We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of LHC Phuket Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
LHC Phuket Resort
Ranked #72 of 97 Hotels in Thalang District
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We booked through an online agent at a great price - US$120/night for a two-bedroom apartment including breakfast. We stayed for 3 nights.

Before we moved to LHC, we were staying at the Marriott Mai Khao Beach. The rooms and facilities of LHC were a big let down after Marriott. LHC calls itself a 5-star facility, but I think it is barely touching 4-star for a relatively new Thai resort.

To note a few points:

1. Staff at front desk had no smiles throughout our stay!

2. We requested to have a quiet room and were placed on the farside. Perhaps that room had not been in use for a long time. We found cobwebs in the balcony and even the bathrooms. The cups in the cabinet were placed faced down, apparently haven't been in use for a long time because the paint from the woodshelf stuck to the cup edge. The pipe to the kitchenette sink was broken and leaking smelly water. We requested to move to another room. The condition was better, but there were still cobwebs and dead insects in the balcony.

3. Other than the vibrant colors on the wall and the fabric on the sofa, the apartment was decorated in the 1980s style. You can tell the design and material are really cheap materials to save on cost. Can you imagine a 5-star facility constructed just 2 or 3 years ago by a publicly listed company still use keys instead of cards? They use almost the cheapest lock - I know it because I decorated my own apartment and really shopped and compared. Bathrooms are small, just barely enough to fit in a bathtub(with curtain to double as shower), a toilet and a sink. Even lights are used sparingly so the apartment is very dark at night. They still use the big old TVs, no plasma or flat screen. Mattresses are sinking a bit. FYI, there is no washing machine.

4. Breakfast choices are adequate. Since we booked through an agent, it is included. I learned however, that if you are a timeshare member, it is not included. For 400 baht, it is not worth the price (or 20% discount for timeshare member). Keep in mind that the restaurant operates as an open one - no air-con. It can get a bit sweaty at times. Worst though - are the flies. We found ourselves constantly fanning our food.

5. Pool is small. Since we were there during low season, we usually found that there were just us, and may be a few others. So it was OK. But I can't imagine this place during peak season. The slide was a bit much even for a 3 yo imho.

6. Kids room was OK. Just a few toys, drawing, etc. Since my kids are small (20-month and 3 yo at the time), they found it adequate. We didn't have time to join their activities, but the prices are reasonable. There is not much of a playground outside the playroom. Just 2 big pieces of plastic slide/swing.

7. There are some good points. Value for money for sure. We had 4 adults and 2 kids. So for US$120/night including breakfast, it was a great deal - enough to make me come back again.

8. Environment is good. We face the golf course and the "lagoon"(?). Peaceful and great view. Low season also meant a lot of peace and quietness. Everything was easier to book.

9. As part of the Laguna complex, LHC gave us easy access to other hotels. So we went around with our kids. One of the favorite activities of my kids was going to the Sheraton every morning to play with the elephants. We also let the kids played at bit at the Sheraton pool (has sand pit right next to the pool). We also found that Dusit has a wonderful playground - only we didn't have time to let the kids play there this time. My daughter got some bread from breakfast and fed the fish and bird at the lagoon at LHC.

10. We found a WONDERFUL restaurant just outside Laguna called Capri. It is a Italian/Thai place. They really use a woodfire oven to bake the pizza. Their Thai food is also great. We ate there 2 nights in a row and would have eaten there for lunch except they only opened after 3 pm. It is less than a 10-minute walk from the Laguna entrance. Ask the Laguna shuttle driver to drop you off at the entrance and walk a bit. You can call a taxi to drop you at the hotel at 100 baht.

Would I recommend this hotel? If you have a family with kids, want to cap on your expenses, have a good environment for the kids to wander around without going out of the hotel too much - this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elmostoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for LHC Phuket Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 36 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 24 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Laguna Holiday Club (LHC) is one of the six resort hotels in the famous Laguna Phuket complex. Like Allamanda, another hotel in the complex which we had been to 5 years ago, LHC is a resort targetted for families but adding a modern feel. It has room types including studio, one-bedroom and two-bedrooms - providing comfortable accommodation of various family sizes.

We love the Laguna Phuket area - a large variety of kids facilities, pools, restuarants, etc, and being well surrounded by waters (a long beach and some large lagoons) - and we got a superb 'Explorer Pass Package' from LHC website, that's why we came here again.

We were in a one-bedroom flat which has a separate dining / living area and a good sized kitchen. The bedroom is spacious and has its own TV set (there's one in the living room). The room is quite new (the hotel opened for just two to three years) and well decorated. Furniture looks new and has a modern feel. The sofa bed in the living room can sleep two persons quite well (where my 2 kids slept and enjoyed watching TV).

There were ants in the kitchen and in the bathroom though. After our complaint, they sprayed more insect repellent and the situation seemed to be improved.

One other problem being the bathroom built inside the bedroom - kids in the living area need to go through our bedroom door to get to the bathroom which could have caused some disturbance especially when they need to use it in mid-night or in early morning.

The lobby area connected to the only restaurant/cafe is small but neat. The restaurant is right next to the free form pool which has a small slide, overlooking the greenery of a golf court. We enjoyed the breakfast a few times there, but never tried the pool because we went to different (larger) pools in other hotels in the area - a inter-resort pass was said to be required but we didn't see this policy being enforced when we use the pools in other hotels. The kids club at LHC is in a separate block but not too far away. Our kids had some good time there - most of the programmes are free of charge.

Considering the price, size of the rooms and location, we would recommend it to others to try this hotel, especially those with smaller kids and if budget is their main concern.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hongkong123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

The last time we were in Phuket was in Dec 2004. We left about a week before the tsunami. We stayed at Allamanda Laguna. This time, we decided to spend 4 days 3 nights at the Laguna Holiday Club. It was a comfortable place to stay except the pillows were a little too soft. Nontheless, we spent the time driving around the island and exploring Phuket Town, southern tip and all the towns along the West coast.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

The management and staff at Laguna Holiday Club were warm and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms are spacious, with a large bedroom, lounge and kitchen area. Outside was a pleasant balcony. Everything was provided to make the vacation perfect, including fresh complimentary water every day and shower/bath products.

The food at the hotel was good but VERY pricey! We ate on our first night of arrival, but most lunchtimes we walked into the town to eat with the locals - lunch was typically 200 Baht between us!!! Evenings we wandered to the little community that has sprung up outside the complex, where you could eat well and still pay less than the hotel.

Our favourite restaurant was Tatonka, where the owner (a very affable German chap by the name of Harold) encouraged us to try the tapas - and are we glad we did!! Fantastic food, well presented, and not unreasonably priced. Totos (Italian cuisine) was also very friendly and tasty.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveCroweEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

I was browsing for holiday packages in Phuket, and found this 100,000 Smiles Promotion in Laguna Phuket, and boy did it put a smile on my face :-)
It gives 1 free night stay for every online booking. Stayed in the 2 room suite for 4 nights (2 free nights)...2 couples, different bookings in April.

Our first impression of our 2 room suite is REALLY good. Upon entering, you will see a large living room with adjoining kitchen area and 2 huge bedrooms. The whole place is well furnished (with new furnishings), there's 3 TVs and 2 fridge, utensils, a microwave, a toaster, a few sets of saucers, plates, and cups. There's even a stove, but sadly we didn't plan to do any cooking since we're on holiday. By the way, you can't drink from their tap water, so the hotel provides 10 bottles of mineral water everyday.

The suite is well kept and very clean. Hotel provides jasmine scented shower cream and shampoo, which smells really good. There's also the bathrobes, towels, face towels, hand towels, blow dryer and body cream which my gf really loved! The toilets are clean, where toilet cleanliness is on top of my hotels must have list. Also, a laundry service, free in-the-hotel slippers, as well as out door slippers.

Greenery is everywhere, which is why I love this place so much. There's lakes everywhere, but do note that these are ex-mining lakes, so take care not to swim in them, plus they do look a bit muddy. The hotel's swimming pool on the other hand, looks really inviting, and well equipped with pool side chairs. A golf course is just right behind the pool area, but needs to be accessed some other way around, because we're separated by a river.

Main attraction of this Laguna area is that all the hotels built in this cluster is fairly new, and looks really good. They actually have free shuttle buses, or rather Tuk-Tuks, to take you around the Laguna compound. All you need to do is to inform the receptionist, and they will radio in the nearest Tuk-Tuks. They are not traveling on a schedule, but rather on request.

Basically, we really loved the place and enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately, just like what many people have been saying, including the forums, this place is not really recommended if you are looking for the "fast pace/night life/partying" as you won't find any of this here. A cab to Patong Beach would be around 20-30 minutes.

Food prices here are pretty steep (being a 5 star resort), but you can always take the free shuttle bus to the edge/entrance of the Laguna area and walk out and you'll see plenty of eateries, at about half the resort prices. Generally, about THB450 in the Hotel restaurant for a plate of fried rice, etc (ala carte) and half the price outside the Laguna. By the way, if you know the name of the restaurant outside the Laguna, you can call them to pick you up from your hotel lobby, and after finishing your meal, they will gladly send you back...no kidding!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clumsybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 6 April 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thalang District hotels
0.7 mi away
Chaba Resort & Spa
Chaba Resort & Spa
#34 of 36 in Choeng Thale
17 reviews
2.6 mi away
At Panta
At Panta
#81 of 97 in Thalang District
53 reviews
1.6 mi away
Allamanda Laguna Phuket
Allamanda Laguna Phuket
#25 of 36 in Choeng Thale
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Residence Resort and Spa Retreat
1.3 mi away
Laguna Holiday Club Phuket Resort
0.1 mi away
Relaxation
Relaxation
#41 of 99 in Thalang District
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LHC Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LHC Phuket Resort

Address: 61 Moo 4, Srisoonthorn Road | Cherngtalay, Amphur Talang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Thalang District
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Thalang District
#52 Luxury Hotel in Thalang District
Price Range: £42 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LHC Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your LHC Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lhc Phuket Hotel Thalang
LHC Phuket Resort Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing