We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite Food - High-end Presentation (and pricing)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saffron at Banyan Tree Phuket

Saffron at Banyan Tree Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Temporary Closed from 16 June 2015 onwards. Saffron's menu will be served at Tre Restaurant for the time being.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Exquisite Food - High-end Presentation (and pricing)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Banyan Tree is a high end hotel, and the Saffron is their 'signature' restaurant, and so high prices are expected. That said, the restaurant is immaculate and classy, the service is exemplary and the food is exquisite. Thai specialities, beautifully prepared and stylish, modern presentation.

In many ways this restaurant is faultless, so why not an 'excellent' rating?

We dined on a fairly quiet evening, and the large tables and spaciousness of the restaurant means that whole ambience is fairly open and formal (rather than intimate and relaxed), so although we enjoyed the food immensely, the overall experience was slightly soulless.

You must give it a try for the exquisite food though.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieJMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    31
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Star Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Banyan Tree's signature restaurant. The ambience at the restaurant in Banyan Tree resort, Phuket is one of the best on the island. Well designed, trendy & comfortable. Offering a fine menu while the food presentation will have you taking photos to bring home. The cuisine tho, is not cooked to its true authenticity, as with most resort's palate for their international guests, however, sufficient enough to leave traces of aroma, flavour and a small kick for the spicier dishes. Be prepared to spend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank h2obabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We came to lobby bar staff very friendly she name "PINKY"cockrail it fantastic recommend nice place it paradise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Driftermn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice, but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Delicious food. I really enjoyed the Prawns with Vermicelli, but the dessert was slightly disappointing - mango sticky rice. Also, it is a tad bit overpriced for Phuket, although if you are staying at the Banyan Tree, you really don't have too many options.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaustubhprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very very good food with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We ordered sea bass with chilli peppers, black curry pork ribs and green curry vegetables. They were all delicious but hot. Even the mild spicy is pretty hot. We were presented with three flavorful dipping sauces and rice crackers before our meals which we really enjoyed. Service was beyond excellent. I dropped a chopstick and our waiter brought over a new set before the chopstick hit the floor. Only complaint is that the bottle of Evian water was more expensive than one of our dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hwangdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron at Banyan Tree Phuket also viewed

 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Thalang District, Phuket
Phuket Town, Phuket
 

Been to Saffron at Banyan Tree Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing