We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique experience away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laoliang Island Resort
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A unique experience away from it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Head to this island for a unique beach camping experience. The setting is stunning and there are plenty of activities from rock climbing to scuba - all well instructed. Though this is a small island paradise, I would suggest 3 nights is enough if you are not used to camping. Take a good torch as there are no lights at night time.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    28
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This year was my fourth visit to Lao Liang since its opening. I keep coming back because it is, quite simply, paradise.

I have lived and travelled in the south of Thailand for almost 20 years and have seen how tourism has affected other islands and beaches which were once considered pristine and secluded. I no longer visit these places because they have mostly turned into busy tourist traps where it is hard, if not impossible, to find a secluded spot away from the crowds and hawkers.
In my opinion Lao Liang remains one of the few places accessible to tourists in which you really can get away from it all. A private tent right on the beach with a clear blue sea, kayaking, fishing, snorkelling, rock climbing, etc right on your doorstep.... unless you have access to your own boat, it doesn't really get much better than that anymore!!

Granted, this is not a five star resort and it is in immediate nature, so for people used to camping and spending time in nature Lao Liang will be luxury, but those who arn't should perhaps consider checking into a concrete hotel on the mainland instead.

In regards to the food; In a country where pretty much every meal is amazing i found the meals here somewhat challenging. The lunches were pretty dismal, which can be a disapointing thing to be faced with upon arrival. That being said, they do a seafood BBQ every other night which was very good, and there was always plenty of selection for breakfast, including a pancake station and and endless supply of nutella :) ...

For anyone who enjoys nature and a bit of adventure and isn't terrified of mosquitoes and sand, Lao Liang could definately go down as one of the better parts of your Thai travels. Just relax and enjoy!!!

Room Tip: If you like to sleep early, ask for a tent away from the restaurant and bar area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoNixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
313 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I have been excited about going to this place for the last couple of years...beautiful white sand beaches basically all to yourselves....luxury tents with comfy cots . lounge mats and pillows to hang out on...and charming décor. Tranquil restaurant and bar with wood chairs and decks. What we got....Old tents with mattresses on the floor. A broken light that barely lit up the tent. Nothing in the tent but a bunch of sand. The restaurant? a bunch of wood benches, and no bar area, and food that was used again and again, just prepared a little different for lunch and dinner,,yuck . The worst food on my entire 7 week trip. And no option to get food anywhere else! You cant have food in your tent because of bugs and animals, so you are stuck to eat there. The staff is impersonal, and could care less., unless you are drinking and running up your bill, or getting talked into doing some overpriced rock-climbing,,then you might get someone to show an interest in you...otherwise...you are left to fend for yourselves. The music from the Bar is way too loud at night to get a good nights sleep, because they have to sell that liquor! keep the drinkers entertained and spending! so if you are there for some relaxation and quietness, you may not get the serenity you are looking for depending on the crowd. The island itself is beautiful, they don't keep the accommodations up, and they are run down and NOTHING like the pictures on the website...where is that place? not here! there is piles of junk and old mattress piled up behind the bathrooms, and I feel that the whole place is false advertisement. Such a shame, because its a beautiful island! the fisherman island next door is a fun kayak ride, and a great little day trip. The boat ride there and back is pricey, and honestly the whole place isn't worth the trouble. Many more islands to spend your vacation at in Thailand...I would skip this one for sure! I honestly wanted to ask for my money back if I could of!

Room Tip: stay on another island! all the tents are old and not as advertised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizacass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saigon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

This campground this an island paradise. It's a four hour drive by van from Krabi and another hour by long tail boat. The view when you approach the island is breathtaking and if you're lucky dolphins will greet you. I saw dolphins offshore two times, on both sides of the island. They were probably the same ones. The campground is the only accommodation on the island. You get 3 tasty meals a day with your nightly rate. The tents are big with a bedroom separated from a front room. The mattresses need replacing. The springs are broken making for a very uneven sleeping surface. Bedding is provided as well as a fan which works at night when they turn the generator on. If you keep the tent zipped up at all times you can avoid getting Mosquitos in your tent. But ants and little gray bugs get in thru holes in the bottom of the tent. I got eaten alive by mosquitos in the shower in spite of the anti mosquito burners placed around the bathroom hut. The water pressure varied throughout the day from medium to a trickle. The wash house was kept pretty clean but remember to bring your own soap, shampoo etc. Towels are provided. I was disappointed in the snorkeling because the coral in front of the beach seemed dead and there weren't that many fish. It was the same on the 500 baht snorkeling trip organized by the place. You can also climb the limestone walls on one side of the island in the afternoon once the sun moves away from the wall face. They have gear but it seemed that most people brought their own. Kayaks are available for free. Paddle out to the neighboring island but watch out for glass on the beach. The views are exquisite and there is only one person living there. The fisherman's village has been deserted for some time. The water is so warm you can sit in it all day and enjoy the breathtaking scenery. Depending on how lucky you are, you may have a quiet experience with only 15 other people or so at the campground. The capacity is 70 I think and you lose some of that deserted island feel with so many people milling around. Apparently the place is only open for six months out of the year so check ahead of time. One more side note, the staff is nice but they spend a lot of time hanging out in hammocks, playing with their phones. If you need something, be persistent. No wifi. Drinking water is available at all times. Bring a flashlight. All in all, I has a great experience and beautiful pictures to show for it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoasiaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk, va
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Thanks to Andaman we spent 4 nights at this tiny beach paradise. We would not have chosen it on our own. It is quite involved to get here so four nights is about right. We are not climbers but filled our time with snorkeling, kayaking, beach-combing and just relaxing. It is all about the location and privacy, not service or food, although both were OK (high season). Bathroom was kept clean and showers usable but expect low water pressure. Be sure to kayak to the nearby island for snorkeling. This is where I was thrilled by a sea snake swimming with me! Snorkeling of the beach of either island is excellent - best near low tide but be careful not to damage the coral. We slept well there, the fan kept us cool and the beds were not as uncomfortable (hard) as others we experienced in Thailand. Some wildlife on the island also: monitor lizards, various birds, and hermit crabs who will steal your shells if you leave them outside the tent ;-). Kayak around the island for good exercise if weather (wind) permits. Staff will advise you on this.

Room Tip: The higher numbered tents are further from the sound of nighttime generator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabi thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

this is my favorite quiet island in Thailand. one beautiful beach, great sea, good snorkeling, kayaking, and rock climbing off the beach. laoliang is everything i was looking for in a island-beach getaway.

most of southern thailand has SOOO MANY tourists during the high season. it was great to go to an island with less then 40 guests. And the beach next door was even nicer with two people living there.

the tents on the beach were the most comfortable tents i have ever slept in. two rooms, two beds and a fan. it is only a couple of meters walk to the beach.

the food was very good and many of the dishes were true Thai food. If you are looking for your Thai comfort food like pad thai, green curry then you will be disappointed. but i had the best Gaang Som and Matsaman chicken here on Laoliang

overall, I highly recommend this place. whether you are looking to relax, or be active, this place is a great retreat from the tourist zones of southern thailand.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bultnisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

People complain too much on this website, can’t they understand that this island is totally isolated and that everything has to be brought in every day by boat. Of course the food is pretty basic, really, what do people expect, gourmet cuisine for THB 1,500 a night including all food and accommodation. Get real! The food is really good value for the price charged, I enjoyed every meal I ate there. The every-other-day seafood buffet is especially welcome. I heard people moaning about the food while I stayed here recently and couldn’t believe what a sad bunch of losers they were.

This is paradise almost lost. There is simply nowhere else like it in Thailand. Everyone agrees the location is 100% paradisical, why can’t they stop expecting too much for the money they have paid? We loved this place, it is wonderful precisely because it is not over-developed – no 7-11’s, just one quiet little bar, no sleaze, almost no concrete. It’s the most beautiful tropical island I’ve ever been too, by a long chalk. People who want a la carte cuisine and room service should stick with the the hordes of mass tourists in the Holiday Inns and Best Westerns, not come here and moan on TA later. Don’t they understand that by doing so they can damage this place? I understand that some visitors had been oversold the place and were expecting luxury, so were disappointed. Thankfully our travel agent Andaman Adventures told us exactly what to expect here (and at the other destinations we visited) so we knew what to expect. I want to see Lao Liang thrive, so that I can come back, which I hope very much to do, as as far as I am concerned this is the closest place to paradise on the face of the planet.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the front row tents unless money is no problem, they aren't worth paying e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevkres60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trang Province hotels
19.2 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
19.2 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
24.3 mi away
Anantara Si Kao Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
8.3 mi away
Andalay Beach Resort Koh Libong
17.8 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#1 of 2 in Ko Kradan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laoliang Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laoliang Island Resort

Property: Laoliang Island Resort
Address: Kho Laoliang, 92120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trang Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Trang Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laoliang Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Laoliang is a small island 20 kilometers offshore in the Koh Petra Marine Park, in Trang Province, Thailand. Koh Laoliang is a place of unspoiled natural beauty - no trees were cut down and almost no concrete was used in the resort's construction. Laoliang combines peace and relaxation with adventure sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Laoliang Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing