will be impressed by the beautiful rock formations for example in the Phang Nga Bay. We also met many friendly people on our trips to Phuket Town and the night markets. And on our hiking trip through the Khao Phra Thaeo National Park (the best way is to cross it from the west to the east side!) we passed through the rainforest with its interesting flora and the intense noises. And Erika was always very helpful and organized several transfers for us.

To sum up, we have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Baan Chang. During our stay we also met Diana, the new manager and we are sure that she will also manage everything as perfectly as Erika too. We will come back this year in December and we are really looking forward to our next stay and hope that we will see Erika, Diana, Dirk and the staff again!

Room Tip: We would recommend the Elephant or the Queens Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rainer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a really nice place. However, I got off to a rocky start with Baan Chang when a grave mistake was made during the booking process. The previous manager, Erika, inadvertently shared another guests' personal information including credit card details in a booking form which she emailed to me. This made me seriously question the safety of my own information which I was about to give her. We have been in Thailand for 2 months and have made many bookings online directly through guesthouses who use secure services through PayPal or the Thai version, one pay. The manager claimed that everyone in Thailand does it this way (sharing cc info over emails) which I know by experience this to not be true. First thing they should do with the new management is offer paypal or something comparable in order to ensure the financial safety of their guests. Secondly, 9 months prior to arrival, I had to reduce my reservation by one night due to circumstances beyond my control. She was going to charge me in full for the missed night, but after begging her, she agreed to charge the cancellation fee, which was still a lot of money, esp. since I made the change so far in advance. By the time the month of our arrival came, all of this was completely overlooked, including my reservation change, so prior to check in she wanted the full rate again.... Meanwhile, if she had taken note properly and remembered, I am sure she could have rebooked the room over 9 months ago! I had to go through the whole thing again with her. If she simply kept track of our emails, followed up properly, we would not have had to revisit this uncomfortable issue. So, in the end our visit to BC turned out to be painfully expensive. The offerings are lovely, ie check-in, the grounds, breakfast, transfers to the beach, and our Chang room bathroom was the best we have seen in Thailand. The new manager, Diana, is very sweet, and even went out of her way to get my husband a cake on his birthday (which was requested at booking but I think was forgotten until I mentioned something). Layan beach, by the way, is amazing compared to the other beaches we have seen on Phuket. BC is a very nice place, perhaps we just had some bad luck, but I hope they take these suggestions to heart. We have had cc and social security fraud happen to us and it is a serious matter. And, I expected more professionalism and forgiveness regarding our booking change.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndel1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baanchang, Manager at Phuket Baan Chang B&B, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We sincerely regret that mistakes have been made. We recognize the importance of secure payment methods and do care for the private and personal information of our guests. We have meticulously reviewed and adjusted our procedures, with particular focus on the payment process to ensure safe payment.

With regard to the cancellation; the cancellation policy has been followed. The policy is published at our website, easy accessible for all our guests.

We are slightly disappointed in our guest publishing sensitive information like this. It is a bit harsh to be settled on a one time human mistake, even though it is a serious one, in particular because we have done our utmost to cover up for it. We have the faith and love of our guests that have stayed with us in general and on our turn we cherish, trust and love our guests the same.

Diana Vogelaar
Manager Baan Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gympie, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Yes its private, yes its quiet, yes its off the beaten track that's why its paradise! Family of 4 with my inlaws stayed here my son first words this is heaven! And it only got better. We rode the complementary push bikes around got very lost but this made it so much fun. Found the reggae bar awesome spot for afternoon drink then som restaurant right next door (our table on the beach)our host Leinke dropped us off feet in the sand eating dinner watching the sunset life doesn't get better than that . Then the chef dropped us home we all got in the back of the ute even my inlaws aged 71 awesome! Next day massage they came to our door to pick us up took us into town hour massage for my husband and I once finished we walked around the town then the brought us back all for $35 amazing. The breakfast here is amazing and the finer touches to detail are lovely. Thank you making our holiday so fantastic. My children still talk about it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kontich, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

A very relaxed stay with class and great food. Our room was quite luxery. This B&B deserves a five stars rating. Erika is a perfect hostess and a very nice person. If we are going back to Phucket, we know where to go to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldona l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Baan chang is a lovely retreat to relax and chill out.Erika is a lovely hostess and the breakfasts are delicious.We used the bicycles most days to cycle to the beach takes about 15 to 20 mins or take the shuttle bus .We stayed in the Ning room in the house which needs a little updating mainly the air con and a new tv .Chef makes lovely in house dinners especially the Mussaman curry.Layan beach is very unspoilt and quiet resort.We hired a scooter for 4 days to explore went to the Gibbon project which was interesting.If you want a quiet relaxing place to stay book Baan Chang.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choengmon5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
6.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
6.5 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Slate
The Slate
#1 of 9 in Nai Yang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,441 reviews
3.0 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
4.5 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 93 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket Baan Chang B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket Baan Chang B&B

Property: Phuket Baan Chang B&B
Address: 23/6 Moo 6, Soi Koktanod 8, Baan-Don, Cherngtalay | Phuket, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Thalang District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Phuket Baan Chang B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Chang means House of the Elephants. The decoration refers to the national symbols of Thailand, the Elephant and the Orchid. This Bed & Breakfast is the place to be! For a romantic weekend or a longer stay, situated just outside the Laguna Golf Course with its 5-star hotels. Layan Beach and Bang Tao Beach are just a few kilometers away. In Baan Chang, hospitality and attention can be felt everywhere, from the individual room decoration to the splendid tropical garden and the nice meals. Guests can relax at the swimming pool or in tropical garden. Book a massage in the garden sala or the privacy of your room or pamper yourself in one of the best spas of the world in Bang Tao area. There are so many more possibilities, come and explore them! We also organize dine-around service and can assist you in organising fantastic tours. We offer you free airport transportation and a free shuttle to the beach. The Phuket Baan Chang team ensures the guests feel at home immediately when they enter Baan Chang. I hope to see you soon! Erika ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phuket Baan Chang Hotel Thalang
Phuket Baan Chang Bed And Breakfast
Phuket Baan Chang B&B Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing